Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo and Lightscribe?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:21 am    Post subject: Re: Ebuilds for LaCie lightscribe and 4L Reply with quote

[quote="IamBorg"]
Karsten1973 wrote:

There are a couple more steps involved (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/?catid=gentoo).

Basically, the steps to create the manifests are:
Code:
cd lacie/lightscribe
ebuild lightscribe-1.4.113.1.ebuild digest
cd ../4L
ebuild 4L-1.0-r6.ebuild digest


If you are in /usr/portage, you might want to think about using a portage overlay. This is specified in /etc/make.conf with the PORTDIR_OVERLAY variable. Doing this would make it so that emerge --sync will not delete your changes/additions. Then you would create the directories under that, create the manifests, and emerge.

Hope this helps.

Thank you, I'll try. I am using an overlay allready, but did not know how to build a manifest.
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cakofony
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I just purchased a "HP dvd840i Super Multi DVD Writer with LightScribe and Double Layer" and wanted to know if anybody has had success with this model. is the 4L program in portage yet? what kernel modules do I need to have enabled? also, what is DVD-RAM? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cakofony wrote:
Hi, I just purchased a "HP dvd840i Super Multi DVD Writer with LightScribe and Double Layer" and wanted to know if anybody has had success with this model. is the 4L program in portage yet? what kernel modules do I need to have enabled? also, what is DVD-RAM? thanks

I tried with the ebuild described above, but to no avail. Then I just downloaded the .rpm files and rpm2tar'ed them, untarred and placed in the right directories. Works fine on my AMD Athlon X2.

DVD-RAM is the perfect backup-dvd. It checks whats written and can be used (rewritten) extremly often. The media itself is expensive.
_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
efwahl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 1:22 am    Post subject: Re: Ebuilds for LaCie lightscribe and 4L Reply with quote

dasbear wrote:

So I made a couple ebuilds in a portage overlay.


Worked great for me, many thanks.

Samsung SH-S182M (PATA) on an Asus P5b
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasquedAvenger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody know if Lacie is supported under a native 64-bit environment?

James
_________________
My blog: http://www.crazydrclaw.com/
My homepage: http://james.colannino.org/

"There are no uninteresting things; only uninterested people." --G.K. Chesterton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasquedAvenger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MasquedAvenger wrote:
Does anybody know if Lacie is supported under a native 64-bit environment?


Going further back through the thread, I see that it works under a 64-bit environment using the emul-x86 libs. Sorry about that :oops:

James
_________________
My blog: http://www.crazydrclaw.com/
My homepage: http://james.colannino.org/

"There are no uninteresting things; only uninterested people." --G.K. Chesterton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glurps
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem. did remerge libstdc++-v3. :cry:

truekaiser wrote:
it doesn't segfault for me beacuse it's spiting out this error..
Code:
4L-cli: error while loading shared libraries: liblightscribe.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


edit:

acually easy to fix: 8)

Code:
$ cp /usr/lib32/liblightscribe.so.1 /usr/lib/liblightscribe.so.1


but then:

Code:
$ 4L-cli enumerate
Using /etc/lightscribe.rc
Segmentation fault
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glurps
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lacie is aware of the problem... but they are slow.

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-106197.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9070

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Kernel & Hardware to Unsupported Software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 750

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

new problem. the burner will only burn the original test image i used even though i used the program and selected a different image.
_________________
"My father rode a camel. I drive a car. My son flies a jet-plane. His son will ride a camel."
—Saudi saying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschlich
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 41
Location: Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys,

FYI: https://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/wschlich/browser/testing/app-cdr

I don't have an amd64 machine myself, thus I cannot test the amd64
multilib thingy and that's the reason I didn't already implement something like
that what's contained in the app-cdr/nero package.

I plan to add those packages to the official Portage tree soon, so
I'd be very happy to receive feedback from you, especially regarding
solutions for amd64.

You can use my "testing" overlay with layman like this:

Code:
layman -S
layman -a wschlich-testing


Regards,
Wolfram
_________________
Wolfram Schlich <wschlich@gentoo.org>
https://github.com/wschlich/ * http://dev.gentoo.org/~wschlich/ * http://wolfram.schlich.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njuk-njuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wschlich wrote:
I don't have an amd64 machine myself, thus I cannot test the amd64
multilib thingy and that's the reason I didn't already implement something like
that what's contained in the app-cdr/nero package.

I plan to add those packages to the official Portage tree soon, so
I'd be very happy to receive feedback from you, especially regarding
solutions for amd64.


thanks for creating this overlay.

i've never dealt with the '-amd64' keyword, only '~amd64'. how do i get this ebuild to work on my amd64 box? i tried putting the packages in /etc/portage/package.{keywords,unmask} but that didn't help, i still get the "masked by: -amd64 keyword" message from emerge. i even tried ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='amd64' but same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3247

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

njuk-njuk wrote:
i've never dealt with the '-amd64' keyword, only '~amd64'. how do i get this ebuild to work on my amd64 box? i tried putting the packages in /etc/portage/package.{keywords,unmask} but that didn't help, i still get the "masked by: -amd64 keyword" message from emerge. i even tried ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='amd64' but same result.
If it is masked by '-amd64', then you unmask it with the (obvious) '-amd64' in package.keywords, ie, echo "package-category/packagename -amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using e from git | e18, e19, and kde4 sucks :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njuk-njuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppurka wrote:
If it is masked by '-amd64', then you unmask it with the (obvious) '-amd64' in package.keywords, ie, echo "package-category/packagename -amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


thanks, that did it. as you can see, i was interpreting the minus sign in the same manner that one handles keywords in make.conf. that is to say, if it had a minus sign, i thought i could just remove it as part of the keyword, thus overriding it, and be on my way. i now see that this minus sign prefix (as well as ~) is not really to be interpreted as such in these cases. thanks again for the info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l33tmmx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 91
Location: Pirkkala, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wschlich wrote:

I plan to add those packages to the official Portage tree soon, so
I'd be very happy to receive feedback from you, especially regarding
solutions for amd64.


One little question concerning your app-cdr/lightscribe-simplelabeler ebuild: why does it have a dependency of media-libs/nas (Network Audio System)? I wondered about it when installing, and just to test things, checked /opt/lightscribeApplications/SimpleLabeler/SimpleLabeler with ldd: not linked to nas, then unmerged nas: simplelabeler continued to work as before... Is there any specific reason for nas-dependency :? ?
_________________
"Trust me, I know what I'm doing!"
- Sledge Hammer

Follow me on Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschlich
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 41
Location: Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

l33tmmx wrote:
One little question concerning your app-cdr/lightscribe-simplelabeler ebuild: why does it have a dependency of media-libs/nas (Network Audio System)? I wondered about it when installing, and just to test things, checked /opt/lightscribeApplications/SimpleLabeler/SimpleLabeler with ldd: not linked to nas, then unmerged nas: simplelabeler continued to work as before... Is there any specific reason for nas-dependency :? ?


/opt/lightscribeApplications/common/Qt/libQt3Support.so.4 is linked against /usr/lib/libaudio.so.2 from media-libs/nas ...
_________________
Wolfram Schlich <wschlich@gentoo.org>
https://github.com/wschlich/ * http://dev.gentoo.org/~wschlich/ * http://wolfram.schlich.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njuk-njuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thought i'd post a quick reply to state that using my amd64 machine i did a trial run of the lacie lightscribe tool from the overlay. everything worked fine on its madien voyage. fwiw, the drive i have is a brand new Samsung SH-S183L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njuk-njuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 65
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wschlich wrote:
Hey guys,

FYI: https://overlays.gentoo.org/dev/wschlich/browser/testing/app-cdr
[...]
I plan to add those packages to the official Portage tree soon, so
I'd be very happy to receive feedback from you, especially regarding
solutions for amd64.


hi wolfram. i noted that as of may 04 there is a new version of the lightscribe system software (Lightscribe_1.6.43.1.rpm) available on the lightscribe site. any chance of providing an updated ebuild to your overlay incorporating this so we can test it out?

thanks again for the overlay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeffj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried out the new lightscribe library (Lightscribe_1.6.43.1.rpm) by installing it without the overlay on my amd64 system. With both this version, and an earlier version, I can get the programs to run, but I cannot write a label with the LaCie software. If I try, I'm told I need root privileges even when I run the program as root. Everything else works, though.

I was going to try out the overlay, but I cannot find a lightscribe library old enough to match what the overlay wants.

I also tried out the software on an x86 system that I haven't kept up to date. All the LaCie software would do is cause a stack overflow in the C++ STL. I did try installing libstdc++-v3, but that didn't help.

So I'd have to guess the new lightscribe library is bad. Or maybe I missed something.

If anyone has a suggestion, I'll give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mister.woody
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the overlay. I am going to try it right now. Why not write an HOWTO for it?


wschlich wrote:

You can use my "testing" overlay with layman like this:

Code:
layman -S
layman -a wschlich-testing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeffj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made another attempt at getting Lightscribe to work. I succeeded on Ubuntu 7.04 on an old PC I revived, but I still can't get it working on Gentoo. I did see a similar problem on both before I got it working, though.

On x86 Gentoo, I got to the point where 4L-cli works fine from my user account, but cannot find any drives when run as root. It is consistent about not finding the drives using any of the commands, so printing doesn't work.

On x86 Ubuntu, I installed the Lightscribe software the same way and got the same result. Then I saw that people were adding a wheel user group and using a program called alien to make Debian install thingies out of the RPM files. I did the same. Alien complained that the 4L RPM had a post install script; I had it include the script. Then I installed using dpkg. That made it work.

I think the user group step was to avoid running 4L-cli as root for printing; it didn't help. So I think that post install script has the make-it-work magic. I haven't been able to get at the script from Gentoo. Anyone know how? I also don't have the right version of the Lightsrcibe libraries to use with the overlay. I've got 1.4.136.1, 1.6.43.1, and 1.6.45.1. I can't find 1.4.142.1.

On Amd64 Gentoo, I'm still stuck at needing root permissions when running 4L-cli as root.

Any help is appreciated.

I couldn't find a non-graphical program to make a text label suitable for using from scripts, so I made one. Doesn't work on Ubuntu, but its fine on Gentoo, so I'm still hoping to get this working on Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschlich
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 41
Location: Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just bumped app-cdr/lightscribe to 1.8.13.1. Please test :-)
_________________
Wolfram Schlich <wschlich@gentoo.org>
https://github.com/wschlich/ * http://dev.gentoo.org/~wschlich/ * http://wolfram.schlich.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeffj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new ebuild makes lightscribe work on my AMD64 system. Thanks!

I noticed similar issues with 4L-gui. Not such a big deal for me since I've mostly been using 4L-cli or I stick with 4L-gui until is starts writing the label.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terrylava
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you wschlich. The AMD64 version works for me on my C2D with a Samsung S-182D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 3 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum