Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:45 pm    Post subject: kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: (solved) Reply with quote

kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(8,4)
please tell me what this means please.??
is it something to do with lilo? or is it to do with the installation?.
my boot partition is called sda2 and my root partition is sda4, sda3 is swap and sda1 is windows.
all the linux partitions are reiserfs.
one other thing ..when i try to chroot back into my system after trying to boot it, nothing seems to work. ie chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
bin/bash doesent exist. Do i have to go through the whole install again????


Last edited by jkjkjk on Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: unable to mount root fs Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(8,4)
please tell me what this means please.??
is it something to do with lilo? or is it to do with the installation?.
my boot partition is called sda2 and my root partition is sda4, sda3 is swap and sda1 is windows.
all the linux partitions are reiserfs.
one other thing ..when i try to chroot back into my system after trying to boot it, nothing seems to work. ie chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
bin/bash doesent exist. Do i have to go through the whole install again????

first - do you have SATA? have you compiled drivers for it into kernel?
second - have you mounted /mnt/gentoo before trying to chroot?
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i have sata. and i dont know if i have installed drivers for it.
how do i install the drivers?
i try'd mount /mnt/gentoo (if this is what you mean) but i get the message
mount: can't find mnt/gentoo in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
yes i have sata. and i dont know if i have installed drivers for it.
how do i install the drivers?
i try'd mount /mnt/gentoo (if this is what you mean) but i get the message
mount: can't find mnt/gentoo in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
drivers should be compiled into kernel. in order to mount /mnt/gentoo you need to tell kernel what do you want to mount ie. mount -t[fstype] [device] [destination]. Tell me, have you ever read Handbook? (Re)read the part about mounting root partition before chrooting.
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK i did
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
so now i have chrooted
thanks 4 the advise
all i have to do now is install the drivers but i still cant figure out how
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:

all i have to do now is install the drivers but i still cant figure out how
you will need to compile them into the kernel...
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i will have to give up for tonight and try again in the morning
Thank you for your help smurf.
what i did was install the silicon image driver ...this is the one i use with windows(and it works)
but this time with no joy, the same result.
do you think i should start a new install from scratch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m0p
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 205
Location: en_GB

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, when I compiled a kernel during installation, it added my SATA drivers to the config for me (but it ignored my sound card and ethernet completely! grr). When you do make menuconfig configuring the kernel, goto Device drivers -> SCSI devices -> low level drivers -> SATA support then choose your controller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
do you think i should start a new install from scratch?
No, I think you should try to fix current one. After chrooting check whether you have reiserfs compiled in: cd into directory where compiled sources are, typically /usr/src/linux (remember to mount /usr after chrooting) an examine kernel configuration file (should be there)
Code:
cat .config | grep REISER
you should get something similar to this:
Code:
CONFIG_REISERFS_FS=y
# CONFIG_REISERFS_CHECK is not set
# CONFIG_REISERFS_PROC_INFO is not set
# CONFIG_REISERFS_FS_XATTR is not set
the first line is most important, if it is 'y' then you have reiserfs support enabled and the problem is somewhere else (and we'll try to fix it later)

(I'm not sure whether 'grep' is already merged at this stage, most likely it is, but just in case: when that command fails because of absence of grep, you can open .config in nano and search using ctrl+w for REISER - rather obvious advice, but sometimes thinking about great problems we can miss simple solutions :) )
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

m0p wrote:
Hmm, when I compiled a kernel during installation, it added my SATA drivers to the config for me (but it ignored my sound card and ethernet completely! grr). When you do make menuconfig configuring the kernel, goto Device drivers -> SCSI devices -> low level drivers -> SATA support then choose your controller.
Not sure: it is problem with no sata or lack of support for reiser... kernel said that it is unable to FIND and mount root device (then it is problem with sata) or JUST can't mount the partition (because of unknown fs)?
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for all the advice
I checked cat .config | grep REISER
and everything is in order so what i did next was to reinstall the kernel using genkernel
which straight away told me there was a mistake in /etc/fstab
I had
/dev/sda4 / reiserFS notail,noatime 1 2
But i should have
/dev/sda4 / reiserfs notail,noatime 1 2

So i changed it,but now because i have used genkernel i have had to edit lilo.conf
adding initrd etc etc
which i do not understand...but after doing exactly ~(i think) what it says in the install help.
I know get this

kernel panic - not syncing :VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(0,4)
This means my ram is not seen ????
thanks again for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the contents of lilo.conf. I'm guessing that you're having a problem using initrd. You either didn't built the initrd image properly or you forgot to add support for RAM disk to your kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is my lilo.conf
boot=/dev/sda
prompt
timeout=50
default=gentoo
image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
label=gentoo
read-only
root=/dev/ram0
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_boot=/dev/sda4"
initrd=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-rc3

other=dev/sda1
label=windows

should i use real_boot/dev/sda2 ??????
this is my boot partion
(after chrooting vims gone)


Last edited by jkjkjk on Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
this is my lilo.conf
Code:
...
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_boot=/dev/sda4"
initrd=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-rc3
...

should i use real_boot/dev/sda2 ??????
this is my boot partion


I haven't used LILO for years, however, from my experience with GRUB you've got a few problems with that file. I don't know if you shouldn't have initrd in the append line, but you've got a typo in the previous line: it's real_root and not real_boot.
Code:
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda4"

If that doesn't work, try doing
Code:
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda4 initrd=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-rc3"

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and the
Code:
init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_boot=/dev/sda4

part only applies if you're using genkernel. If not, you shouldn't have that and should replace root=/dev/ram0 with root=/dev/sda4.
Also and that's why I've asked you to post the contents of lilo.conf, since you're using an initrd, you should check your kernel configuration to check if you enabled support for ramdisk.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After trying all variations i now get this:
Kernel panic - not syncing :VFS:Unable to mount root fs on unknown -block(1,0)
This is driving me crazy...Maybe tomorrow i shall buy an IDE drive and have a hassle free install(maybe).
Next i tried checking livecd root# ls /boot/kenel* /boot/initrd* (this is before chrooting)
This is the outcome
/boot/initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 /boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
So i changed lilo.conf to look like this


boot=/dev/sda
prompt
timeout=50
default=gentoo
image=/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
label=gentoo
read-only
root=/dev/ram0
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda4 initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3"


other=dev/sda1
label=windows

i expect this is not right ...because it gets the same result
when i generated the kernel with genkernel did i have to tell it to include reiserfs
in the handbook it says to use genkernel --menuconfig (THEN WHAT reiserfs?????)
thanks for the help
jkjkjk


Last edited by jkjkjk on Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk,

you want to list your kernel, not the live-cd's!
Code:
# ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot/kernel* /mnt/gentoo/boot/initrd*

Don't forget that you have to mount /mnt/gentoo and /mnt/gentoo/boot if you created a /boot partition.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Runoltaja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Finland, Helsinki

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:

replace root=/dev/ram0 with root=/dev/sda4


yes! I'm In... thanks very very much. This peace of advice solved my similar problem ;-)
_________________
"It can always be fixed in the next version"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i replace root=/dev/ram0 with root/dev/sda4 am i not in the same place as i started???
and will i have to re-install the kernel again not using genkernel???
could i try:
append="init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda4 initrd=/mnt/gentoo/boot/initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3"
is there any way of checking if its worked without rebooting the system ?
as you may have already noticed im pretty new to linux. I have used fc3 but that installed itself. this is more fun but also more infuriating at the same time .:lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i generated the kernel with genkernel did i have to tell it to include reiserfs
in the handbook it says to use genkernel --menuconfig (THEN WHAT reiserfs?????)
thanks for the help
jkjkjk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Runoltaja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Finland, Helsinki

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
If i replace root=/dev/ram0 with root/dev/sda4 am i not in the same place as i started???
and will i have to re-install the kernel again not using genkernel???


if you used grub you could try that switch on start. It worked for me? I'm quite newbie my self and this is about 3th install in this time of gentooo (i had kubuntu). Edit: My problem was "quite" similar (kernel panic reiser etc) , not exact. Let the Pro(s) tell rest.
_________________
"It can always be fixed in the next version"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I think you need more detailed instructions.
In order to be able to mount your system you need to compile in your kernel the support for reiserfs because you use it for / and the driver for your SATA controller. If you use genkernel, you have to use an initrd.
If you already tried using genkernel and got into problems, we can try doing it manually. In your chroot do
Code:
# cd /usr/src/
# ls -l

You should see something like
Code:
atl64 atlantis # ls -l /usr/src/
total 3
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root   19 Jun 23 17:50 linux -> linux-2.6.12-gentoo
drwxr-xr-x  18 root root  664 Jun 12 15:53 linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r10
drwxr-xr-x  19 root root 1280 Mai 25 02:36 linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r6
drwxr-xr-x  19 root root 1280 Jun 27 19:33 linux-2.6.12-gentoo
atl64 atlantis #

You should have a linux symlink pointing to a kernel tree, in my case linux-2.6.12-gentoo. Then do
Code:
# cd linux
# make menuconfig

You're now configuring your kernel. You should start by looking at Filesystems -> Reiserfs support. You want to have <*> and not <M> or [ ]. Then look at Device Drivers -> SCSI device support. Enable SCSI disk support and SCSI generic support. Enter SCSI low-level drivers and select the appropriate drivers for your controller(s) under Serial ATA (SATA) support.
When you finish selecting the options for your kernel press exit until it asks you to save your config file. Do so. Then do
Code:
# make && make modules_install
# cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-version-gentoo
# cp System.map /boot/System.map-version-gentoo
# cp .config /boot/config-version-gentoo

If you have a x86_64 cpu, replace arch/x86/boot/bzImage with arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage. Replace version with your kernel version, 2.6.12 in my case. Then edit lilo.conf and edit the kernel name in the kernel line. Also replace the root line with root=/dev/sda4 and comment the append line - add a # in the beggining.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i will go through it step by step and tell exactly what happens
#cd /usr/src
total 1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 jun 22:54 linux -> linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 928 jul 2 17:20 linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

is this ok???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkjkjk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my com has a silicon image chipset ...there is an option in menuconfig to enable this ...at the moment it is set to <M>.....do i need to change that to <*>
[*] serial ata SATA support
is this wrong
also
<*> reiserfs support
[ ] enable reiser debug mode
[ ]stats in /proc/fs/reiserfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jkjkjk wrote:
ok i will go through it step by step and tell exactly what happens
#cd /usr/src
total 1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 jun 22:54 linux -> linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 928 jul 2 17:20 linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

is this ok???


Yes.

jkjkjk wrote:
my com has a silicon image chipset ...there is an option in menuconfig to enable this ...at the moment it is set to <M>.....do i need to change that to <*>
[*] serial ata SATA support
is this wrong
also
<*> reiserfs support
[ ] enable reiser debug mode
[ ]stats in /proc/fs/reiserfs


You need to change from <M> to <*> the support for the SIL controller if that's the one you're using. If not, you'll have to select the one your disk is connected to and compile it as <*>.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum