devfs question (dvd)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Astromarine
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:30 am    Post subject: devfs question (dvd) Reply with quote

Hi. I'm a new gentoo user, and I'm trying to figure out how to set up my system to play dvds and write cds.

I have a dvd on secondary master and a cdrw on secondary slave. I have scsi emulation and udf compiled in the kernel correctly, I think. but I can't use them yet, except for reading normal cds. So instead of complaining about it, I thought I'd ask a few questions to try and sort out the problem from the start. So here's the first one.

Does devfs always put the devices in the same place? not the symlinks, I mean stuff like ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/... Can I know for certain which are the primary locations for my two drives? Assuming the cdrw is under scsi emulation, where can I find it? I'd like to know the original locations of my two drives, so I can test if it is a problem with the symlinks, set my fstab correctly, and eliminate this possibility from troubleshooting.

After I find out the original locations, should I make the symlinks in the devfsd.conf file or manually? what are the differences between the two approaches?

That's it for now. I'll make other questions once I get and try the answers to these ;)
drakonite
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK, yes, they should always have that same long name.
But, AFAIK they should also be given the same symlink also.