Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome 2.10: no more menu-editing!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FEB
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Gnome 2.10: no more menu-editing! Reply with quote

Gnome Problems.... I can't edit my menu, not as my regular user nor as root. Googling a bit said i had to login as root, and then go to the 'foot' menu --> settings --> menu editor. well, that settings menu isn't even there. Furthermore, i've searched every preferences menu, i've tried denu (but that doesn't work either)... what can I do to make it work???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's because Gnome 2.10 doesn't include a (GUI) menu editor. You simply can't do it unless you find some third-party menu editor. Please direct all flamage to the Gnome developers for that :).
See this thread for example: http://gnomesupport.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=9392
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drysh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Apr 2005
Posts: 203
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 6:05 pm    Post subject: Why can't I edit my gnome main menu? Reply with quote

I tried the usual applications:/// ; tried to find it under System Tools, tried Configuration Editor, and there's nothing to customize the list of programs that appear in the main menu. What I'm missing?

BTW: applications:// does not exist!??? What happened?

Edit: This thread down to here merged with older thread. --Maedhros
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thagame
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 210
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your in gnome 2.10 its because that feature was removed. supposedly it will be back in gnome 2.12. theres a menu editor app out there somewhere but you cant delete and it crashes alot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HomerSimpson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 869
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check this post out.
_________________
The strong must protect the Sweet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drysh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Apr 2005
Posts: 203
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I'm using 2.10...
So, no menu editor... I guess I'll have to live with that. :(

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HomerSimpson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 869
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Drysh: did you read the post above? That is what sovled it for me on 2.10
_________________
The strong must protect the Sweet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TanNewt
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 340
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you only need a few entries, creating a few .desktop files is easy. You could also try denu but gnome 2.10 support is buggy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coren2000
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really annoying!

Some entries (like GIMP) are listed twice, some entries (like XMMS) arn't listed at all, and there is nothing I can do unless I want to get some external program.

Why on earth would the Gnome devels do this?
_________________
"The most important design issue... is the fact that Linux is supposed to be fun...". - Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:20 am    Post subject: no more easy menu editing in gnome 2.10? Reply with quote

I had gnome 2.8 for a test run this morning and was so impressed with it that i upgraded to 2.10 but theres a problem where I can't edit the menus anymore.. I used to be able to edit the content by right clicking and then going to "whole menu" then going to delete this item from menu or add item to menu, but now it just gives me docking options, how do you edit app menus in 2.10? :?

Edit: this thread down to here merged with older thread. --Maedhros
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mindfudge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnome adopted the freedesktop menu specs, but didn't have the time to include an editor in their 2.10 release. Poke around in /usr/share/applications, it's relatively straightforward to create new desktop entries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, either were not talking bout the same thing, or its not straightforward for me, anything would be ok, used to have to edit menus manually with enlightenment, just dun see how to do it here, is there a configuration file system like in enlightenment, all I see in usr/share/applications is a link of executables already set up with icons and such, no idea how to add or remove them or tell them what foldier they should go into... :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to edit the files in /usr/share/applications (take a look). It seems that there will be a gnome-menu-editor for the next releases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still not gettin the /usr/share/applications thing... those are just the applications, dun see how to edit something thats just icons... :x

I mean, it says that there are 2 "The Gimp" applications in there, y to got regestered idk, but its been like that for a while, I cant delete it cuz im not root, but cant get in through the file manager as root so I go in through the console and whoops apparently there is no file labeled "the gimp" in the foldier i'm staring at as a user that contains 2 usable app icons for The Gimp labbeled the same thing...

whoa, hold up, just realised the take a look was a link, brb.

k, ib.. So I was able to log in as root and delete teh extra Gimp shortcut, but its still a mysterie to me how to create menu entries or how it knows where to put the menu entries, do I have re emerge something with a special use flag in order to be able to add apps to the menuse?!?

bah, it's late, im cranky and got finals tomarrow, but damn, how could it be that hard to edit, in enlightenment a lot of stuff was bad, but the menus were a simple text document that you had to edit....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've merged a couple of threads here to make this the new "Why can't I edit my Gnome 2.10 menu" super-thread. :)
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-=GGW=- $ol!d $n4>|e, It's not so difficult.... to add an application you create a file (appname.desktop) in the directory /usr/share/applications ...
For example I'm going to add an entry for Links in graphic mode....

# vim links.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Links
Comment=Web Browser
Exec=/usr/bin/links2 -g www.gentoo.org
Icon=links.xpm
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Application;Network;

...and save the file. That's all :wink:
You can use this article as a guide until the gnome-menu-editor comes :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emerge x11-misc/smeg, it needs python-2.4,pyxdg-0.12 and gnome-menus-2.10.1 though, which are all masked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graphic23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lanius wrote:
Emerge x11-misc/smeg, it needs python-2.4,pyxdg-0.12 and gnome-menus-2.10.1 though, which are all masked


I tried all of them, and it said,

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/menu-editor", line 31, in ?
import pygtk
ImportError: No module named pygtk

and none of my [non-portage] python apps would work, so i unmerged python-2.4 and everything worked but smeg doesn't work... :(
_________________
Sincerly,
Graphic23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lanius, nice app, thanks for the info :P

graphic23 wrote:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/menu-editor", line 31, in ?
import pygtk
ImportError: No module named pygtk

Reemerging dependencies (pygtk gnome-python pyxdg) fixed that for me. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graphic23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrmm
Code:

bash-3.00 ~ $ smeg
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/smeg", line 31, in ?
    from DialogHandler import DialogHandler
  File "/usr/lib/smeg/DialogHandler.py", line 28, in ?
    import pygtk
ImportError: No module named pygtk


its still there... but i am not in need of it right now.. So no worries.
_________________
Sincerly,
Graphic23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uppsss, I don't know. I was getting that error, so reemerged pygtk. After that I was getting another error "No module named gconf", so I reemerged all dependencies, and that solved the problem... Could be this problem similar to this other? I'm sooo ignorant... :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graphic23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. It might be the problem.. :)
_________________
Sincerly,
Graphic23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's most likely, that you updated to python-2.4 but didn't run python-updater to rebuild the modules

btw. smeg-0.7.2 was released, lot of bugfixes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graphic23
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lanius wrote:
It's most likely, that you updated to python-2.4 but didn't run python-updater to rebuild the modules

btw. smeg-0.7.2 was released, lot of bugfixes


Thanks. I'll try it! I did not know I was supposed to run python-updater.
_________________
Sincerly,
Graphic23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simkin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also didn't know about python-updater. It works fine now.
Thanks, lanius :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum