View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
georgen
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: 64-bit Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to Gentoo!, though, I have been around linux for a long time now. I have a few Ultra5's laying around and I thought i'd try to install sparc64 version of gentoo on them. Please tell me if I am missing something stupid here, I have downloaded 'install-sparc64-minimal-2005.1.iso' and when I boot from it ... all of the progs/libs seem to have been compiled 32-bit!? What is it I have to do to get everything compiled 64 bit?

TIA,
George.

i.e.
livecd bin # pwd
/bin
livecd bin # file * | more
arch: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, version 1 (
SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.4.1, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped
awk: symbolic link to `gawk-3.1.3'
basename: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, version 1 (
bash: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, version 1 (
bashlogin: Bourne-Again shell script text executable
bb: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, Sun UltraSP
ARC1 Extensions Required, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.4.1, statically link
ed, stripped
bunzip2: symbolic link to `bzip2'
busybox: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, version 1 (
bzcat: symbolic link to `bzip2'
bzcmp: symbolic link to `bzdiff'
bzdiff: Bourne shell script text executable
bzegrep: symbolic link to `bzgrep'
bzfgrep: symbolic link to `bzgrep'
bzgrep: Bourne shell script text executable
bzip2: ELF 32-bit MSB executable, SPARC32PLUS, V8+ Required, version 1 (
georgen
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:21 am    Post subject: 64-bit, searching the FAQ further ... Reply with quote