DNS sloooooowwwww.....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kezza
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 3:25 am    Post subject: DNS sloooooowwwww..... Reply with quote

I'm a newbie to Linux and love Gentoo but am a little disappointed in Internet performance. I'm sure something is not configured correctly.

Using my dialup internet connection under Linux seems a lot more sluggish under Linux than under Windows on my PC (P4 2GHz, 768MB, Ext 56k modem on ttyS0). Under windows web-pages visibly begin to be loaded within 1s of typing in the URL; under Linux web-pages visibly begin to be loaded after 3-4s.

Ping times are as follows:

Linux:
Code:

bilbo@shire ppp # ping 203.97.33.14
PING 203.97.33.14 (203.97.33.14): 56 octets data
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=0 ttl=249 time=188.3 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=1 ttl=249 time=150.7 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=2 ttl=249 time=170.0 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=3 ttl=249 time=151.1 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=4 ttl=249 time=151.4 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=5 ttl=249 time=140.1 ms
64 octets from 203.97.33.14: icmp_seq=6 ttl=249 time=140.7 ms

--- 203.97.33.14 ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 7 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 140.1/156.0/188.3 ms

and under Windows:
Code:

C:\Documents and Settings\bilbo>ping 203.97.33.14

Pinging 203.97.33.14 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 203.97.33.14: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=249
Reply from 203.97.33.14: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=249
Reply from 203.97.33.14: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=249
Reply from 203.97.33.14: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=249

Ping statistics for 203.97.33.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 109ms, Maximum = 113ms, Average = 110ms