Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kaffeine and Amarok broken after "emerge --update world
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
papaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 21
Location: Piacenza, Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhm, what do you mean? What package have you updated?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UMMO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That solves it for me too - /usr/share/services was read only for all but root, and after a chmod 755 /usr/share/services and kbuildsycoca, everything works perfectly. Thanks. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vult
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Poland -> Łódź

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've checked it on the other machine with same problem and it works.
So the solutions is: change permission /usr/share/services to 755 and kbuildsycoca :]
Solved ?
_________________
-v-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 314
Location: Wolfenbüttel/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

confirmed. fixed it here even after rebooting :-) thanks honey :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 21
Location: Piacenza, Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
well, I don't think we can say this is solved, because some packages actually creates this directory wrong, so until someone figures the package out, it's only a patch.
It could well be that installing a new package will resume the old behaviour, so look out...

I'm in the progress of installing a new PC with gentoo this week, so I'll probably bump on it...

Fabio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UMMO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be the amarok package - of the packages which own files in /usr/share/services according to equery, I'm pretty sure I installed amarok first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meyerm
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1311
Location: Munich / Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello together,

I just encountered the very same problem and "solved" it by copying the root-db to the kde-user directory. All the other proposals weren't applicable since everyting was ok.

Does anybody know where this problem comes from? Copying this file can't be the "true" solution...

thanks,
M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgrant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 158
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having this problem right now as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
basiaf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 44
Location: Dortmund

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also having that problem atm, no solution worked for now. I'll have a look at that later, I'm a bit in a hurry...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgrant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 158
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still not working for me either. Just one one particular machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marcrosoft
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried all the solution above and the only one that gets amarok to work for me is copying /tmp/kde-root/kysoca to /tmp/kde-user/kysoca .

Anyone have anymore information about this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
serge
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Everybody

I got the same problem after having upgraded kde from 3.5.2 to 3.5.5: amarok stopped working and I got the same
errors.
I unsmasked amarok 1.4.4 and installed it: the errors remained.

I installed manually amarok (./configue, make, make install) and now it is working.

Serge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xolijh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at bug #148681

The solution is to delete old .la files in /usr/kde that are related to amarok:

Code:
find /usr/kde -name \*amarok\*.la -print0 | xargs -0 rm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanj
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 1426

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

It doesn't appear to be finding the *.la files...
Code:

find /usr/kde -name \*amarok\*.la -print0 | xargs -0 rm
rm: missing operand
Try `rm --help' for more information.


I tried all the earlier fixes, and they don't seem to apply to me (permissions are correct, etc). I can however start amarok as root.. so it might be somewhat related.

Thanks!
hanji
_________________
Server Admin Blog - Uno-Code.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jschitt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Bucharest, RO

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem but not with amarok, with kaffeine;
I switched to the latest versions (~amd64) of:
Code:
media-video/ffmpeg 0.4.9_p20061016

Code:
media-libs/xine-lib 1.1.3_pre20061112

Code:
media-libs/x264-svn20061014

Code:
media-video/kaffeine 0.8.2-r1
.
After the initial emerge, kaffeine worked very well (finally I had WMV9 v3 support, which is why i switched to unstable versions of the packages).
After a reboot though, kaffeine will not start at all, and I also cannot seem to find a message why it fails. I looked over /var/log and don't seem to find anything -- i am using metalog logging utility.
I tried to re-emerge kaffeine, I also deleted the ~/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine and ~/.kde/share/config/kaffeinerc files... managed to start it as root but still, as my regular user the app simply will not start.
Can somebody help me... as it seems to be the same problem the other have with amarok.

I am using KDE 3.5.5...
_________________
"... Privitor ca la teatru
Tu în lume să te-nchipui:
Joace unul şi pe patru,
Totuşi tu ghici-vei chipu-i ..."
--
Mihai Eminescu - 'Glossa'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaboosh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Edmonton, AB - Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:38 pm    Post subject: O-Kay Sure... Reply with quote

Pendragon wrote:
I had the same problem and solved it this way:

The var/tmp/kdecache-user/ksycoca was already owned by me, but the I was not allowed to excute (the rights were 644).

So ich made
Code:
chmod 744 var/tmp/kdecache-user/ksycoca


And it worked like a charm.

Hope this will solve your Prolems too.


That makes zero sense. Why would the ksycoca database cache need to be executable? This can only work to introduce an obscure potential security hole on a system...for that reason I refuse to even entertain this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Armond
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Location: US, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem of Amarok giving the sound-engine error has been showing up for me as well.

The 'services' permission fix worked:

chmod a+rx /usr/share/services
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eNTi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 1011
Location: Salzburg, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've recently switched to the kde-meta-3.5.6 builds (i did not emerge kde-meta though) and since, i've no plugins for either ktorrent or amarok. amarok just fails with the same error you guys got, while ktorrent can be started but simply has no plugins. i've tried almost all suggestions in this thread, without luck.
_________________
If you fall off a cliff, you might as well try to fly. After all, you got nothing to lose.

-- John Sheridan - Babylon 5, Season 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaboosh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 162
Location: Edmonton, AB - Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:35 pm    Post subject: Thanks for the Heads-Up Reply with quote

eNTi wrote:
i've recently switched to the kde-meta-3.5.6 builds (i did not emerge kde-meta though) and since, i've no plugins for either ktorrent or amarok. amarok just fails with the same error you guys got, while ktorrent can be started but simply has no plugins. i've tried almost all suggestions in this thread, without luck.


What version of KDE did you upgrade from? If it's 3.5.5 then I won't even bother attempting an upgrade to fix these issues :x
_________________
"The philosophy of one century is the common sense of the next." - Henry Ward Beecher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eNTi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 1011
Location: Salzburg, Austria

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's from 3.5.5. i can't remember, what i did (i think i deleted the amarokrc file), but it works again.
_________________
If you fall off a cliff, you might as well try to fly. After all, you got nothing to lose.

-- John Sheridan - Babylon 5, Season 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xolijh wrote:
Have a look at bug #148681

The solution is to delete old .la files in /usr/kde that are related to amarok:

Code:
find /usr/kde -name \*amarok\*.la -print0 | xargs -0 rm


Thanks xolijh, this is the solution that worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum