Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] ATI Radeon overclocking
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: [HOWTO] ATI Radeon overclocking Reply with quote

Because I haven't found a program to overclock my Radeon 9700 I've written one to do this. It's in an early, experimental stage, but
it's working on my 9700 and a 9500 Pro without problems.

First get the current version from http://www.hasw.net/linux, extract and compile it:

Code:

hasw@hasw hasw $ tar jxvf rovclock-0.1a.tar.bz2
rovclock-0.1a/
rovclock-0.1a/rovclock.c
rovclock-0.1a/radeon.h
rovclock-0.1a/pci.h
rovclock-0.1a/Makefile
rovclock-0.1a/rovclock
rovclock-0.1a/README
rovclock-0.1a/COPYING
hasw@hasw hasw $ cd rovclock-0.1a
hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $ make
gcc -O2 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes  -o rovclock rovclock.c
hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $


Because there's currently no code to detect the Xtal frequency, it's possible to specify it manually.
First try to check if the core and memory frequency are correctly calculated:

Code:

hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $ sudo ./rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x4e44
I/O base address: 0x9000
Xtal: 27.0 MHz
Core: 283.50 MHz, Mem: 290.25 MHz, RefDiv: 12
hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $


If the default Xtal frequency of 27 MHz does not lead to a correctly calculated core and memory frequency,
you can specify another (in kHz), try 1432 or 2950:

Code:

hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $ sudo ./rovclock -x 2950 -i
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x4e44
I/O base address: 0x9000
Xtal: 29.50 MHz
Core: 309.75 MHz, Mem: 317.13 MHz, RefDiv: 12
hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $


Setting a new core and memory frequency is simple (don't forget the -x option if you need it):

Code:

hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $ sudo ./rovclock -c 360 -m 300
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x4e44
I/O base address: 0x9000
Xtal: 27.0 MHz
Core: 357.75 MHz, Mem: 297.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12
hasw@hasw rovclock-0.1a $


You can use glxgears to measure the difference (restart it between the changes, otherwise it takes a while until the new FPS is calculated).

Don't set the memory below 200 MHz otherwise it's possible that you get screen corruptions (at least on my card).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GhePeU
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 549
Location: Mestre, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works with my radeon 7500 too

Code:
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # lspci -v
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV200 QW [Radeon 7500] (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 7500
        Flags: bus master, stepping, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 16
        Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=dfec0000]
        I/O ports at a800 [size=256]
        Memory at dfef0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Expansion ROM at 00020000 [disabled]
        Capabilities: [58] AGP version 2.0
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2


Code:
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # ./rovclock -i
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x5157
I/O base address: 0xa000
Xtal: 27.0 MHz
Core: 290.25 MHz, Mem: 229.50 MHz, RefDiv: 12
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # glxgears
9431 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1886.017 FPS
9467 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1893.247 FPS
9465 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1892.815 FPS
9467 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1893.291 FPS

Code:
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # ./rovclock -c 320 -m 260
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x5157
I/O base address: 0xa000
Xtal: 27.0 MHz
Core: 319.50 MHz, Mem: 261.0 MHz, RefDiv: 12
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # glxgears
10649 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2129.773 FPS
10584 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2116.624 FPS
10602 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2120.344 FPS
10610 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2121.926 FPS

Code:
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # ./rovclock -c 170 -m 150
Radeon overclock 0.1a by Hasw (hasw@hasw.net)

Found ATI card, device id: 0x5157
I/O base address: 0xa000
Xtal: 27.0 MHz
Core: 171.0 MHz, Mem: 150.75 MHz, RefDiv: 12
KazeNoTani rovclock-0.1a # glxgears
5901 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1180.152 FPS
5886 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1177.168 FPS
5877 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1175.208 FPS
5889 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1177.389 FPS

_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie,
and with strange aeons even death may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GhePeU wrote:
it works with my radeon 7500 too



Good :) It should work upwards from chip versions R100/RV100.

I updated to version 0.2a which gets the reference clock from video BIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you going to do a gui frontend for it, or leave that to the rest of us?
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, a small GTK interface with core/memory frequency and RAM timings, profiles for games/programs and maybe some test pattern generator to detect errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riven
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet dude.

I can confirm its working on my Saphire Radeon 9000

Default: Core: 249.75 MHz, Mem: 200.25 MHz

glxgears: 9059 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1811.800 FPS
9045 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1809.000 FPS
9053 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1810.600 FPS
8920 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1784.000 FPS

OC: Core: 261.0 MHz, Mem: 220.50 MHz
glxgears: 9892 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1978.400 FPS
9891 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1978.200 FPS
9893 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1978.600 FPS
9891 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1978.200 FPS

I'll try playing UT2003 on the OC settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riven
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got a stable OC of 270/230. a little higher gave me corruption in UT2003. Definate increase in FPS.

Brilliant program mate. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DualCpuUser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I threw it in my local.start for my 9600 AIW.
_________________
-Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No go on a radeon 9500 pro. Says 'No ATI card found.'

lspci detects my card as a 9700 Pro.

Any workarounds?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, currently only the second and third PCI bus is checked for a AGP device. Can you please post the lspci output (the section with the 9700)? I'll then fix the detection routine to search for more busses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
0000:03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R300 ND [Radeon 9700 Pro] (prog-if 00 [VGA])
   Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc: Unknown device 0002
   Flags: bus master, stepping, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 255, IRQ 5
   Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
   I/O ports at d000 [size=256]
   Memory at e5000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [58] AGP version 3.0
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2

0000:03:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R300 [Radeon 9700 Pro] (Secondary)
   Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc: Unknown device 0003
   Flags: stepping, 66Mhz, medium devsel
   Memory at d8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [disabled]
   Memory at e5010000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2


Hope that helps. If I remember right, I needed to flash the BIOS with a different one to get overclocking to work for this card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it's on bus 3. I updated the program (0.4a) to search from bus 1 to 9, should work now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lego86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great piece of software. More FPS in ET;) It would be great if you would make an ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stupidfool
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem as ericxx
A 9500Pro with a moddet bios
rovclock-0.4a could not detect the card
Code:
 Bus  3, device   0, function  0:
    VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R300 ND [Radeon 9700 Pro] (rev 0).
      IRQ 5.
      Master Capable.  Latency=255.  Min Gnt=8.
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xc0000000 [0xc7ffffff].
      I/O at 0xd000 [0xd0ff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xd6000000 [0xd600ffff].
  Bus  3, device   0, function  1:
    Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R300 [Radeon 9700 Pro] (Secondary) (rev 0).
      Master Capable.  Latency=32.  Min Gnt=8.
      Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xc8000000 [0xcfffffff].
      Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xd6010000 [0xd601ffff].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, found the bug. Has only searched bus 1...

Version 0.4b available: http://www.hasw.net/linux/rovclock-0.4b.tar.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stupidfool
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Location: Hamburg Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh wow :D This was fast
Thanx great job. works now :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no go, same error. Thanks for the quick update and updating your program for me though:D

update: sorry, didn't see 4b, I'll give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works! Thank a lot! brought it up from 276 270 to 310 305 with ~300 fps increase in glxgears! I'm going to bring it up some more and report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mostly RAM on this cards are more limitated than the GPU. On my card the RAM goes from 280 up to 310, the GPU up to 380. When I increase the voltage, it reaches 440/350 :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/me kindly asks for an ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

racoontje wrote:
/me kindly asks for an ebuild


Have never written one before. I'll try it this afternoon, have to read the howtos first ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hasw, is that after volt-modding the card, or did you just change the AGP bus voltage in the BIOS? I haven't tried raising the voltage, since everywhere I read online it said that it made no difference. My RAM tops out around 310 and gets major artifacts and needs a reboot. The GPU can go up to 350-360 though.:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After hardware-modding the card. I don't think that increasing the AGP bus voltage helps a bit in this case. Maybe if you overclock the AGP bus, but not when overclocking the GPU core.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, AGP voltage does 2 things:
1-Increase chipset voltage
2-Increase AGP voltage (of course)
Both only help you reach very high FSB speeds (like in my case, where I have 180FSB on a 133 board).
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I thought. I remember a good howto for volt-modding a 9500 Pro a while back (1-2 yrs.), anyone have the link? My soldiering skills are not the greatest, but I fixed my wireless usb card after having the usb part ripped off from it:P

Would I see significant improvements (~ 400 core/350 mem) without major cooling necessities? If not, I will just stick to what I have untill I go the PCI-express route.

I gotta say though, this card still rocks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum