Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't run winesetup from su
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 8:54 pm    Post subject: can't run winesetup from su Reply with quote

i am currently logged in as root, but winesetup won't work for root so i try to login as a user and it don't work.
Code:
bash-2.05a# su gsfgf
sh-2.05a$ winesetuptk
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

couldn't connect to display ":0.0"
sh-2.05a$
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlansing
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try xhost +localhost beforce su-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx now i get an error on start
Code:
Error: Invalid command name
".f_scr.f_location"


Stack trace (option on error box) gives
Code:
invalid command name ".f_scr.f_location."
    while executing
"$pMainFrame.f_location.$RBName invoke"
    (object "::ObjScrFileLoc" method "::CScrFileLoc::InvokeSomeRB" body line 16)
    invoked from within
"InvokeSomeRB $aRadioButtons"
    (object "::ObjScrFileLoc" method "::CScrFileLoc::SetWidgetsState" body line 2)
    invoked from within
"CScrFileLoc::SetWidgetsState $RadioButtons"
    (object "::ObjScrFileLoc" method "::CScrFileLoc::Draw" body line 38)
    invoked from within
"Draw"
    (object "::ObjScrFileLoc" method "::CBaseScr::DoModal" body line 2)
    invoked from within
"$pActiveScrObj DoModal"
    (object "::ObjBase" method "::CBase::MainLoop" body line 67)
    invoked from within
"ObjBase MainLoop"
    (file "Main.itcl" line 1559)
    invoked from within
"source "Main.itcl""


The only option for file location is other if it matters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2002 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not using the setup tool, so a bit out of the blue, but is the DISPLAY environment setting set for the user. like DISPLAY=:0 or something.

Cya lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lx wrote:
I'm not using the setup tool, so a bit out of the blue, but is the DISPLAY environment setting set for the user. like DISPLAY=:0 or something.

Cya lX.


It loads fine now. It just gives me that damn error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum