Ever wanted to learn programming fast?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
yamamushi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Ever wanted to learn programming fast? Reply with quote

I hope this doesn't count as spam, it shouldn't... I'm only trying to help people interested in programming.

I know that when I started programming a few years back, no one could explain concepts very well, WTF is an array? I would ask myself. I found that the problem most people have is the books they read to learn programming, there aren't very many quick resources out there that cover every topic in a clear manner. Now I know I'm going to get some replies linking to some tutorial site, etc. But the point is, there are hardly any concise resources that can give an in depth descussion to major areas of programming in a relatively short ammount of time for the complete n00b. :-P

I had the pleasure *sarcasm* of taking the computer science AP test today (as I'm sure many others did in other subjects). And for never taking a formal computer programming class, and not being very experienced with programming to begin with, I can only thank my priceless resource for helping me get through it. I purchased the Princeton Review Computer Science A/AB guide, and what it taught me with the first few pages, most of my programming books take 300 pages to teach.

Now I wouldn't reccomend it for the kind of person who needs to know exactly what is going on in the computer, but if you need to know that ( which I discovered early on) its going to be a real pain trying to learn programming at all with no prior experience. But for a book that explains variable types, operators, and control structures within 10 pages, I HIGHLY reccomend it.