Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde/gdm: shutdown not offered
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:56 am    Post subject: kde/gdm: shutdown not offered Reply with quote

Hello.

I am using gdm with KDE, because it looks far better and I found more themes for that, especially my loved lila.
The only problem:
With gdm, there is no shutdown or reboot offered, just close session. Is this possible to change while still using gdm?
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: Re: kde/gdm: shutdown not offered Reply with quote

Paolope wrote:
Hello.

I am using gdm with KDE, because it looks far better and I found more themes for that, especially my loved lila.
The only problem:
With gdm, there is no shutdown or reboot offered, just close session. Is this possible to change while still using gdm?


Hmm, strange, this works great for me. Have you tried another theme (I use Gentoo Emergence)? If this works, maybe it's an issue with your theme. IIRC, themes are just an xml file plus some images, so you could probably hack your gdm theme.

Another thought: I cannot check at the moment, but I think you can disable shutdown/reboot in /etc/X11/gdm/gdm.conf. So maybe you just have to adjust your settings there.

--marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using Lila.
gdm.conf has a lot of options. I activated the commands for reboot and halt, but I think they are used from within the login window.
GDM is now running as root, eventhough user/group is gdm in the gdm.conf. Should I add this user?
There is also a part about "Interoperability with KDM": SessionDesktopDir
Don't know what to do.
As soon as I switch to KDM, I have these Options in the dialog, reboot, halt.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marvin5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 162
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I misunderstood your problem. You mean the shutdown and reboot buttons inside kde, don't you? Those are unfortunately working only with kdm, as far as I know...

[edit: typo]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Too bad. Then I have to wait for gdm screen to do a halt.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The shutdown and reboot buttons on the KDE logout menu are hooked into KDE somehow, so you will not see them if you run another login manager, (i.e. gdm, xdm, entrance, etc...).

It may be possible to hack the KDE code and make them appear anyways, but I don't know if it is worth the trouble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do they want/force me to use kdm? I mean, it's all open source.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paolope wrote:
Do they want/force me to use kdm? I mean, it's all open source.
I don't think that is the case. Rather since kdm is part of the KDE project, they offer features enabled through it. I'm sure it was just some design decision that those buttons are enabled via kdm through some hooks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

..and there is no lila-theme vor kdm. Don't know if there are themes at all, only backgrounds for kdm. Therefore I like gdm much more.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadow Skill
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't found the hack either but it is possible because the buttons are there in Fedora Core.
_________________
Ware wa mutekinari.
Wa ga kage waza ni kanau mono nashi.
Wa ga ichigeki wa mutekinari.

"First there was nothing, so the lord gave us light. There was still nothing, but at least you could see it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/carlito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 450
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have gnome installed, you could try to log into that. Then go to Desktop > Settings > Sessions and select "ask on logout".

Logout of gnome and login to kde. Maybe you have the buttons now?? I can't test it here 'cause i don't have kde installed. (And i don't have time to have it compiling the whole day...)

Greetz.
_________________

.O.
..O
OOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I access this without gnome installed? May I emerge only the Control-Center of Gnome?
Or maybe you can tell me, which conf is going to change with that option.

I don't want to take days for emerging gnome beside KDE.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
/carlito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 450
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also change it from gconf-editor. Don't know how much dependencies wil install with that though...

Anyway, open gconf-editor, go to apps > gnome-session > options. There you will find what you need.

Greetz.
_________________

.O.
..O
OOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1570
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, emerging gconf-editor wasn't hard. But under apps there is only evolution.
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G|amd64:HP EliteBook 8560w,i7-2620M,16G|Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),8G|amd64-prefix:OpenSuse|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum