Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
war3 - really slow
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crazedcougar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 144
Location: GMT -5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: war3 - really slow Reply with quote

Hi,

I just installed cedega (got dri working today, yay!) and have got it to start the warcraft III TFT from my windows drive. It starts, but even on the first screen, the cursor will barely move (so slow).

Glxgears gives:
Code:
peter@durnt ~ $ glxgears
3637 frames in 5.0 seconds = 727.400 FPS
4240 frames in 5.0 seconds = 848.000 FPS
4187 frames in 5.0 seconds = 837.400 FPS
4251 frames in 5.0 seconds = 850.200 FPS


My system: Amd64 3000+, Ati radeon 9600SE, 512mb PC3200, nforce3 250 board. Isn't that sort of low, what have I got wrong? Ask me and I will post any config files ASAP.

Thanks,
--Peter

PS I've seen that you can install war3 with wine, but it wont compile with amd64, am I wrong about this?
_________________
crazedcougar@gmail.com


Last edited by crazedcougar on Sat Apr 16, 2005 2:41 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dais
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 977
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

er .. you really should check your xorg.conf .. with my athlon tbird 1200 and GeForce 4 TI4200 I have like 3000+ FPS in glxgears ..
_________________
Tout ce que je suis n'est que cause
Tout ce que je suis n'est que conséquence
Pourquoi s'attacher à toutes ces choses
Pourquoi continuer dans la souffrance ?

-
Shiki Soku Ze Ku, Ku Soku Ze Shiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dgege
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running this command :
glxinfo | grep rendering
And see if you really have direct rendering enabled.

Georges.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got a 2005 version of wine to compile on amd64 but that was at work so I probably can not test if warcraft 3 works...

On my home system which is a Dual processor AMD 2200 MP with 2 GB of PC 2100 ECC, war 3 runs great under wine even with a Geforce 2 mx 440 card.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedcougar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 144
Location: GMT -5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, and thanks for the replies
Direct rendering is on, thats why i'm a little confused about the low fps..

drescherjm, I'm currently running 2004.3, would i have to do a total reinstall with the 2005 livecd? or is there an easier way?

Here is my xorg.conf (genertad by fglrxconfig)
EDIT: it was too long, you can see my xorg.conf here: http://routetruck.com/xorg.conf

Thanks,
--Peter
_________________
crazedcougar@gmail.com


Last edited by crazedcougar on Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedcougar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 144
Location: GMT -5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

new info!

from a post on transgaming website:

Code:
Hello everybody! I am very happy right now :D . I just re-compiled the newest stable version of x.org (6.8), but this time i used the USE flags "mmx sse 3dnow" (all features of my athlon XP) i use to get 50 fps in small areas in CS: Source and now i get 80-90fps in small areas... i use to get down to about 20fps in large areas with people, now i get lowest 49fps.... so if you got an athlon, do this now (im not sure what Pentium 4s have)


Here are my flags:

Code:
[ebuild   R   ] x11-base/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1  (-3dfx) (-3dnow) +bitmap-fonts -cjk -debug -dlloader -dmx -doc +font-server -hardened -insecure-drivers -ipv6 -minimal (-mmx) +nls +opengl +pam -sdk (-sse) -static +truetype-fonts +type1-fonts (-uclibc) -xprint +xv 0 kB


can people (low fps and high) post theirs? this could be something...

btw here is the entire thread
http://transgaming.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1926

Thanks,
--Peter
_________________
crazedcougar@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
drescherjm, I'm currently running 2004.3, would i have to do a total reinstall with the 2005 livecd? or is there an easier way?


No total install. The last livecd I installed was on my system was 2004.1. You can easily update portage by doing an emerge sync then possibly an emerge -u world.

WARNING: If you took a shortcut and used ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86 ..." emerge <somepackage> instead of adding an entry in /etc/portage/package.keywords and then running emerge this will downgrade parts of your system.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedcougar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 144
Location: GMT -5

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you tell when you have upgraded to 2005? What packages need changing.... I'm using gcc 3.4.3.20050110-r2, the latest (i think) available for amd64, should i use gcc 4?

My upgrade for world is stuck, when i try and compile gedit (and a couple other proggys) i get this error:

Code:
grep: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.3/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
/bin/sed: can't read /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.3/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.3/libstdc++.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[4]: *** [libspell.la] Error 1


I have libstdc emerged sucessfully, what could be causing this error?
_________________
crazedcougar@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
how do you tell when you have upgraded to 2005?

I do notr know any formal way. But if you keep all your packages at the latest stable version you have at least 2005.0 though.


Quote:
should i use gcc 4?


No, unless you like living dangerously do not update to gcc 4.0. gcc 3.4.3 is the latest stable version.


As for your problem with emerge world: Did you do a search for libstdc++ in this forum? I know I have seen/ had this problem in the past and the fix was a one or two liner.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tscolari
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 602
Location: curitiba - pr - Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got this too, bud suddently it started work normally...
it was very strange
_________________
------------------------------------
Tiago Scolari
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2779
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is help for the libstdc++ problem:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2269363.html

So this shold fix it for you:

Code:
fix_libtool_files.sh 3.4.3

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedcougar
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 144
Location: GMT -5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, that fixed the problem
_________________
crazedcougar@gmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum