Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Emerge and other commands do not work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:14 am    Post subject: Emerge and other commands do not work Reply with quote

Hello.

I'm a noob to Gentoo, but have successfully built Mandrake/Ubuntu/RedHat builds.
This is my first Sparc build.

I have a Sun Sparc Ultra 60 with single processor 2gigs ram and 2x9gb HD.

My problem is that after installization I must first login in console, and not gnome.
If I try to emerge ANYTHING, it says "emerge: command not found"

When I try other commands like 'man' or 'locate', I get the same "command not found"

I just reinstalled portage from the .bz2 file, with same results.


Ideas? This seems to be more than just a Portage issue.

Greazy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try stuff like:

/usr/bin/emerge
/bin/ls /
echo $PATH
ls /
env-update
source /etc/profile
echo $PATH
ls /
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
/usr/bin/emerge

not there. In fact, no /bin directory in /usr. only thing there is /portage.

Quote:
echo $PATH

gives me:
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/sparc-unknown-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3.5-20050130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so what exactly does ls / show? only portage?
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonathanross
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 77
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds as if you haven't chrooted into the new environment properly during the install or when it boots up.

Code:

# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo
# cd /mnt/gentoo

# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
 * Caching service dependencies...
# source /etc/profile

Is your fstab putting your partitions in the right order ?

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EzInKy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonathanross wrote:
It sounds as if you haven't chrooted into the new environment properly during the install or when it boots up.


This...

Quote:

not there. In fact, no /bin directory in /usr. only thing there is /portage.


...makes me wonder if the stage* file was extracted properly.
_________________
Time is what keeps everything from happening all at once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, NOOB alert.

I installed using Stage 3.

When I get back to my rig I'll check my fstab

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dlareh
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 2102

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greazy wrote:
Again, NOOB alert.

I installed using Stage 3.

When I get back to my rig I'll check my fstab

thanks.

Extracting the stage file creates the directories /usr, /bin, etc. If they really do not exist, then perhaps you need to re-do that step and restart your installation from there. How much further did you get in the handbook? Were you _ever_ able to emerge anything?
_________________
"Mr Thomas Edison has been up on the two previous nights discovering 'a bug' in his phonograph." --Pall Mall Gazette (1889)
Are we THERE yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

during the install I was able to emerge things....such as some logging programs. I know because I see a [!] at the startup screen :)

Yes, I think I'll redo parts of the install. Still gotta check my fstab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonathanross
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 77
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's good.

Maybe you untarred the stage tar into a directory other than the root initially.

J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At this stage where should I go? should I jump back to the point of extracting the stage 3 tar?


I just tried extracting the stage3 tar at root and I see a ton of "Cannot open: No such file or directory"
I'm guessing I need to first boot cdrom mount /mnt/gentoo and throw it over that way. no? I am logged in as root at this time, so I thought it would've worked.



my /etc/fstab file seems to look right. The computer does boot just fine, and silo is configured and working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, I think the problem is diskspace. I just tried creating a folder in /var and it said I was out.

I've got 2x 9gb disks. Shouldn't that be enough? Whats a good layout for 18 gigs to run gnome w/ apache, php, etc and a decent home directory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2             1.9G   58M  1.8G   4% /
/dev/sda4             4.7G  1.8G  2.7G  40% /usr
/dev/sda5             1.8G  206M  1.5G  12% /var
/dev/md0               33G  168M   31G   1% /data
/dev/sdb1             8.4G  129M  7.9G   2% /home
none                  117M     0  117M   0% /dev/shm


And in addition to that is:

/boot - 10meg (not mounted at boot time)

This system also has two 9GB disks and a 3 disk RAID5 array mounted on /data
Hope that helps ;)
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greazy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

My current setup is a bit raw, but it works:

sda1 = / all else
sda2 = swap 512M
sdb1 = /home 9gigs :)

I was having probs with memory space, so I wanted to try something very basic then change it later if need be with or w/o a whole new install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would have said the best part of 9gb for the / would be plenty....
a base system is only 1.6gb at most - so if its out of space what goes on ?

what does a df -h tell you ? - also what filesystem are you using and did you give it any weird swiched while formatting ?
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum