Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Re: Yet Another Cleaner - v3 (yacleaner-0.3) UPDATED AGAIN!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smoothhound wrote:
I think I have found a buglet:
Code:
[root@haggis util]\$ ./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha --pretend --delete worktmp

These are the old worktmp files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]              B
./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha: line 353: 0 + 0 + 0 +  : syntax error: operand expected (error token is " ")
[root@haggis util]\$ ./yacleaner-0.3 --pretend --delete worktmp

These are the old worktmp files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]              B
./yacleaner-0.3: line 335: 0 + 0 + 0 +  : syntax error: operand expected (error token is " ")


Apart from that, cheers! I cleared out ~0.8G of stuff with it 8)


:D

Thanks for the report. It stills happening? Could you tell me the output of a
# ls -la /var/tmp/portage/
# bash --version
? :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 320

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: .. Reply with quote

:) cleared more than 2 GB
thank you. yac is a tool that does exactly what it should. And does that well.
I like it very much ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xgates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: tacvbo Reply with quote

tacvbo nice work trying to help, but when something like this comes along it goes to show that the people running their boxes don't even know basics commands or how to clean up and do basic system cleanup.

I mean really does anyone know what these commands do:

updatedb
locate
rm -rf

and then applying them all to work and know how to do things by hand that are more proper for getting a better grasp on how to handle your system.

Again it's nice to have tired to bring something to the community but when its as simple as this all it has done is made the user more ignorant to simple tasks they should know by CLI.

This is Linux people learn how to use that ---> CLI :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:

Thanks for the report. It stills happening? Could you tell me the output of a
# ls -la /var/tmp/portage/
# bash --version
? :oops:


Strangely - it is not now happening at all! :oops: I have tried to replicate but can't trigger the same behaviour. Consider this 'Closed - Not a bug'.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WonderClown
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:39 pm    Post subject: Serious bug in yacleaner-0.2 Reply with quote

I discovered a VERY serious bug in yacleaner-0.2. If you run it twice in succession, so that on the second run there is nothing to delete, it wipes out everything in /bin. Actually, I suspect it tries to wipe out everything in /, and /bin is first, and the rest of the deletes fail because then /bin/rm is gone. You can test this bug if you like, but I suggest doing it in a chroot installation, or keep a backup of /bin and a boot CD handy.

This seems to be fixed in yacleaner-0.3, but yacleaner-0.2 is still up in the repository, and http://gentooexperimental.org/script/repo/show/70 still links to 0.2. (That's a script repository, which is how I found yacleaner. I suspect others are finding it in the same way.) I suggest that you either backport a fix to 0.2 or take it off the repository, or at least add a warning!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smoothhound wrote:
Strangely - it is not now happening at all! :oops: I have tried to replicate but can't trigger the same behaviour. Consider this 'Closed - Not a bug'.

Hem,.. Ok. :D

Weird stuff, because I dont know how it happened. :mrgreen: The arithmetic expansion should always receive a string, at least a zero. But that did'nt happened to you some time some where... If the symptoms return, consult me :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Re: .. Reply with quote

brot wrote:
:) cleared more than 2 GB
thank you. yac is a tool that does exactly what it should. And does that well.
I like it very much ;)


Thanks! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Re: tacvbo Reply with quote

Xgates wrote:
Again it's nice to have tired to bring something to the community but when its as simple as this all it has done is made the user more ignorant to simple tasks they should know by CLI.


I dont believe the same. Yacleaner as well as other tools like ecleaner do a non-human (non-simple task) work: Compare large list of files. Yac is like a comm (1) frontend for Gentoo users who wants to clean their system. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferrarif5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant script tacvbo, regained 3gig worth of space.. This tool (or one like it) definately needs to be added to the gentoolkit for sure..

Thanks again!!
_________________
Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jarealist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed that after removing packages there are usually multiple log files cleaned depending I guess on the number of times the "older version" package had been previously installed. Does it make sense to also remove all but the most recent log file for each package currently installed? If all that is needed is the log of the most recent install, then the log files could be trimmed quite a bit more. Great script by the way! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M@rijn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Zierikzee (The Netherlands)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.. Tryed the 0.3 version and i get rid of this error:

./yacleaner.sh
./yacleaner.sh: line 1: !/bin/bash: No such file or directory
./yacleaner.sh: line 312: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
./yacleaner.sh: line 312: ` echo eval rm -rf \"`eval_this portage ${1}` files\" >> '

Trying the 0.4alpha and i get this one on screen :? :

yacleaner-0.4.1alpha.sh: line 25: rather: command not found
yacleaner-0.4.1alpha.sh: line 29: ;: command not found
yacleaner-0.4.1alpha.sh: line 32: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
yacleaner-0.4.1alpha.sh: line 32: `all-mirror >'

Help ;)
_________________
Gentoo is just an Aston Martin, "Power, beauty and soul"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

M@rijn wrote:
Hmm.. Tryed the 0.3 version and i get rid of this error: Help ;)


Do you have bash installed?, Did you check the sha1sums?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkMind
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Santiago, Chile

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

very good :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v3rtigo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice:D

but it's quite slow till it gets all the things, probably faster just remove the things you don't need manualy :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesouls
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Location: In Front of My Laptop

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir, keep up the good work. Your script is one heck of a script I'd love the most when i clean my laptop files and do and update.. KEEP UP THE HARD WORK..
_________________
whitesouls

Please insert the [SOLVED] tag if your problem is solved in your respective thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwolf
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 374
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello! I am using yacleaner version 0.4.1alpha and faced a somewhat strange situation:

Look at the firefox-related entries:

Code:
# yacleaner -pv dist

These are the old dist files that I would delete:

  [ dist ]      PyQt-x11-gpl-3.13.tar.gz  749K
  [ dist ]      Python-2.4.1.tar.bz2  7.5M
  [ dist ]      baselayout-1.12.0_pre1.tar.bz2  168K
  [ dist ]      boinc_public-cvs-2005-04-17.tar.gz  4.9M
  [ dist ]      file-4.14.tar.gz  537K
  [ dist ]      firefox-1.0.6-source.tar.bz2  32M
  [ dist ]      gcc-3.4.4-patches-1.2.tar.bz2  68K
  [ dist ]      gentoo-headers-2.6.11-4.tar.bz2  24K
  [ dist ]      grub-0.95.20040823-splash.patch.bz2  40K
  [ dist ]      mozilla-firefox-1.0-4ft2.patch.bz2  8.0K
  [ dist ]      mozilla-firefox-1.0.3-ia64.patch.bz2  4.0K
  [ dist ]      mozilla-jslibmath-alpha.patch  4.0K
  [ dist ]      mozilla-launcher-1.37.bz2  8.0K
  [ dist ]      sunbird-i686-linux-gtk2+xft.tar.gz  8.3M
  [ dist ]      udev-063.tar.bz2  428K
  [ dist ]      xorg-x11-6.8.2-files-0.6.tar.bz2  12K
  [ dist ]      zlib-1.2.2.tar.bz2  364K

  [ total ]              +54 M

# eix -e mozilla-firefox
* www-client/mozilla-firefox
     Available versions:  1.0.5-r1 1.0.6-r2 ~1.0.6-r3
     Installed:           1.0.6
     Homepage:            http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/
     Description:         Firefox Web Browser

# ls *firefox*
firefox-1.0.6-source.tar.bz2        mozilla-firefox-1.0.3-ia64.patch.bz2
mozilla-firefox-1.0-4ft2.patch.bz2  mozilla-firefox-1.0.6-nsplugins.patch


The question is why does it want to remove the 1.0.6 version of firefox?

Then I upgraded firefox to 1.0.6-r2 and the problem seems to be gone:

Code:

# yacleaner -pv dist

These are the old dist files that I would delete:

  [ dist ]      PyQt-x11-gpl-3.13.tar.gz  749K
  [ dist ]      Python-2.4.1.tar.bz2  7.5M
  [ dist ]      baselayout-1.12.0_pre1.tar.bz2  168K
  [ dist ]      boinc_public-cvs-2005-04-17.tar.gz  4.9M
  [ dist ]      file-4.14.tar.gz  537K
  [ dist ]      gcc-3.4.4-patches-1.2.tar.bz2  68K
  [ dist ]      gentoo-headers-2.6.11-4.tar.bz2  24K
  [ dist ]      grub-0.95.20040823-splash.patch.bz2  40K
  [ dist ]      mozilla-launcher-1.37.bz2  8.0K
  [ dist ]      sunbird-i686-linux-gtk2+xft.tar.gz  8.3M
  [ dist ]      udev-063.tar.bz2  428K
  [ dist ]      xorg-x11-6.8.2-files-0.6.tar.bz2  12K
  [ dist ]      zlib-1.2.2.tar.bz2  364K

  [ total ]              +22 M

Can anyone explain this? Was the installed version too old or something?

Thanks ahead!
_________________
War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ketchup is a vegetable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v3rtigo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't remove firefox, it only removes the files in /usr/portage/distfiles/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwolf
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 374
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

v3rtigo wrote:
It doesn't remove firefox, it only removes the files in /usr/portage/distfiles/


Sure, but the question was, why 1.0.6, while it was the newest version of firefox in distfiles atm. I thought it should remove only old distfiles.
_________________
War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ketchup is a vegetable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani74
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for you app. There seems to be another bug in yacleaner-0.3

My $PKGDIR is set to /usr/portage/distfiles and of course the binaries are in /usr/portage/distfiles/All

When doing a
Code:
yacleaner -p all
I get
Code:
These are the old files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]             7 M
  [ log ]                 0 B
  [ dist ]                185 M
  [ binpkg ]              1 G

  [ total ]              +1 G

 * /var/log/portage is already clean.

With the -v output I can see that it tries to clean all the files in /usr/portage/distfiles.
If I do a
Code:
PKGDIR=/usr/portage/distfiles/All yacleaner --pretend all
I get
Code:
These are the old files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]             7 M
  [ log ]                 0 B
  [ dist ]                185 M
  [ binpkg ]              67 M

  [ total ]              +260 M

 * /var/log/portage is already clean.

which is the correct behaviour.

Thanks
Marco
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mani74 wrote:
Thanks for you app. There seems to be another bug in yacleaner-0.3


Seems to be an incompatible configuration. Why [ $PKGDIR == $DISTDIR ] ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gwolf wrote:
v3rtigo wrote:
It doesn't remove firefox, it only removes the files in /usr/portage/distfiles/


Sure, but the question was, why 1.0.6, while it was the newest version of firefox in distfiles atm. I thought it should remove only old distfiles.


Hum, let me play with that.
You was making some upgrade when you ran yacleaner?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwolf
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 374
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:

Hum, let me play with that.
You was making some upgrade when you ran yacleaner?


Nope, this behaviour lasted a few days already, but it ended with firefox upgrade to 1.0.6-r2. I didn't check thorougly if it happens with some other packages as well, firefox just catched the eye.
_________________
War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ketchup is a vegetable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M@rijn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Zierikzee (The Netherlands)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:
M@rijn wrote:
Hmm.. Tryed the 0.3 version and i get rid of this error: Help ;)


Do you have bash installed?, Did you check the sha1sums?


Yup
_________________
Gentoo is just an Aston Martin, "Power, beauty and soul"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dzho002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice stuff.
I have a situation here:
I ran the script,
Code:
./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha --ask --verbose dist

gaim-1.4.0.tar.bz2 is in the list.
In my system,
Code:

emerge gaim -pv
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild     U ] net-im/gaim-1.4.0-r2 [1.4.0-r1] -cjk -debug +eds -gnutls -krb4 -nas +nls +perl -silc +spell -tcltk 0 kB
Total size of downloads: 0 kB


The gaim version 1.4.0 is outdated, but the file gaim-1.4.0.tar.bz2 is still used for those "r" versions, like 1.4.0-r1, 1.4.0-r2. I am sure there are lots of other similar situations in Gentoo. (Like the firefox problem upstairs)
So, should the file be removed?
Thanks for your work.
Dan
_________________
why not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dzho002 wrote:
Nice stuff.
I have a situation here:
I ran the script,
Code:
./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha --ask --verbose dist

gaim-1.4.0.tar.bz2 is in the list.
So, should the file be removed?
Thanks for your work.

Mmmm.. maybe some kind of test made by yacleaner should be necesary in order to see if the system is upgraded or not in order to avoid that kind of behaviour. :-) Thanks for using yac! :D
Meanwhile the only recomenadation that I can say is that it's better to run yacleaner with an uptaded system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum