Nforce 3 board for PVR
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
badgers
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:32 pm    Post subject: Nforce 3 board for PVR Reply with quote

I am really new to the whole PVR concept.
I have looked at the itx platform and it seems really expensive for a small form factor.
I have plenty of space in my home for a mid-tower case, and standard "stuff"
I found a biostar board with a sempron chip, 8X AGP and 4 PCI slots for 92 bucks local.
I also have a choice of an NForce3 board for 140 bucks from the same place.

It seems everyone is using a Haupage 350 TV tuner in the itx boards.

1)would it be better to go with the biostar "standard" board and get a seperate TV out AGP card or go with the Nvidia Nforce3?
2)TV-In, is it possible to have (2) TV tuners so that I can record one station while I watch a second station and record it so that I can pause when I need to go to the bathroom or record two stations while not watching TV
3)I have digital cable, is it possible to control the digital tuner AND make sure the PVR knows which TV tuner is recieving from the digital cable tuner and which is "expanded basic" so that it does not try to record channel 500 from the wrong card.

#3 seems to be the one that may be a show stopper. I have found a couple of alpha stage projects to let linux control a digital cable box(charter communications in Madison,Wisconsin) but all of the examples I have googled were for a single tuner and that was it.
I record Adult Swim on the Cartoon network(expanded basic) and then there is something on "digital cable" like the extra discovery channel will have a special on something cool(chanel 130 for me) sometimes discovery health 128 runs some cool surgeries programs later in the evening.(have you ever seen a face lift OMFG 8O)

PS how do you get the TV listings? that was not 100% clear to me either

thanks