Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
new "emerge transcode" problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: new "emerge transcode" problem Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to emerge -u transcode. It fails with
Quote:
checking whether pvm3 support is requested... no
checking whether libdv support is requested... no
checking whether libquicktime support is requested... yes
checking for pkgconfig support for libquicktime... yes
checking for lqt-config... /usr/bin/lqt-config
checking how to determine LIBQUICKTIME_CFLAGS... pkg-config
checking quicktime/lqt.h usability... no
checking quicktime/lqt.h presence... no
checking for quicktime/lqt.h... no
configure: error: libquicktime requested, but cannot compile quicktime/lqt.h

!!! Please attach the config.log to your bug report:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/transcode-0.6.14-r2/work/transcode-0.6.14/config.log

!!! ERROR: media-video/transcode-0.6.14-r2 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 485, Exitcode 0
!!! econf failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.




config.log, is a bit to long to post it here. Here you find the first lines:
Quote:
This file contains any messages produced by compilers while
running configure, to aid debugging if configure makes a mistake.

It was created by transcode configure 0.6.14, which was
generated by GNU Autoconf 2.59. Invocation command line was

$ ./configure --prefix=/usr --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --build=i686-pc-linux-gnu --with-mod-path=/usr/lib/transcode --enable-x --disable-3dnow --disable-a52 --disable-altivec --enable-avifile --disable-libdv --disable-libdvdread --enable-lame --disable-libfame --enable-freetype2 --enable-gtk --enable-imagemagick --enable-libjpeg --disable-lzo --disable-mjpegtools --enable-mmx --enable-libmpeg3 --disable-netstream --enable-ogg --enable-vorbis --enable-libquicktime --enable-sdl --enable-sse --disable-sse2 --disable-theora --enable-v4l --enable-libxml2 --with-libpostproc-builddir=//usr/lib

## --------- ##
## Platform. ##
## --------- ##

hostname = hagen
uname -m = i686
uname -r = 2.6.11-gentoo-r9
uname -s = Linux
uname -v = #1 Sat Jun 4 14:30:40 CEST 2005

/usr/bin/uname -p = Pentium III (Coppermine)
/bin/uname -X = unknown

/bin/arch = i686
/usr/bin/arch -k = unknown
/usr/convex/getsysinfo = unknown
hostinfo = unknown
/bin/machine = unknown
/usr/bin/oslevel = unknown
/bin/universe = unknown

PATH: /usr/lib/ccache/bin
PATH: /sbin
PATH: /usr/sbin
PATH: /usr/lib/portage/bin
PATH: /bin
PATH: /usr/bin
PATH: /opt/bin
PATH: /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3
PATH: /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/bin
PATH: /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/jre/bin
PATH: /usr/qt/3/bin
PATH: /usr/kde/3.4/sbin
PATH: /usr/kde/3.4/bin


_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last few lines of config.log would be much more interesting. The actual error message should be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
#define HAVE_GETTIMEOFDAY 1
#define HAVE_INTTYPES_H 1
#define HAVE_INTTYPES_H 1
#define HAVE_LAME 396
#define HAVE_LAME_INC 1
#define HAVE_LIBDL 1
#define HAVE_LIBM 1
#define HAVE_LIBM_LRINT 1
#define HAVE_LIBXPM 1
#define HAVE_LIBXV 1
#define HAVE_LIBZ 1
#define HAVE_LIMITS_H 1
#define HAVE_LINUX_VIDEODEV_H 1
#define HAVE_MALLOC 1
#define HAVE_MALLOC_H 1
#define HAVE_MEMALIGN 1
#define HAVE_MEMMOVE 1
#define HAVE_MEMORY_H 1
#define HAVE_MEMSET 1
#define HAVE_MKFIFO 1
#define HAVE_MMX 1
#define HAVE_OGG 1
#define HAVE_SSE 1
#define HAVE_STAT 1
#define HAVE_STDINT_H 1
#define HAVE_STDLIB_H 1
#define HAVE_STDLIB_H 1
#define HAVE_STRCOLL 1
#define HAVE_STRERROR 1
#define HAVE_STRINGS_H 1
#define HAVE_STRING_H 1
#define HAVE_STRNCASECMP 1
#define HAVE_STRPTIME 1
#define HAVE_STRTOL 1
#define HAVE_SYS_STAT_H 1
#define HAVE_SYS_TIME_H 1
#define HAVE_SYS_TYPES_H 1
#define HAVE_UNISTD_H 1
#define HAVE_UNISTD_H 1
#define HAVE_V4L 1
#define HAVE_VORBIS 1
#define HAVE_VPRINTF 1
#define HAVE_VSSCANF 1
#define HAVE_X11 1
#define HAVE_X11_XAW_SIMPLE_H 1
#define HAVE_XAW_SIMPLE 1
#define LSTAT_FOLLOWS_SLASHED_SYMLINK 1
#define PACKAGE "transcode"
#define PACKAGE_BUGREPORT ""
#define PACKAGE_NAME "transcode"
#define PACKAGE_STRING "transcode 0.6.14"
#define PACKAGE_TARNAME "transcode"
#define PACKAGE_VERSION "0.6.14"
#define RETSIGTYPE void
#define STATBUFFER 1
#define STDC_HEADERS 1
#define TIME_WITH_SYS_TIME 1
#define VERSION "0.6.14"
#endif
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C" void std::exit (int) throw (); using std::exit;

configure: exit 1


Hope this helps!
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there an error message a little further up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

several, the last looks like this:

Quote:
S 1
| /* end confdefs.h. */
| #include <quicktime/lqt.h>
configure:34276: result: no
configure:34311: checking for quicktime/lqt.h
configure:34318: result: no
configure:34325: error: libquicktime requested, but cannot compile quicktime/lqt.h
Quote:
| #if HAVE_UNISTD_H
| # include <unistd.h>
| #endif
| #include <quicktime/lqt.h>
configure:34236: result: no
configure:34240: checking quicktime/lqt.h presence
configure:34250: i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -E -I/usr/include/lqt conftest.c
conftest.c:87:27: quicktime/lqt.h: No such file or directory
configure:34256: $? = 1
configure: failed program was:
| /* confdefs.h. */
|
| #define PACKAGE_NAME "transcode"

|


I placed the config.log at http://karstens.homelinux.net/config.log - so you can check for yourself. The servers is available during daytime CET

K.
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try to emerge media-libs/libquicktime first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that works without a problem
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and now again transcode ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

running now
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1188
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm at the same stage as the last post on this thread. any progress? i have the same error.

thanks,

EE
LATER: okay--> DOWNGRADE libquicktime to 0.9.3 or lower. transcode will not compile with higher versions, for some reason. maybe something wrong with >0.9.3 being ~arch or something? i'm compiling transcode fine now with a downgraded libquicktime.

if that's the case, this is a broken dependency, that needs to be fixed in the ebuilds. i don't know how to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
if that's the case, this is a broken dependency, that needs to be fixed in the ebuilds. i don't know how to do that.


Let the developers know by submitting a bug report on https://bugs.gentoo.org/. But please first do a search if there is one already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurosis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 170
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem w/ transcode. Trying the libquicktime downgrade at the moment.

Has anyone submitted a bug report for this yet?
_________________
There is no evil greater than that committed by those who claim to do their deeds in the name of God.

-unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1188
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've submitted the following bug.

cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1188
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

props to bugzilla for this. apparently the bug is due to an incorrect directory given in the lqt config for transcode. to fix, do the following:

Code:
#rm -r /usr/include/quicktime
#ln -s /usr/include/lqt /usr/include/quicktime
#emerge libquicktime transcode

you can set USE="quicktime", and it should work okay.

enjoy,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurosis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 170
Location: Ottawa, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
props to bugzilla for this. apparently the bug is due to an incorrect directory given in the lqt config for transcode. to fix, do the following:

Code:
#rm -r /usr/include/quicktime
#ln -s /usr/include/lqt /usr/include/quicktime
#emerge libquicktime transcode

you can set USE="quicktime", and it should work okay.


Props to you for finding that -- provided it works! :> Gonna try it out now.

EDIT: Worked like a charm. Thanks.
_________________
There is no evil greater than that committed by those who claim to do their deeds in the name of God.

-unknown


Last edited by neurosis on Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mben
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 465
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshuaxls
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Location: /kentucky/louisville

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
props to bugzilla for this. apparently the bug is due to an incorrect directory given in the lqt config for transcode. to fix, do the following:

Code:
#rm -r /usr/include/quicktime
#ln -s /usr/include/lqt /usr/include/quicktime
#emerge libquicktime transcode

you can set USE="quicktime", and it should work okay.

enjoy,

EE


I'm just adding confirmation that this indeed fixes the problem with emerging the newest transcode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s0lar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
props to bugzilla for this. apparently the bug is due to an incorrect directory given in the lqt config for transcode. to fix, do the following:

Code:
#rm -r /usr/include/quicktime
#ln -s /usr/include/lqt /usr/include/quicktime
#emerge libquicktime transcode

you can set USE="quicktime", and it should work okay.

enjoy,

EE

Worked perfect for me, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 826
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn't work for me:
Code:
--- /usr/share/aclocal/
>>> /usr/share/aclocal/lqt.m4
--- /usr/include/

!!! Cannot write to '/usr/include/quicktime'.
!!! Please check permissions and directories for broken symlinks.
!!! You may start the merge process again by using ebuild:
!!! ebuild /usr/portage/media-libs/libquicktime/libquicktime-0.9.4.ebuild merge
!!! And finish by running this: env-update



Code:
~ $ ls -la /usr/include/lqt
ls: /usr/include/lqt: No such file or directory


teach me to blindly follow instructions - I know - I should have looked for lqt first.

Anyone tell me what I can do to fix this? How do you get lqt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 826
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okeydokey,

I unmerged transcode and finished my revdep-rebuild on upgrading to gcc-3.4.4. Then put transcode into my package.keywords and lo! it installed ok. Since I don't seem to have /usr/include/lqt to link to I'm happy this worked.

cheers, Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum