Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
sshd ssh file transfer confusion -- guidance needed[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:58 am    Post subject: sshd ssh file transfer confusion -- guidance needed[solved] Reply with quote

aim = transfer of files from laptop to desktop

i have started sshd in my laptop and desktop
i am able to login and browse the entire desktop ssh root@desktop ip address {internet ip address}
i am able to login and browse the entire laptop ssh root@ laptop ip address {internet ip address}
both laptop and desktop are connected to a portswich and the prot switch is connected to modem and to isp to get internet connection.

i have following problems
i login to desktop from a konsole in laptop and after passwd and all connects to desktop and able to see all folders and files in desktop. i am able to create a new folder in desktop /
i cant find files from laptop during this loin konsole. all happens in desktop.
how do i make transfer of files from laptop to desktop

another worry is as i use the internet ip address for this remote login is it possible my computer can be accessed by anybody through the internet? should i disconnect internet during file transfer?
i can just switch off the modem to disconnect.

if some other way i can do this someone help me do this.

thanks in advance
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)


Last edited by padoor on Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 1285
Location: Ashford, Kent

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are several options for transferring files over an SSH connection - scp, rsync or sftp (there are a number of sftp clients available - filezilla and some other ftp clients support sftp).

As long as you're using a good length password, with no direct root login, your SSH connection should be secure. If you've got a LAN, then you'd have to set up port forwarding before the SSH connection could be accessible from the internet anyway.
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com :: http://lug.org.uk :: http://www.linux.org/groups/ :: User Blogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can i mount the desktop in my laptop /mnt with help of ssh login
if so how to mount the loged in shell ?

if i use scp for transfer how do i give a commsnd
i need help with code examples.
source laptop /mnt/hda1/newdownloads/* destination desktop[sshd login]/mnt/hda5/newdownloads/
i am not familiar with CLI commands.
is it possible to use konqueror to conect to desktop?
i can login to either desktop or laptop to reach and browse either of them but during that time i cannot see the local files to copy to remote computer. or from remote computer to local disk
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

you can mount file by using sshfs or shfs.
There seems to be a nice Gentoo HowTo on
shfs, so I would suggest to give it a try.
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The command to transfer your data from laptop to desktop is (executed on desktop):
Code:

scp -r <username>@<laptopname>:/mnt/hda1/newdownloads/* /mnt/hda5/newdownloads/

Please replace <username> and <laptopname> with your username and laptop computer name (or IP) respectively.
In konqueror you can use fish to connect to your laptop by simply typing fish://<username>@<laptopname> into the address field.
After that you should see your files of the laptop in the browser window.
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you very much Sleipnir
it works nicely i can browse the whole laptop and copy any file from there to any local folder.
the speed of transfer is 8mb/sec
i will transpose the source and destination so i can work from laptop and transfer files to desktop . i will give it a try and get back here.
this has 50% of my requirement now thanks.
:D :D
edit :
konqueror fish:// seems to be easier to work with graphically
:D :D :D :D
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Google and
Code:
man scp
would have helped you out here :)



Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

man scp i tried but did not help much.
man can help only those who have used scp anytime prior to this. not for biginer
it gives you all options and choices one is not sure what to use.and man cab never substitute
advice from experienced people :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly is the point in your posting jcat? Yes maybe padoor could have figured out the scp stuff
reading the manual, but to find shfs or fish is hard if you have no clue what you are searching for.
The problem was solved (so please mark the problem as solved in the topic padoor) and your
posting was completely useless jcat.

EOT
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sleipnir wrote:
What exactly is the point in your posting jcat? Yes maybe padoor could have figured out the scp stuff
reading the manual, but to find shfs or fish is hard if you have no clue what you are searching for.

EOT


I didn't mean any harm by it. Only that some quick googling would probably have provided an answer within about 10 mins, instead of waiting about 2 hours!

What exactly is the point in your quoting Sleipnir? :wink:




Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sleipnir wrote:
Hello,

you can mount file by using sshfs or shfs.
There seems to be a nice Gentoo HowTo on
shfs, so I would suggest to give it a try.


after doing all said in the wiki page i get unknown filesystem shfs
for command
mount -t shfs root@laptop address /mnt/hda1/newdownloads /mnt/shfs

does it mean i have redo kernel bzImage with shfs??
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sleipnir
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@jcat:
*g* The point was that I'm fed up with this RTFM comments, if no answer is included
which probably would take you 2 minutes. But no offense intended. :)

@padoor:
The error states that the kernel module corresponding to shfs was not found. Have you
called the following command before you tried to mount?
Code:

echo "shfs" >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

I don't think you have to redo the kernel (except you disabled module loading in kernel).
_________________
A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i did all the steps
both kinds of mountings were not possible
shfsmount command was not found
mount -t shfs unknown filesystem
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum