Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kworldclock
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deribin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 70
Location: Vancouver

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: kworldclock Reply with quote

I have strange problem with kworldclock. When it starts I see the same time in the whole world! 8O

http://const.deribin.com/snapshot2.jpg

Maybe somebodu know what's up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 860
Location: Edegem,BELGIUM

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the same problem here with:
Qt: 3.1.0
KDE: 3.1.0
KDE World Clock: 1.5
probably a bug
_________________
My favorite links this month:
- Surf Random
- Web-based SSH
- Stop Spam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deribin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 70
Location: Vancouver

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:53 am    Post subject: xtraceroute Reply with quote

I have the same cofiguration.
And another one problem, now with xtraceroute:
http://const.deribin.com/snapshot3.jpg

Maybe I miss something? It's just after emerging, nothing been changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 860
Location: Edegem,BELGIUM

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my xtraceroute works perfect
_________________
My favorite links this month:
- Surf Random
- Web-based SSH
- Stop Spam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raluke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like a kworldclock bug report was submitted here and supposedly fixed. However I've emerged update world a number of times since then and I've still got same problem: identical times all around the world.

Do you think the 1.4 freeze is keeping the fix from reaching portage or something? I gotta admit I'm not too clear about what the "freeze" means. I knew what it meant what I was running the "testing" version of Debian (2.2 -> 3.0), which is why I tried Gentoo! :D

Does anybody have any newer information? Searching on "kworldclock" doesn't come up with much and this is a very cool app.

TIA,
-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkb137
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 33
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When they say it's fixed, I'm sure they mean in CVS. We won't see the fix until KDE 3.1.1 or whatever the next version is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would probably suffice to apply the patch that was provided as a fix. But KDE is so intimidatingly big, where and how would I do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

plate wrote:
It would probably suffice to apply the patch that was provided as a fix. But KDE is so intimidatingly big, where and how would I do that?


If you know the package that the kworldclock is included in, unpack it first:
Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kde-name/k......ebuild unpack


Then cd in to the top level directory:
Code:

cd /var/tmp/portage/kde-name..../work/kde-name.../kworldclock


Then save the patch in your link to a file and patch with this command:
Code:

cat patchfile | patch -p0


Now it's time to build:
Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kde-name/k......ebuild compile
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kde-name/k......ebuild install
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kde-name/k......ebuild qmerge


Let us know if the time is right now :)

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raluke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ebrostig, is the 1.4 "freeze" the reason the patch hasn't been made available by default (through emerge --update --deep world) yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The freeze only applies to new packages, not to bug fixes for existing ones. Patience, Gentoomen, the patch has only been around for a few days... I've added a bug report to bugs.gentoo.org to speed up things a little.

ebrostig, thanks a lot, I'm glad I don't have to re-emerge all of KDE for that... 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pixelburn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Location: MAE-East

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the patch and ebuild process above works great!

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gee, I completely forgot about this thread! Yeah, it works, might as well document the method for latecomers. Thanks again to ebrostig for setting me on the right track. Here are his steps with the real package names filled in:
Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kdetoys/kdetoys-3.1.ebuild unpack
cd /var/tmp/portage/kdetoys-3.1/work/kdetoys-3.1
cat /tmp/patchfile | patch -p0
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kdetoys/kdetoys-3.1.ebuild compile
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kdetoys/kdetoys-3.1.ebuild install
ebuild /usr/portage/kde-base/kdetoys/kdetoys-3.1.ebuild qmerge

with your /tmp/patchfile taken from the attachment to the original bug report on the KDE bugzilla.

And yes, the time is right now... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum