Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OpenOffice.org 2.0.0 final released
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BlackB1rd
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 131
Location: /Europe/Netherlands/Haarlem

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P4 2.8 (1024KB L2) 1GB DDR2 compile time:

Code:

* app-office/openoffice

     Sun Nov  2 04:51:25 2003 >>> app-office/openoffice-1.1.0-r1
       merge time: 7 hours, 48 minutes and 15 seconds.

     Thu Nov 13 22:10:59 2003 >>> app-office/openoffice-1.1.0-r2
       merge time: 10 hours, 13 minutes and 12 seconds.

     Fri Oct 21 19:13:23 2005 >>> app-office/openoffice-2.0.0
       merge time: 5 hours, 57 minutes and 9 seconds.


   Total builds: 3
   Global build time: 23 hours, 58 minutes and 36 seconds.
   Average merge time: 7 hours, 59 minutes and 32 seconds.

   Info about currently installed ebuild:

   * app-office/openoffice-2.0.0
   Install date: Fri Oct 21 19:13:23 2005
   USE="curl kde ldap nas python zlib xml2 -eds -gnome -java -mozilla"
   CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=pentium4 -march=pentium4 -fforce-addr -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -frename-registers -fweb -pipe"


Seems to work very smooth :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a really strange problem, I have allready installed the 1.9 (aka 2.0 béta) and now I want to install the final release of the 2.0 version with emerge. But if I search for the openoffice-bin package in portage, I can only downgrade:
Code:
*  app-office/openoffice-bin
      Latest version available: 1.1.5
      Latest version installed: 1.9.128
      Size of downloaded files: 78,571 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.openoffice.org/
      Description: OpenOffice productivity suite
      License:     || ( LGPL-2 SISSL-1.1 )


What now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProTech
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PARENA wrote:
I reckon there's some faulty information in the -bin ebuild?

Code:
*  app-office/openoffice-bin
      Latest version available: 2.0.0
      Latest version installed: 1.1.5
      Size of downloaded files: 761,199 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.openoffice.org/
      Description: OpenOffice productivity suite
      License:     LGPL-2


Over 700,000 kB download?
Or do I just don't understand how this works? :)


Probably it counts all the different (x86/ppc/other languages..) binary versions. During emerge it will only download one of them. It's a "bug" in portage, I think you have to pay a big speed penalty to fix this "bug".


Last edited by ProTech on Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aries-Belgium wrote:
I have a really strange problem, I have allready installed the 1.9 (aka 2.0 béta) and now I want to install the final release of the 2.0 version with emerge. But if I search for the openoffice-bin package in portage, I can only downgrade:
Code:
*  app-office/openoffice-bin
      Latest version available: 1.1.5
      Latest version installed: 1.9.128
      Size of downloaded files: 78,571 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.openoffice.org/
      Description: OpenOffice productivity suite
      License:     || ( LGPL-2 SISSL-1.1 )


What now?

Code:
emerge sync
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProTech
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How many free space needed to compile this with java support? I have a 3 GB /var partition (OK with OOo 1.1 -java), so I need to resize it. Now I have only 2 GB free space in my LVM VG. The ebuild saies 4-6 GB. It means 4GB is enougth?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a.forlorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Ulm, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can I get rid off all these dependencies?

Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge -vp openoffice

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-crypt/opencdk-0.5.7  -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libtasn1-0.2.13  -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/lzo-1.08-r1  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] net-libs/gnutls-1.2.4  +crypt -doc +zlib 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] net-libs/libsoup-2.2.6.1  -debug -doc +ssl -static 0 kB
[ebuild     U ] dev-libs/glib-2.8.3 [2.6.5] -debug -doc -hardened 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-libs/cairo-1.0.2  +X -doc -glitz +png 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-libs/pango-1.10.1  -debug -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/atk-1.10.3  -debug -doc -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-misc/shared-mime-info-0.16  0 kB
[ebuild  NS   ] x11-libs/gtk+-2.8.6  -debug -doc +jpeg +tiff 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libglade-2.5.1  -debug -doc 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/libIDL-0.8.6  -debug -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/orbit-2.12.4  -debug -doc +ssl -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libbonobo-2.10.1  -debug -doc -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/gconf-2.12.0  -debug -doc -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/gnome-mime-data-2.4.2  -debug 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2.12.1.1  -debug -doc -gnutls -hal -howl +ipv6 -samba +ssl 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libgnome-2.12.0.1  -debug -doc -esd -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/nspr-4.4.1-r2  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-libs/nss-3.9.2-r3  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libgnomecanvas-2.12.0  +X -debug -doc -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libbonoboui-2.10.1-r1  +X -debug -doc -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/gnome-keyring-0.4.5  -debug 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-base/libgnomeui-2.12.0  -debug -doc +jpeg -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-1.4.1  -debug -doc +ipv6 -kerberos -krb4 -ldap -mozilla -nntp +ssl -static 0 kB
[ebuild     U ] dev-util/pkgconfig-0.19 [0.17.2-r1] -hardened 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-themes/hicolor-icon-theme-0.8  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-themes/gnome-icon-theme-2.12.1  -debug 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-themes/gtk-engines-2.6.5  -accessibility -debug -static 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-themes/gnome-themes-2.12.1  -accessibility -debug 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-libs/startup-notification-0.8  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-perl/Compress-Zlib-1.35  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-perl/Archive-Zip-1.16  0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/ant-core-1.6.5-r2  -doc -source 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] app-shells/tcsh-6.14-r1  +perl 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] app-office/openoffice-2.0.0  +curl +eds +gnome +java +kde -ldap -mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB


I have -gtk -gtk2 -gnome in my make.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a.forlorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Ulm, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found it. -eds was missing. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plastic
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gah! I re-emerged with +gnome and it still has the ugly widgets instead of my nice GTK2 ones. Anyone know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suka
Developer
Developer


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 383

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plastic wrote:
Gah! I re-emerged with +gnome and it still has the ugly widgets instead of my nice GTK2 ones. Anyone know how to fix this?


Try

Code:
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome oowriter2


Under a GNOME environment this should not be necessary, but under others this might help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VStrider
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 244
Location: 1 to Rule All way, Moria Gate, Middle Earth, SAU 70N

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chuckinator wrote:
Apparently, yes - I emerged it with USE="-java" without any problems


I was basically worried in case it looks java-ugly, that's why I wanted -java. I started the compile with -java and I caught a warning about some features that wouldn't be working, so I changed it back to +java. Thankfully it looks wonderful like any gnome app despite the ugly java stuff in it.

How's that for compile time? :mrgreen:
Code:
$genlop -i openoffice
  Total builds: 1
   Global build time: 15 hours, 16 minutes and 30 seconds.

   Info about currently installed ebuild:

   * app-office/openoffice-2.0.0
   Install date: Fri Oct 21 20:07:19 2005
   USE="curl eds gnome java python zlib xml2 -kde -ldap -mozilla -nas"
   CFLAGS="-march=athlon-tbird -O2 -pipe"

I probably hold the record for the longest OOo2 compile. Beat that! :P

(Athlon thunderbird 1.1Ghz, 512Mb RAM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plastic
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

suka wrote:
Plastic wrote:
Gah! I re-emerged with +gnome and it still has the ugly widgets instead of my nice GTK2 ones. Anyone know how to fix this?


Try

Code:
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome oowriter2


Under a GNOME environment this should not be necessary, but under others this might help.

Thank you, that fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 1:07 am    Post subject: You're not gonna believe this... Reply with quote

I left OpenOffice.org downloading as I went to work this morning, and when I just came back, it's been compiling for about 11 hours, 35 minutes. It's still not done. 8O

Ah. After 12 hours, 21 minutes it's done. The no-more-crappy icons was definitely worth it. :D
_________________
~~ Peter: Brony, GNU/Linux geek, caffeine addict, and Free Software advocate.
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF


Last edited by codergeek42 on Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iverson0881
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Fremont, CA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the +gnome and +kde useflags but I'm not getting any icons for openoffice in the gnome menus. The KDE menus do have the icons. What gives? I tried re-emerging but no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ma3oxuct
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 520

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am compiling for a second time.

I compiled it the first time with the following use flags:
Code:

+curl +eds +gnome -java +kde -ldap +mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


However, I was not able save documents what so ever...I am totally serious about this; I tried just about everything humanly possible.

So now I am recompiling with these flags:

Code:
+curl +eds +gnome +java -kde +ldap -mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


The -kde should speed this one up :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wangxiaohu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ma3oxuct wrote:
I am compiling for a second time.

I compiled it the first time with the following use flags:
Code:

+curl +eds +gnome -java +kde -ldap +mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


However, I was not able save documents what so ever...I am totally serious about this; I tried just about everything humanly possible.

So now I am recompiling with these flags:

Code:
+curl +eds +gnome +java -kde +ldap -mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


The -kde should speed this one up :).


I can't save documents either. Here are my use flags:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] app-office/openoffice-2.0.0  -curl -eds +gnome -java -kde -ldap -mozilla -nas -xml2 +zlib 563 kB


EDITED: I tried save it under .doc again, and it works...The problem is I want OASIS standard, not MS format.
_________________
Linux simply sucks.

---- a Linux user (1996 - 2006)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omp
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 1018
Location: Glendale, California

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just finished emerging it. :)
_________________
meow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hallo tiger, u emerged the whole thing and can't save?then I would go the bin way then.
let me keep track of this thread, thx.
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Q-collective wrote:
Aries-Belgium wrote:
I have a really strange problem, I have allready installed the 1.9 (aka 2.0 béta) and now I want to install the final release of the 2.0 version with emerge. But if I search for the openoffice-bin package in portage, I can only downgrade:
Code:
*  app-office/openoffice-bin
      Latest version available: 1.1.5
      Latest version installed: 1.9.128
      Size of downloaded files: 78,571 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.openoffice.org/
      Description: OpenOffice productivity suite
      License:     || ( LGPL-2 SISSL-1.1 )


What now?

Code:
emerge sync


Okay, that was the problem.

Woow :o They have made it much faster than the béta version. Even on my old computer! Great work, openoffice.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jinidog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 593
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I merged it from source and cannot save anymore either.
I can save as *.doc or *.rtf but not as *.odt or *.sxw.

I'll bugreport.
_________________
Just unused Microsoft-Software is good Microsoft-Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveYin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it just simply crashed when I'm trying to input something from scim.

btw, I'm using gcc4. ha, maybe it's the problem.

I will emerge it on another computer which have gcc3.4 :)
_________________
Steve Yin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
to+
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could anyone explain why it says it won't use the Cairo canvas engine? Or does it mean it won't use system's one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ma3oxuct
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 520

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wangxiaohu wrote:
Ma3oxuct wrote:
I am compiling for a second time.

I compiled it the first time with the following use flags:
Code:

+curl +eds +gnome -java +kde -ldap +mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


However, I was not able save documents what so ever...I am totally serious about this; I tried just about everything humanly possible.

So now I am recompiling with these flags:

Code:
+curl +eds +gnome +java -kde +ldap -mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


The -kde should speed this one up :).


I can't save documents either. Here are my use flags:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] app-office/openoffice-2.0.0  -curl -eds +gnome -java -kde -ldap -mozilla -nas -xml2 +zlib 563 kB


EDITED: I tried save it under .doc again, and it works...The problem is I want OASIS standard, not MS format.



Well, I just finished re-re-compiling, and now everything works as it should. wangxiaohu, does not openoffice open help? If it does not, then my best guess is that you will have to recompile with java support.



Did anyone notice that the compilied openoffice has a purple welcome screen, rather than the blue one in the binary?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wangxiaohu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ma3oxuct wrote:
wangxiaohu wrote:
Ma3oxuct wrote:
I am compiling for a second time.

I compiled it the first time with the following use flags:
Code:

+curl +eds +gnome -java +kde -ldap +mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


However, I was not able save documents what so ever...I am totally serious about this; I tried just about everything humanly possible.

So now I am recompiling with these flags:

Code:
+curl +eds +gnome +java -kde +ldap -mozilla -nas +python +xml2 +zlib


The -kde should speed this one up :).


I can't save documents either. Here are my use flags:
Code:
[ebuild   R   ] app-office/openoffice-2.0.0  -curl -eds +gnome -java -kde -ldap -mozilla -nas -xml2 +zlib 563 kB


EDITED: I tried save it under .doc again, and it works...The problem is I want OASIS standard, not MS format.



Well, I just finished re-re-compiling, and now everything works as it should. wangxiaohu, does not openoffice open help? If it does not, then my best guess is that you will have to recompile with java support.



Did anyone notice that the compilied openoffice has a purple welcome screen, rather than the blue one in the binary?


Yes, it does not open up a help window. I don't like Java, because on my slow machine, any applications written in Java are slow and memory consuming. In fact, I don't think I need help. OpenOffice is just straight forward to use.
_________________
Linux simply sucks.

---- a Linux user (1996 - 2006)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOrPhie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged it and it is working great. Nevertheless, there are some font problems, which I hoped would be solved with OO.o 2.0. My current setup is KDE and X.org. I turned on Anti Aliasing in KDE and turned off Sub-pixel hinting and I set ui fonts to Luxi Sans. In X.org (local.conf) I enabled auto hinting. Using this setup you get nice fonts in the same way Fedora Core has configured them. But, it seems like OpenOffice 2.0 is ignoring my font settings:

http://img373.imageshack.us/my.php?image=29dz.png

The UI has 2 fonts. In the menu bar I see an unknown font. In the Styles-pane I see Luxi Sans, but it is to small and seems to be ignoring auto hinting or is using subpixel hinting after all. Either way, the UI fonts in OpenOffice still don't match my KDE (and GTK) settings.

Starting OpenOffice with the "--widgets-set gtk" option didn't help. :)

Anyone with a solution for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plastic
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpenGL rendering is b0rked. None of my 3D fontwork (think blatent wordart ripoff) displayed when I enabled it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 3 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum