Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Portage stuff outside of Portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SignOfZeta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 60
Location: ~/

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:06 am    Post subject: Installing Portage stuff outside of Portage Reply with quote

I recently needed an install of the Simple DirectMedia Layer. Portage has all versions of media-libs/libsdl masked, so I just downloaded the 1.2.8-r1 source from SDL's website and built it myself (in true Gentoo fashion, using CFLAGS and configure-script options :D). But now, I think I should tell Portage it's installed so other programs can use it should they require it as a dependency. How should I do this?

My idea was to add it to packages.provided, since I don't Portage messing with it (at least not until it becomes unmasked). However, I'm pretty sure an emerge --sync will overwrite most everything under /usr/portage. (We'll find out in a few minutes.)

I could add it to world, but then Portage might mess with it and ruin it or attempt to uninstall it, since the version (and all others) is masked. What should I do?
_________________
You know you need to get out more when you try to end a forum post with Ctrl-X, Y.
-- Myself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bkunlimited
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 672

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

add SDL to /etc/portage/package.keywords and emerge it :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SignOfZeta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 60
Location: ~/

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thanks, it's remerging (re-emerging) right now. I'm just curious as to why it works... isn't package.keywords a replacement for ACCEPT_KEYWORDS and USE on the command line?
_________________
You know you need to get out more when you try to end a forum post with Ctrl-X, Y.
-- Myself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum