View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:27 am Post subject: system hangs when transfering large files |
|
|
Can someone help me with finding the source of a problem with my system?
I've had my first gentoo box up for a few months now. It's always been subject to freezing when writing large files. Nothing but a power cycle will restore it, causing a fsck on reboot.
I've lost two files so far & have decided to fix this once & for all, one way or another. If I can I'd like to get gentoo running reliably because I like the idea of having everything complied & optimized. However, I'd prefer a stable system compiled for i386 to putting my data at risk.
I think something in my kernel may be the source of this. Today I was backing up some data to a spare drive. After 3 freezes & hard resets I selected a genkernel I have as a boot menu option. Running the genkernel I was able to move over 20 GB of data without a hitch.
Can someone walk me through troubleshooting this? I haven't touched hdparm. What should I be looking at first?
Best regards,
Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sith_Happens Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 1807 Location: The University of Maryland at College Park
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Gimme some more info, namely:
1) The kernel sources your using
2) The filesystem of the partition you are copying files on
3) The I/O scheduler your using on that block device _________________ "That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John5788 Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 2140 Location: 127.0.0.1
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
you should probably use a kernel source like ck-sources or nitro-sources thats aimed for desktop performance _________________ John5788 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sith_Happens wrote: | Gimme some more info, namely:
1) The kernel sources your using
2) The filesystem of the partition you are copying files on
3) The I/O scheduler your using on that block device |
Thanks for making the time, Sith.
I installed from install-x86-minimal-2005.0.iso
it's called kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 by my grub boot menu
I'm copying files to reiserfs filesystems
I don't know what I/O sheduler was the default. Can someone tell me how to check? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kmare l33t


Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 619 Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler |
the word between the [] is the scheduler you're actually using... change it with
Code: | echo "cfq" > /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler | to cfq |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sith_Happens Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 1807 Location: The University of Maryland at College Park
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 3:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When you configured with genkernel, did it save your old config as config.old? Or do you have a backup of your old "broken" kernel configuration? Why not just run diff .config config.old and see what's different between the two? _________________ "That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kmare wrote: | Code: | cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler |
the word between the [] is the scheduler you're actually using... change it with
Code: | echo "cfq" > /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler | to cfq |
OK, thanks. Details on my I/O scheduler are as follows
# cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler
noop [deadline] cfg
# cat /sys/block/hdc/queue/schduler
noop [deadline] cfg
It looks like I'm using "cfg", the one you reccomend. I'm not sure what noop [deadline] are about.
Sith_Happens wrote: | When you configured with genkernel, did it save your old config as config.old? Or do you have a backup of your old "broken" kernel configuration? Why not just run diff .config config.old and see what's different between the two? |
This sounds like a good idea. Honestly, I don't know if genkernel saved it's backup. I gave genkernel a shot out of desperation in the hopes of solving a problem with my eth0 not coming up on my first HD boot. Turned out that this was not kernal related & I had forgot to
The file you refer to does exist, but I'm not sure where it came from.
# locate config.old
/usr/src/linux-2.5.11-gentoo-r5/.config.old
#
Here is the result of the diff, but it's cryptic & beyond me.
Code: |
# diff /usr/src/linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r5/.config /usr/src/linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r5/.config.old
|
4c4
< # Tue Apr 12 17:20:06 2005
---
> # Sat Apr 9 12:14:10 2005
573,588c573
< CONFIG_AX25=m
< # CONFIG_AX25_DAMA_SLAVE is not set
< CONFIG_NETROM=m
< CONFIG_ROSE=m
<
< #
< # AX.25 network device drivers
< #
< CONFIG_MKISS=m
< CONFIG_6PACK=m
< CONFIG_BPQETHER=m
< CONFIG_BAYCOM_SER_FDX=m
< CONFIG_BAYCOM_SER_HDX=m
< CONFIG_BAYCOM_PAR=m
< CONFIG_BAYCOM_EPP=m
< CONFIG_YAM=m
---
> # CONFIG_AX25 is not set
683,684c668
< CONFIG_PHONE=m
< CONFIG_PHONE_IXJ=m
---
> # CONFIG_PHONE is not set
1201c1185
< # CONFIG_DEBUG_PREEMPT is not set
---
> CONFIG_DEBUG_PREEMPT=y
Could it be that "CONFIG_AX25_DAMA_SLAVE is not set"
Thanks again to everyone for their interest. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kmare l33t


Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 619 Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
|
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you're not using cfq, but the deadline scheduler... switch to cfq with:
Code: | echo "cfq" > /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just Code: | #echo "cfg" > /sys/block/hda/queue/schduler |
Then I ran Code: | #cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler
noop [deadline] cfg
# | & saw that nothing had changed |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bollucks l33t

Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 606
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
username wrote: | I just Code: | #echo "cfg" > /sys/block/hda/queue/schduler |
Then I ran Code: | #cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler
noop [deadline] cfg
# | & saw that nothing had changed |
That's because it is supposed to be cfq (Q not G) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bollucks l33t

Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 606
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
username wrote: | I just Code: | #echo "cfg" > /sys/block/hda/queue/schduler |
Then I ran Code: | #cat /sys/block/hda/queue/scheduler
noop [deadline] cfg
# | & saw that nothing had changed |
That's because it is supposed to be cfq (Q not G) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, I'll fling 'round some .iso files & let post the results. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, there's no improvement with cfq I/O scheduler. Thanks for the suggestion. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kmare l33t


Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 619 Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
actually I'm having high cpu loads while writing files to disk. And yes.. dma and everything is working.. I've heard somewhere that it's a problem with the kernel.. you see, we're not the only one with that bug. I'm waiting for 2.6.12 to be released hoping for a few fixes.. I think it'll be released one of those days... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sith_Happens Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 1807 Location: The University of Maryland at College Park
|
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Make sure you have the correct driver for your hard drive controller built into the kernel. Even though it didn't show up in the diff, it could be that genkernel autodetects it and loads it as a module, where as your kernel of course does not. _________________ "That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
username n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Sith. You nailed it.
I turned on VIA82CXXX chipset support my ASUS TUV4X motherboard needs & this seems to have cleared up.
Thanks also to everyone else for your ideas & interest. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|