View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
iggyman
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:10 am    Post subject: chroot:cannot run command '/bin/bashn : Exec format error Reply with quote

I am new to linux.I reached the chroot part of the install. Irun the command # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash and I get the error-chroot:cannot run command '/bin/bashn : Exec format error.Can someone help me with this.I checked the help files for /bin/bash and was not much help

Thank You
markfw
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same problem and am also new to linux. I am somewhat competent on unix, and during the install following the 98 page instructions, there were directories and files missing that I created, or copied and edited (make.conf was missing, found make.conf.something on the cd and copied over)

Please ,make another convert !! Athlon64 setup, no other special stuff.

and the error BTW was that /bin/bash not found directory or something like that, so like the rest of what I did, I created /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash, and then also copied from the CD all the contents of the cd /bin to the /mnt/gentoo/bin directory. Still same problem.
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

markfw wrote:
I have exactly the same problem and am also new to linux. I am somewhat competent on unix, and during the install following the 98 page instructions, there were directories and files missing that I created, or copied and edited (make.conf was missing, found make.conf.something on the cd and copied over)

There is a make.conf.example right in the /mnt/gentoo/etc directory (before you do the chroot). Just copy it over to make.conf and edit as necessary.

markfw wrote: