Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"gentooEBDA is big; kernel stack overlaps LILO [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 8:22 am    Post subject: "gentooEBDA is big; kernel stack overlaps LILO [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

I tried to recompile for inclusion of additional drivers but received the following message at he boot prompt: boot "gentooEBDA is big; kernel stack overlaps LILO second stage"

It doesn't look trivial: http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2000/05/msg01410.html

Quote:
"This special area is known as the "Extended BIOS Data Area," or
EBDA. Lilo has always been configured to avoid trashing the EBDA, but
lately some machines, such as the IBM Netfinity servers, have been coming
through with large EBDA reserved areas. This is hardly surprising, since
obviously no one buys the IBM Netfinity ServeRAID to run DOS.

In order to avoid trashing the new, larger EBDA, Lilo has a compile-time
switch now that simply reserves more space at the end of the conventional
memory arena when loading a zImage kernel that would be uncompressed into
conventional memory. Since a bzImage kernel is not uncompressed into
conventional memory, the EBDA size is irrelevant to it. However, Lilo
also cannot be permitted to trash the EBDA area as scratch space, such as
a disk buffer, or even a bzImage kernel will not boot. So the protection
for large EBDA in the new Lilo is essentially a safety feature."


Yes, I do use lilo.

Please what would my next step be? I haven't tried to go any further on my own here.


Last edited by Dabble on Wed May 18, 2005 6:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dabble,

This is a feature of lilo and monolithic kernels. Lilo loads a block list of the disk blocks that need to be loaded to get the kerenl running. The bigger the kernel, the bigger the block list.

You have two options, make your kernel bzImage file smaller by moving some things out to modules or change your boot loader to grub.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for the reply! That was an unexpected lilo feature... ;)

Anyhow, some warning would have been appropriate in the manual. BTW, is it the number of modules or their sizes which are the culprit here?

Would grub be able to handle this 'infinetely'?

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dabble,

Its the total size of the kernel (and bzImage ?) thats the problem. There is not space in low memory (below 640kb) for everything that lilo needs to work.
Grub does things differently, It actually reads the /boot filesystem before its mounted by the kernel so it has no need of a block list at all. Thats why is has a range of stage1.5 files. One for each supported filesystem type.

Grub has another advantage. You don't have to run it every time you change its config file.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,

Thanks for the info! I am ready to move on to grub.

I have been searching for how to replace lilo with grub, but they seem all to be dealing with a working system.

As it stands, I can boot from the Universal CD, but not from the hard disk itself.

Do I need to recompile the lot?! Or can I install grub onto hda (lilo-talk...) from the Universal CD directly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43359
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dabble,

This is linux - you never do a reinstall because you have messed up. (Well, if you do rm -rf / as root ...[1]).

Boot the liveCD, mount your partitions, on /mnt/gentoo as per the install guide, and swap and /proc.
Do not do any partitioning or make any filesystems.

Now do the chroot steps from the install guide.
Your box is now running your install on top of the liveCD kernel. You can carry on your install as if you had never left.

Follow the guide to install and configure grub.

[1] Don't do that - it removes your entire system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I used grub-install /dev/hda

But, after the first time it was all black, with just the cursor top left

I will try again with the manual grub install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Obviously I do something wrong. I still get a black screen, with just the cursor top left.

I have hda and hdb with root (/boot) residing on hda1, i.e. (hd0,0). My graphics card is a 16MB Matrox G400 and my monitor is a 19" which handles 1280x1024-24@85 or better.

Here are my steps after booting my LiveCD with gentoo ide=nodma docache:

Code:
01 mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda2 /mnt/gentoo
02 mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
03 mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda2 /mnt/gentoo/home
04 swapon /dev/hdb1
05 mount -t reiserfs /dev/hdb2 /mnt/gentoo/var/tmp

06 mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
07 chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
08 env-update
09 source /etc/profile

10 cd /usr/src/linux
11 make menuconfig
12 make && make modules_install
13 cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
14 cp .config /boot/config-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

15 nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf
   default 0
   timeout 30
   splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
   title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
   root (hd0,0)
   kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hda1
   vga=0x31B video=ywrap, 1280x1024-24@85

16 cp /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
17 grub-install /dev/hda

18 exit
19 cd
20 umount /mnt/gentoo/boot /mnt/gentoo/proc etc
21 reboot


Any advice appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Half-victory. Grub boots, after some relevant changes to the grub.conf:

Code:
nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf
   default 0
   timeout 30
   splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
   title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
   root (hd0,0)
   kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hda1
   vga=0x31B video=ywrap, 1280x1024-24@85


After reboot, I am now welcomed by the splash image and the clock ticking from 30 secs.

Selecting the only kernel and pressing Enter... Then, after a few seconds into the boot
it crashes hard and deep, leaving a 'squarish' colour pattern on the screen. I cannot
ctrl-alt-del but need to pull the plug.

At least it boots now, but the crash is a matter of a new thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabble
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,

rather than starting a new thread I report my success with dri (direct rendering) here.

Previously, I had my Matrox G400 compiled into the kernel. Now I recompiled it as a Module and removed the ywrap line in the grub.conf. Then it worked and glxgears (formerly mesagears?) jumped from 65 frames per second to 275 fps.


[SOLVED] !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, i just would like to say that in my case it helped when i booted from the universal cd, chrooted to the /mnt/gentoo and ran
Code:

lilo

maby it is worth trying before changing bootloader and stuff, i'm very used to lilo and i don't like grub, if someone feel like me i recomend trying this manner as a very first :)
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3059
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psycepa wrote:
hi, i just would like to say that in my case it helped when i booted from the universal cd, chrooted to the /mnt/gentoo and ran
Code:

lilo

maby it is worth trying before changing bootloader and stuff, i'm very used to lilo and i don't like grub, if someone feel like me i recomend trying this manner as a very first :)
greetz


Did you even read the first post? This thread is about someone who doesn't like the feature of lilo wiping out part of the EBDA if the kernel when the kernel is big. Telling him to run the command "lilo" won't fix the problem. To actually fix the problem you would have to either switch to something (like grub) that doesn't suffer the same problem or re-write lilo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Did you even read the first post? This thread is about someone who doesn't like the feature of lilo wiping out part of the EBDA if the kernel when the kernel is big. Telling him to run the command "lilo" won't fix the problem. To actually fix the problem you would have to either switch to something (like grub) that doesn't suffer the same problem or re-write lilo.


i've read this post and IMHO this post is about someone who didn't know what to do after emerging of that error, and one of the proposals was to install grub, but in my case running lilo helped, i've also encountered that problem, ran lilo and everything was ok, besides maby some people who will encounter the problem in the future will not be liking grub, so chill'out, i've presented one of the possible solution which worked in my case, maby if the one who wrote the post knew about that there is a chance that he would not changed bootloader into grub,
if you don't have somenthing meaningful to say, don't say nothing 'cause it doesn't bring anything important into the subject
greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3059
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry man. My mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycepa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 1637
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
Sorry man. My mistake.

no problemo :) peace and gentoo for everyone :) greetz
_________________
RLUNo. 376073
bo czytac, to trzeba ze zrozumieniem (c) by psycepa
"nigdy nie kloc sie z glupcem, najpierw sprowadzi cie do swojego poziomu a potem pokona doswiadczeniem"
"Life is complex. It has its real and imaginary part."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mortis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psycepa wrote:
hi, i just would like to say that in my case it helped when i booted from the universal cd, chrooted to the /mnt/gentoo and ran
Code:

lilo

maby it is worth trying before changing bootloader and stuff, i'm very used to lilo and i don't like grub, if someone feel like me i recomend trying this manner as a very first :)
greetz



I just had this problem on my laptop and running "lilo" again fixed it.
Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiggity s
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may also encounter this problem if you have a working path to the bzImage in the .conf file for LILO but haven't run /sbin/lilo to rewrite the MBR. Did you ever do that before embarking on this long quest to switch bootloaders?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kurous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had this problem too. I had a testkernel, and a working kernel. After running the test kernel for awhile and making sure it is stable, I copied it over the normal kernel entry. The testkernel would boot, but the copied version of it would not! *Slap* always run /sbin/lilo after modifying lilo.conf or moving your kernel files around!

Changing to grub isn't necessary, long live lilo! :D
_________________
I just want to be a moderately intelligent monkey that wears a suit.... That's why I've enrolled in business school!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum