Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I can no longer login using Konqueror
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Forums Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:41 pm    Post subject: I can no longer login using Konqueror Reply with quote

I mean, I type in my username and password and click login, and it proceeds back to the forum, but I am not logged in. And when I tried making a post, it of course asks you to login before proceeding to the make the post, and I try to do so, but it just keeps taking me back to the same login screen over and over again.

Funny thing is, I didn't upgrade anything. This just started happening randomly yesterday. And it only affects the Gentoo forums. It worked for me after lunch around 1 PM and then when I got back home around 3:30, it wasn't working. It's rather strange.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fanatic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Stocktown

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I have the same problem, I was just about to create a topic about it 'til I saw your thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7697
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moved from otw
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does removing forums cookies help?
_________________
KDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cleared cookies and it didn't make a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7697
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wierd. I'm browsing it with konqueror 3.4.2
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epyon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 754
Location: NJ, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue here using Konq 3.4.3. Quite annoying.

Edit: Nevermind. deleted the cookies and it started working again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schlesi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 233
Location: near Cologne/Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here with KDE-3.5-beta2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrew_j_w
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2003
Posts: 534
Location: York, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem on 3.5_beta2 but deleting *all* the gentoo.org cookies solved it for me.

Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schlesi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 233
Location: near Cologne/Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,

that solved the problem for me, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3343

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what is the problem? This sounds like something to be fixed not ignored.
_________________
"Sex: breakfast of champions" - James Hunt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clearing cookies did not fix it for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6378
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those still affected, did you clear out all your gentoo.org cookies as andrew_j_w reported?
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did ultimately fix it. I missed .forums.gentoo.org and forums.gentoo.org in my cookie list (I only deleted .gentoo.org). Once I got all of them out, I could log in again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7697
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wierd indeed.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3345
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After three days of struggling around with this, I still can't login here with KDE-3.5-beta2. It was working fine before on two different boxes. I had exactly the same experience as widremann on Nov.7, but I had just synced and updated both machines, with no problems.

We are talking about deleting all lines referring to gentoo in:

/home/wrc/.kde3.5/share/apps/kcookiejar/cookies

aren't we?

I've looked for other caches, but found no more cookies- am I somehow missing the obvious?

I've done all the things posted above many times, and it never works. I can login from a Slax live c (with konqueror), Opera & Gentoo, and WindowsXP just fine. It's just with Gentoo and konqueror that I can't login, on two different Gentoo boxes. I tried getting new passwords two times, but that doesn't work either. I did login to my profile via winXP with one of the new password, and changed my password back to the original, which now works with Opera and windows again.

Anders Hellgren (kallamej) the Gentoo Forums Administrator has tried to help me via email, but so far to no avail.

Any more advice or ideas is greatly welcomed! I'm presently posting this from Opera, but prefer konqueror as my web browser.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r6, gcc-9.3.0 kernel-5.5.11-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3345
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK- I solved it by creating a test user, rebooting, and then I could login with konqueror. So I then deleted my /home/wrc/.kde3.5 from a console login, and rebooted. .kde3.5 was recreated, and I could then login with konqueror, and new cookie entries were created in /home/wrc/.kde3.5/share/apps/kcookiejar/cookies. Only one problem- I saved my old cookies file and tried to paste all the old entries EXCEPT the Gentoo related ones into the new cookie file, saved, and rebooted, but apparently they won't take. The only cookies I have are the newly created ones.

So effectively, I've lost all my old cookies, and will have to redo hundreds of useful cookies for many websites- this was a two year old install- updated many times. I also foolishly forgot to backup my kde configs and bookmarks, so I'm back to square one with those, too. I never could figure out why deleting the cookies didn't work for me, but letting kde rebuild the whole .kde3.5 folder did work. There must be another cookies cache somewhere in .kde3.5 or /usr/kde/3.5 I'm unaware of that the file is replenished from, but I'll be damned if I can find it. Oh well- my bookmarks & cookies needed a good cleaning out anyway :roll:
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r6, gcc-9.3.0 kernel-5.5.11-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6378
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to hear you solved it. Since all problems seem to be solved now:
Can we finally turn this into a KDE bashing thread? :twisted:
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3345
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well- since I'm pure ~x86 since I went Gentoo (2.5 years ago), I guess I can't complain too much about anything, and I certainly don't. I'm just asking questions about things I don't understand yet, so I figure eventually that by hard experience I'll get more educated about this stuff.

And BTW, how can anyone bash the modern kde environment - on modern machines,
it's so far beyond the current alternatives on all levels that IMO it's not even a rational debate.

.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.30-r6, gcc-9.3.0 kernel-5.5.11-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The KDE bashing part of this thread can be found following the link below:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-402036.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andromexus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 82
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem persists here after cleaning out cookie file (after closing konqueror!) and cleaning out kwallet's entry about forums.gentoo.org. *sigh* browsing forums again with firefox....
_________________
time is an illusion - break the clock!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2049
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem today, I tried to reactivate my passwort many time - did not work. Deleting cookies did not work, too :x
_________________
Desktop AMD FX-4300 12GB RAM, Asus GF GTX 650. Sound: RME Multiface 20 Kanal + envy24 6 Kanal Soundkarte
Raspberry Pi 1 + 2 + 3B+ + Zero W
Stratux + Skydemon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amne
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 6378
Location: Graz / EU

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you also try the more radical approaches (removing/renaming the cookie jar file or even whole profile) mentioned in this thread?
_________________
Dinosaur week! (Ok, this thread is so last week)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andromexus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 82
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amne wrote:
Did you also try the more radical approaches (removing/renaming the cookie jar file or even whole profile) mentioned in this thread?

Yes, did not help. BTW you must exit konqueror before deleting the file as with exiting konqueror writes it down again (I assume).
I generally prefer konqueror over firefox, but the forums I have to browse with firefox. Konqueror also has problems with the forum search: Only one word remains after typing several words...
_________________
time is an illusion - break the clock!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andromexus wrote:
Konqueror also has problems with the forum search: Only one word remains after typing several words...


That's not Konqueror, it will leave only words which aren't in the stopwords list in the quick search bar.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Forums Feedback All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum