Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2005.1 amd64 Package corrupted?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brweber2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:57 pm    Post subject: 2005.1 amd64 Package corrupted? Reply with quote

I downloaded the universal installer for amd64. I verified the download with an md5 tool. I burned the iso to a cd. I was able to boot off the cd. I was following the install instructions and everything was going smoothly until.... I tried to untar the stage 3 package. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did you untar the tarball? Don't forget to change dirs to /mnt/gentoo or you will unpack it to ram and run out of space.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sven Vermeulen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 1345
Location: Mechelen, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, please provide us with the fault and error messages you get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brweber2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I definitely was in /mnt/gentoo. Any other suggestions? What type of error message would I see if it in fact did run out of memory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brweber2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:39 am    Post subject: update: error message included Reply with quote

Ok, I tried again from scratch and same thing... Again the error is while untarring the stage 3 tarball for amd64. I am in the /mnt/gentoo directory. The exact error message is:

$prompt>> tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

Yup, that's it for the error message. Most of the tarball is unpacked so maybe it is running out of memory? Is there a way to verify that?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure the handbook used to say you could ignore those errors. It's probably caused by the tarball attempting to unpack things to /mnt/gentoo/proc, which if you've already mounted it isn't going to work. If that's the only error message you get then you can almost certainly just carry on. :)
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan-tiger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2652596.htm

But I ignored this one time, continued, an then got trouble with gcc while bootstrapping.

Do you think these things have nothing to do with each other?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sreekar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:18 am    Post subject: same problem Reply with quote

I burned two different 2005.1 amd64 CDs (on two different machines) and I got the same error on both tries on my notebook. I was doing a stage3 install.

Also, I noticed that the second terminal (i.e. hitting Alt-F2) had the gentoo splash screen frozen in it, again in both cases (third and fourth terminals ok, however).

I was following the handbook precisely and didn't mess up there. This is probably irrelevant, but I was booting with

boot: gentoo no_timer_check

since o/w my clock runs double speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicona
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:51 pm    Post subject: No solution to the tar problem? Reply with quote

I was experiencing the same and found no solution.
tar bailedout at "./sbin/rmmod.static" and all it said was
Quote:
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

So i tried to pipe stdout into a file:
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo
tar -xvjpf stage3-amd64-2005.1.tar.bz2 > unpack.txt


And there it was.
Three errors, nicely output without all the unpacked files.

In my case it was a previous x86 installation preventing creation of some symlinks.
Some mv of the old stuff and I was on the road again.

By the way, unpack.txt is just to delete when you're done.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revealz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/mnt/gentoo/proc was not mounted

tar -zxvjpf stage3-x86-2005.1-r1.tar.bz2

tar: ./boot/.keep: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: ./boot/boot: Cannont create symlink to `.': No such file or directory


My mounts are as follows

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revealz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also downloaded the tarballs from two different sites to be sure
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chicona
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

revealz wrote:
tar -zxvjpf stage3-x86-2005.1-r1.tar.bz2

tar: ./boot/.keep: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: ./boot/boot: Cannont create symlink to `.': No such file or directory


Don't know if this is exactly what You wrote, but I don't think You should use the z option here.
That is for zip/unzip.

Try tar -xvjpf stage3-x86-2005.1-r1.tar.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

revealz wrote:
tar -zxvjpf stage3-x86-2005.1-r1.tar.bz2

tar: ./boot/.keep: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: ./boot/boot: Cannont create symlink to `.': No such file or directory

Can you post the output of just running mount, and also ls -l /mnt/gentoo?


chicona wrote:
Don't know if this is exactly what You wrote, but I don't think You should use the z option here.
That is for zip/unzip.

Actually, it's for gzip files, but I agree it doesn't make sense to use it with bzip2 files. :)
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thardy01
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2002
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody found a solution for this yet? I ask because im haveing the exact same problem trying to install portage.......... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
centryfox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to work around my old install for a while - but since the install was in the 2004 series, I just backed up what I needed from my old install and then wiped the partition clean.

Seems to have worked - but there could be a more elegant approach.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meph84
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 79
Location: Czech Rep.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same problem... md5sum will tell you whether it is okay or not. But the strangest thing... Did md5 check, it failed, so I went away angry from computer and turned it off. Some time later I tried it again with the same file (I have not downloaded it again) and it passed...

Don't ask me what it is caused by...
_________________
Gentoo Linux 2.6.15-gentoo-r7
AMD 64 3000+, 2GB RAM 400Mhz, GeForce 6800,
180GB Samsung HDD, LG DVD Burner,
SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, Winfast 2000XP Deluxe TV,
KDE 3.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum