Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Re: Yet Another Cleaner - v3 (yacleaner-0.3) UPDATED AGAIN!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a small issue you might want to fix up:
When run as a non-root user, since /var/log/portage is denied access, the following doesn't work right:
Code:
# ./yacleaner -p log
[...]

* /var/log/portage is already clean.


Great script otherwise, thanks!
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pseud wrote:
Just a small issue you might want to fix up:
When run as a non-root user, since /var/log/portage is denied access, the following doesn't work right:

Could you post the output of a:
Code:
ls -lda /var/log/portage

You are in the portage group?
Pseud wrote:
Great script otherwise, thanks!

Thanks for using it :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh! you're right ... its my permissions that are probably wrong:
Code:
$ ls -lda /var/log/portage/
drwxrws---  2 root root 30080 Jul  9 12:56 /var/log/portage/

I wonder where else on my system I (wrongly) have gid=root instead of gid=portage...
Is there a way I can find this out?
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pseud wrote:
Ahh! you're right ... its my permissions that are probably wrong:
Code:
$ ls -lda /var/log/portage/
drwxrws---  2 root root 30080 Jul  9 12:56 /var/log/portage/

I wonder where else on my system I (wrongly) have gid=root instead of gid=portage...
Is there a way I can find this out?


Re-download yacleaner-3.0 its fixed now, it shows this msg:

Code:
* You don't have permission to access /var/log/portage.
  Perhaps you are not in 'portage' group?.

Hmm.. maybe you just should have root:portage perms on: /usr/portage/distfiles and /var/log/portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Version 0.3 "Release early and often" is out! Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:

* Now just remove old logs and worktmp files rather than clean all the log and tmp dir.

Hi, what do you mean with "remove old worktmp"? I am playing with worktmp module and
Code:
yacleaner-0.3.1 --ask --verbose worktmp
........
  [ total ]              +179 M

About 99 % from /var/tmp/portage was deleted and only 7 directories remain (dirs from interupted or unfinished emerge).

BTW: are my questions posted here redundant, crazy, stupid ... ? :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Version 0.3 "Release early and often" is out! Reply with quote

radfoj wrote:
Hi, what do you mean with "remove old worktmp"?
About 99 % from /var/tmp/portage was deleted and only 7 directories remain (dirs from interupted or unfinished emerge).

+179 M are a good amount of new free space :P

It should delete all dirs inside ${PORTAGE_TMPDIR}/portage which doesn't have a corresponding package installed.

For example:

I have installed rpc-0.98 and xfce4-windowlist-0.1.0-r1.
Code:
$ ls /var/tmp/portage
rpc-0.97  rpc-0.98  xfce4-windowlist-0.1.0-r1  xfce4-windowlist-0.1.0-r4

Then, rpc-0.97 and xfce4-windowlist-0.1.0-r4 will be erased.

In fact all `modules` for yacleaner work in that way (dist, binpkg, log, worktmp). :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Version 0.3 "Release early and often" is out! Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:

It should delete all dirs inside ${PORTAGE_TMPDIR}/portage which doesn't have a corresponding package installed.

Thanks for reply. I was worrying about fact, why after I run it, only 7 dirs remained, although I have +-500 packages on system. I am stupid boy, I tried to reemerge one package right now to see what happens in /var/tmp/portage. After succesully merge, everything related to this emerge was deleted by portage itself.

Sorry, I missed how portage behaves these days :oops: Really stupid question from me. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Re: Version 0.3 "Release early and often" is out! Reply with quote

radfoj wrote:

I tried to reemerge one package right now to see what happens in /var/tmp/portage. After succesully merge, everything related to this emerge was deleted by portage itself.


That is the correct Portage behaviour if you don't have set FEATURES="keeptemp", So the worktmp cleaning process of yacleaner is just for users who have that portage's feature enabled. Anyway it seems that there is a little portage bug because dyn_clean() function (where ${T} are cleaned) it's being ran at the wrong time when {up,down}grading, so sometimes you have "orphaned" files inside ${PORTAGE_TMPDIR}/portage even if you dont have FEATURES="keeptemp" set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Turd Furguson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am very new to Linux so I do not know how to execute this program. I have it saved as a text file currently but have no clue what to do. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesouls
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Location: In Front of My Laptop

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D ...I ran this programme and i got this:

[code]VaderX Cruft # ./yacleaner.sh --verbose --ask all

These are the old files that I would delete:
Quote:

[ worktmp ] Archive-Zip-1.14 72K
[ worktmp ] Compress-Zlib-1.33 72K
[ log ] 3493-spamassassin-3.0.4.log 28K
[ log ] 3494-spamassassin-3.0.4.log 4.0K
[ log ] 3614-spamassassin-3.0.4.log 0
[ log ] 2419-sysfsutils-0.4.0.log 40K
[ log ] 2420-sysfsutils-0.4.0.log 0K



EDIT: Sorry for making this post very long. :D
_________________
whitesouls

Please insert the [SOLVED] tag if your problem is solved in your respective thread.


Last edited by whitesouls on Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turd Furguson wrote:
I am very new to Linux so I do not know how to execute this program. I have it saved as a text file currently but have no clue what to do. :?

Most scripts like this have no graphical interface, which means nothing will happen if you just double-click it. You have to run them from a console (translated to Windows-ian: "command prompt window". like xterm, konsole, or gnome-terminal) to see the text they print out.

First open a console, then type:
Code:
cd the_directory_that_you_saved_the_file_in

This will make the script executable:
Code:
chmod +x ./whatever_filename_you_saved_it_as

And then you can run it like this:
Code:
./whatever_filename_you_saved_it_as

And that goes for just about any linux script. You just have to make it executable after you download it.

BTW, this paticular script needs root permission in order to delete files. To become root type "su", enter your root password, and then run the script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Turd Furguson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for explaining.

Here is the error I am receiving now:

laptop nate # ./yacleaner.sh
./yacleaner.sh: line 1: !/bin/bash: No such file or directory
./yacleaner.sh: line 312: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
./yacleaner.sh: line 312: ` echo eval rm -rf \"`eval_this portage ${1}` files\" >> '

I did a dir command at the prompt and it is showing the yacleaner.sh script being present in my home folder.

laptop nate # dir
Desktop cedega_4.3.2-1.i386.tgz
c yacleaner.sh
cannon.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lord Vader wrote:
:D ...I ran this programme and i got this:

[code]VaderX Cruft # ./yacleaner.sh --verbose --ask all

These are the old files that I would delete:

[ worktmp ] Archive-Zip-1.14 72K
[ worktmp ] Compress-Zlib-1.33 72K


And what's the problem? All of them are old files, so.. don't worry they could be deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Turd Furguson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am trying your 0.4 alpha build and am receiving a few odd things....

>>> Deleting old files...

* /var/tmp/portage cleaned.
* The $PORT_LOGDIR variable is not set.
* /usr/portage/distfiles was already clean.
* The directory /usr/portage/packages do not exist.

I don't know if that is how it is supposed to react or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesouls
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Location: In Front of My Laptop

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:
Lord Vader wrote:
:D ...I ran this programme and i got this:

[code]VaderX Cruft # ./yacleaner.sh --verbose --ask all

These are the old files that I would delete:

[ worktmp ] Archive-Zip-1.14 72K
[ worktmp ] Compress-Zlib-1.33 72K


And what's the problem? All of them are old files, so.. don't worry they could be deleted.


3GB went off??8O .. thank you tacvbo..i've managed to save 3GB juz like that...:D ... 2 thumbs up for this program!!!
_________________
whitesouls

Please insert the [SOLVED] tag if your problem is solved in your respective thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turd Furguson wrote:
I am trying your 0.4 alpha build and am receiving a few odd things....

>>> Deleting old files...

* /var/tmp/portage cleaned.
* The $PORT_LOGDIR variable is not set.
* /usr/portage/distfiles was already clean.
* The directory /usr/portage/packages do not exist.

I don't know if that is how it is supposed to react or not.


That's OK, :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gwolf
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 374
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:59 am    Post subject: Re: Version 0.3 "Release early and often" is out! Reply with quote

tacvbo wrote:

Grab it here: yacleaner-0.3 and please post your comments, patches and suggestions. :-)


Big thanks, it really has all the features I need atm :-)
Only one suggestion: create an ebuild and add it into portage ;-)
_________________
War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ketchup is a vegetable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bodri
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think move (with destination folder) would be a nice new action.

THX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neworld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Mass

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:21 am    Post subject: Small suggestion Reply with quote

Works well the only thing about it is that it doesn't support multiple options together
ie: yacleaner -av dist
here is one solution to change the parsing of the options in the script to:

Code:
while getopts adhpvVc o
  do case "$o" in
      a ) ask_pretend="ask";;
      d ) action_delete="yes";;
      h ) option_help="yes";;
      c ) option_color="no";;
      p ) verb="is"; ask_pretend="pretend";;
      v ) option_verbose="yes";;
      V ) option_version="yes";;
      * ) OPTIND=$i; should_exit="yes" ; show_help "${!i} is an invalid option"; break ;;
  esac
done

for ((i=$OPTIND; i<=$#; ++i)); do
  case ${!i} in
      --ask ) ask_pretend="ask";;
      --delete ) action_delete="yes";;
      --help ) option_help="yes";;
      --nocolor ) option_color="no";;
      --pretend ) verb="is"; ask_pretend="pretend";;
      --verbose ) option_verbose="yes";;
      --version ) option_version="yes";;
      binpkg ) delete_argument="binpkg ${delete_argument}" ;;
      dist ) delete_argument="dist ${delete_argument}" ;;
      log ) delete_argument="log ${delete_argument}" ;;
      worktmp ) delete_argument="worktmp ${delete_argument}" ;;
      all ) delete_argument="binpkg dist log worktmp" ;;
      -* ) ;;
      * ) OPTIND=$i; should_exit="yes" ; show_help "${!i} is an invalid option"; break ;;
  esac
done


this works all i had to do was make the short option for --nocolor be -c
_________________
-neworld
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whitesouls
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Location: In Front of My Laptop

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D Good luck for the great job. just a suggestion only. Why dont you maintain a ebuild like conky? That would be cool, dude. I knw the program is only 16kb but having an ebuild would be betteri guess :P
_________________
whitesouls

Please insert the [SOLVED] tag if your problem is solved in your respective thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Small suggestion Reply with quote

Bodri wrote:
I think move (with destination folder) would be a nice new action.


I like the idea, most probably will be in v4. I will work on it on yacleaner-0.4.1alpha :-)

neworld wrote:
Works well the only thing about it is that it doesn't support multiple options together
ie: yacleaner -av dist


yacleaner-0.4.1alpha now support multiple short options together, so the next stable version, will have that support. :-)

Lord Vader wrote:
:D Good luck for the great job. just a suggestion only. Why dont you maintain a ebuild like conky? That would be cool, dude. I knw the program is only 16kb but having an ebuild would be betteri guess :P


Humm, I will think about it, but I beleive that is better that some tool like this is get inside gentoolkit.

Thanks to all for your comments and suggestions! :-)

PD: If you use yacleaner-0.4.1alpha see the ToDo List and dropme a line (here or in my mail) with you comments and rembember that is alpha code, so take care.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Germany, Leipzig

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my small but working ebuild :)
Code:
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $

inherit eutils
DESCRIPTION="Yet Another Cleaner - unsupported portage file cleaner."
HOMEPAGE="http://gentoo.org.mx/yacleaner/"
LICENSE="GPL"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86"
IUSE=""
DEPEND="sys-apps/portage"

MY_P=${P/_alpha1/alpha}

SRC_URI="http://gentoo.org.mx/yacleaner/${MY_P}"

src_unpack() { :; }

src_compile() { :; }

src_install() {
        newbin ${DISTDIR}/${MY_P} ${PN} || die "failed to copy ${P}"
}

lefou
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacvbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 39
Location: México City

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefou wrote:
This is my small but working ebuild :)


:o Cool! Thanks :-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pseud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Lord Vader:
Could you kindly edit that huge post of yours (somewhere up in the middle of this page) and shorten it? It fills up a lot of space and doesn't provide much information to others browsing through the pages. Thanks.
_________________
eschew obfuscation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have found a buglet:
Code:
[root@haggis util]\$ ./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha --pretend --delete worktmp

These are the old worktmp files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]              B
./yacleaner-0.4.1alpha: line 353: 0 + 0 + 0 +  : syntax error: operand expected (error token is " ")
[root@haggis util]\$ ./yacleaner-0.3 --pretend --delete worktmp

These are the old worktmp files that I would delete:

  [ worktmp ]              B
./yacleaner-0.3: line 335: 0 + 0 + 0 +  : syntax error: operand expected (error token is " ")

Works for all other options. Note that I've got no idea what "worktmp" is and whether indeed I have one but it probably ought to fail a bit more gracefully :)

Apart from that, cheers! I cleared out ~0.8G of stuff with it 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum