Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
user undervolting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you tell me the output of cpufreq-info?

this might be helpfull.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all: thx for the fast support!
Yes, the values are for my cpu, windows is running for over one month now and I never had a problem at all (except for the 700mV at 1,067GHz, but thats just for checking out)
I've changed the given sonoma section from 750 to 730

Setting X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_ACPI=n doesn't change a thing, after running make the .config is reverted to "not set".

I've tried adding annother section with 1599MHz
Code:

/* Intel Pentium M processor 730 / 1.599GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1599[] =
{
OP( 800, 812, 812, 812, 812),
OP(1067, 700, 700, 700, 700),
OP(1333, 1004, 1004, 1004, 1004),
OP(1600, 1100, 1100, 1100, 1100),
{ .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};

but in vain, the system still doesn't crash (yes, thats really a weird thing to hope for).

Could it be useful to change the freqency values in the OP(...) lines? As far as I can see the values there should be exactly the same as the bios reports (see /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies)

Apropos "a multiplier of 533": 1866/533 = 3.50094 and 1867/533 = 3.50281
1866MHz would obviously be more fitting than 1867MHz
There must be annother thing we've overseen so far!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot:
Code:

styx linux # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 797.995
cache size      : 2048 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx est tm2
bogomips        : 1576.96
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but why do you change the value for 1067 to .700? are you really using this rate? do you set it to this rate by using cpufreq-set -f 1067000?

i don't really understand your test ;)

(and i don't have a sonoma so i can't check it myself)

edit: becuase of your cpuinfo you really have a sonoma. ;)

so you have to use [CPU_DOTHAN_C0] = { 6, 13, 8 }

(6,8,13 are the values in your output)

but this doesn't help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I don't want to wait till my fan starts for "quick testing" :wink:

I simply force my cpu to 1.067GHz by typing
Code:

styx ~ # echo 1067000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed

with userspace governor enabled. At boot, the cpu is at full speed, and with issuing this command I should have a system freeze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay. what is the output of cpufreq-info? (btw: what kernel are you using?)

my output is like this:

tux-acer roman # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 0.3: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
driver: centrino
CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
hardware limits: 600 MHz - 1.40 GHz
available frequency steps: 600 MHz, 800 MHz, 1000 MHz, 1.20 GHz, 1.40 GHz
available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
current policy: frequency should be within 600 MHz and 1.40 GHz.
The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
within this range.
current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use gentoo-sources-2.6.12-r4

cpufreq-info shows a possible problem ...
Code:

styx linux # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 0.3: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
  hardware limits: 800 MHz - 1.60 GHz
  available frequency steps: 1.60 GHz, 1.33 GHz, 1.07 GHz, 800 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 800 MHz and 1.60 GHz.
                  The governor "userspace" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 1.07 GHz.

I didn't think of that :oops:
I still had the ACPI driver for processor p-states enabled (CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y)
Let's see whats going on after a recompile!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recompiling didn't help at all ...
the speedstep-centrino driver won't load :evil:
Code:

styx ~ # modprobe speedstep-centrino
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r4/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko): No such device

No difference if its compiled-in or a module
Code:

styx ~ # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 0.3: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU

Seems like the warning that ACPI-tables are mandatory for non-banias cpus should be taken seriously. Is there maybe a way to trick the driver into loading and *assuming* it uses values from ACPI tables?

Or, just the other way round: Is anyone out there whogot it working with a post-Banias Pentium M??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes of course! i have a dothan pentium m 710 ! you see it in my centrino-sppedstep file.

i don't know, why the kernel option don't do it for you. what kernel version do you have? do you make it with menuconfig or do you change the .config manually? i don't have any error at compiling!

this is the interesting part of .config:

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K6 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K7 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_GX_SUSPMOD is not set
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_ACPI is not set
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI is not set
# CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD is not set
# CONFIG_X86_CPUFREQ_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGRUN is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGHAUL is not set

#
# shared options
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_PROC_INTF=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_LIB is not set

i would say, change the frequency values and these things until the kernel compile cleanly :roll:

sorry, i don't have any better ideas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same settings ... doesn't work for me.

Things get weirder by minute ... I can't load the speedstep-centrino driver even if I enable CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_ACPI!!

It keeps reporting "no such device", so no chance to seeing the wanted "centrino" as driver for my speedstep.

My kernel does compile cleanly, no errors and/or warnings

I can only test with a reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't think thats weired. i think in your speedstep-centrino there is no entry which your kernel thinks is okay for your processor. so i would try to fix the speedstep centrino file :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BetterUnborn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it! Got it! Got it!

:D :D :D

My Bad, I got a typo in my speedstep-centrino.c ... wrote "1.6" instead of 1.60" :oops:

Now here's my interesting section:
Code:

   DOTHAN(&cpu_ids[CPU_DOTHAN_C0],1600,"1.60"),
   DOTHAN(&cpu_ids[CPU_DOTHAN_C0],1599,"1.60"),
   DOTHAN(&cpu_ids[CPU_DOTHAN_C0],1598,"1.60"),
   DOTHAN(&cpu_ids[CPU_DOTHAN_C0],1597,"1.60"),
   DOTHAN(&cpu_ids[CPU_DOTHAN_C0],1596,"1.60"),

I don't know, which one exactly is used, maybe I'll try out later.

But one cool opportunity came along: why not use the table to add new entries? Something about going *below* 800 MHz (which is in most cases over-sufficient)

Well, here it comes:
Code:

/* Intel Pentium M processor 730 / 1.60GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1600[] =
{
OP( 533, 812, 812, 812, 812),
OP( 800, 908, 908, 908, 908),
OP(1067, 1004, 1004, 1004, 1004),
OP(1333, 1100, 1100, 1100, 1100),
OP(1600, 1100, 1100, 1100, 1100),
{ .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};
#undef OP

Just added a 533MHz entry, and voila, it is used like the others

Quite annoying: in linux I can't reduce my voltages as much as under windows ... 812 mV for 800MHz is rock-solid under Windows ... in Linux I get an immediate system crash. Maybe I can improve the 908mV, but with 533MHz as the lowest entry this is almost permanently used, so I shouldn't bother too much about the 800MHz any more 8)

Now my system is quite "cool"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's cool that you got it. i hope that albright fix his problems, too.

yes, you can use lower frequencies. I use this table at the moment. my only problem ist, that you can't use voltage lower then 0.700 volt.

/* Intel Pentium M processor 710 / 1.40GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1400[] =
{

OP( 400, 700, 700, 700, 700),
OP( 600, 700, 700, 700, 700),
OP( 800, 750, 750, 750, 750),
OP(1000, 810, 810, 810, 810),
OP(1200, 870, 870, 870, 870),
OP(1400, 920, 920, 920, 920),
{ .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2496
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:35 pm    Post subject: working now!! Reply with quote

I followed rschwarze's config file more slavishly and now mine
works as well.

:P :P It's great.

this is the table I am using right now:

/* Intel Pentium M processor 733 / 1.10GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1100[] =
{
OP( 500, 700, 700, 700, 700),
OP( 600, 700, 700, 700, 700),
OP( 800, 748, 748, 748, 748),
OP( 900, 780, 780, 780, 780),
OP(1000, 812, 812, 812, 812),
OP(1100, 828, 828, 828, 828),
{ .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};

I added the 500mhz line and the system uses it ...

Now I'll try to see what kind of a difference it makes to
battery life (too bad the p7010 does not have working temp
monitors! - not even in windows).

Many thanks to rschwarze and BetterUnBorn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimatter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:36 am    Post subject: Sorry Reply with quote

Sorry for this thread necromancy, but anyway I changed my file and now my cpufreq-info has this output.

Code:

cpufrequtils 0.3: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: centrino
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
  hardware limits: 200 MHz - 1.70 GHz
  available frequency steps: 200 MHz, 400 MHz, 700 MHz, 600 MHz, 800 MHz, 1000 MHz, 1.20 GHz, 1.40 GHz, 1.70 GHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 200 MHz and 1.70 GHz.
                  The governor "userspace" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).


Then I'll enable and set the minimum acceptable frequency to 200MHz, then set the current frequency to 200MHz and yet i kept on getting snapped back to 600MHz and can't get it to go any low, nor can I get it to go to say 700MHz it has to be 600 or 800.

So I'm wondering how you guys got yours to drop even lower?


[edit]: Hardware information may be a good idea :)

Pentium-M 735 Aka 1.70 Ghz Dothan. And its an IBM Thinkpad T42, also here's my cpu freq addition to the file below

Code:

/* Intel Pentium M processor 735 / 1.70GHz (Dothan) */
/* Going to try to add a few more frequency levels for starter */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1700[] =
{
OP( 200, 988, 988, 988, 988),
OP( 400, 988, 988, 988, 988),
OP( 700, 988, 988, 988, 988),

OP( 600, 988, 988, 988, 988),
OP( 800, 1052, 1052, 1052, 1052),
OP(1000, 1116, 1116, 1116, 1100),
OP(1200, 1180, 1180, 1164, 1148),
OP(1400, 1244, 1244, 1228, 1212),
OP(1700, 1340, 1324, 1308, 1276),
{ .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};


And ofc a few other macros and so forth all over the file, it detects and changes the frequency correctly, it just won't go below 600MHz or do an "non" 200MHz step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you are right. I don't can go deeper with my frequency. He says it was deeper but when I check it, it isn't really deeper.


So, maybe it isn't possible to go to other frequencies then the normal ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimatter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rschwarze wrote:
Yes you are right. I don't can go deeper with my frequency. He says it was deeper but when I check it, it isn't really deeper.


So, maybe it isn't possible to go to other frequencies then the normal ones.


I have no idea, but iirc an recent discussion that i read about the Pentium-M is that it has several multiplier between 6 to 20x and that "speedstep" changes the multiplier from 6x to the cpu max top speed, like mine to about 17x I think. But I'm not sure why the cpu can't change frequency that are in between, like 600MHz to 700MHz then 800MHz, instead it can only do 200MHz jumps, with exception of the "odd" number for the max cpu frequency such as 1700MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me the only odd frequency i can take is 1100. i have tested them all, but only the frequencies 600, 800, 1000, 1100, 1200, 1400 work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimatter
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rschwarze wrote:
for me the only odd frequency i can take is 1100. i have tested them all, but only the frequencies 600, 800, 1000, 1100, 1200, 1400 work.


Pretty much the same results, I can only really switch to the frequency already listed/supported by the chip, so i guess this going under 600 MHz is something else, because I've seen screen shot under windows that had the cpu go under 600MHz but when i think about it, it maybe an combation of cpu frequency down to 600MHz + some form of throttling, now the throttling isn't true frequency drop but it would "appear" to the user to drop to that frequency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knefas
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 828

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I'm trying to get this working for me (1.60Mhz Sonoma). I've modified speedstep-centrino.c as said (I hope!) basically adding
Code:
/* Intel Pentium M processor 725 / 1.60GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1600[] =
{
        OP( 600,  988,  988,  988,  988),
        OP( 800, 1068, 1068, 1052, 1052),
        OP(1000, 1132, 1132, 1116, 1116),
        OP(1200, 1212, 1196, 1180, 1164),
        OP(1400, 1276, 1260, 1244, 1228),
        OP(1600, 1340, 1324, 1308, 1276),
        { .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};

/* Intel Pentium M processor 725 / 1.60GHz (Dothan) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1599[] =
{
        OP( 600,  988,  988,  988,  988),
        OP( 800, 1068, 1068, 1052, 1052),
        OP(1000, 1132, 1132, 1116, 1116),
        OP(1200, 1212, 1196, 1180, 1164),
        OP(1400, 1276, 1260, 1244, 1228),
        OP(1599, 1340, 1324, 1308, 1276),
        { .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
}

my /proc/cpu shows
Code:
delphi linux # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 798.020
cache size      : 2048 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx est tm2
bogomips        : 1568.76

I do have CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_ACPI=n but modprobe speedstep-centrino reports:
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.12-gentoo-r9/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko): Device or resource busy
anyone can help me? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't think it works as a module. try to compile it into the kernel.

you have to remove the 1,6 dothan, so that he knows which table to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knefas
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 828

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks a lot for the quick answer, in fact compiling built-in and removing dothan-1600 solved it. :) Now it is a bit cooler and much more quiet!

EDIT: unfortunately not so cool and not so quiet...just a little :|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are the voltage values you are using really the deepest values that works for you?

when you look at my values for the 1,4 dothan you will see that my values are much lower! maybe you can try to use lower voltage? because the heat is quadratic proportional to the voltage!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knefas
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 828

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/* Intel Pentium M processor 725 / 1.60GHz (Sonoma) */
static struct cpufreq_frequency_table dothan_1599[] =
{
        OP( 800, 750, 750, 750, 750),
        OP(1000, 828, 828, 828, 828),
        OP(1200, 900, 900, 900, 900),
        OP(1400, 908, 908, 908, 908),
        OP(1600, 908, 908, 908, 908),
        { .frequency = CPUFREQ_TABLE_END }
};

this is my table, I cant go any lower with 800 or I get a freeze. As you see I concentraded expecially on 800 and 1600. But the heat for 800 is the same as before.

BTW: why there are 4 voltage numbers? I've seen in your file that they are different...I set them all the same, but what that means? Can we use any voltage?

(Thanks a lot for your help!) :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rschwarze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't know what the four voltage numbers mean.

but if you have the same heat with 750 mv as with 900 mv than something is wrong. i think you should check if this is really the voltage table the kernel is using. you can do so by adding a funny new frequency, for example 170 mhz. the kernel will not really use this voltage but you will see it when you type cpufreq-info.

if you are sure, that the kernel uses this table, then the current temperature is the best you can get.

btw, which temperature do you get in idle mode? and which temperature while compiling?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 2 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum