Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[FIXED] Booting LiveCD 2005.0 with a USB CD-ROM Drive
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
obijuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:36 pm    Post subject: [FIXED] Booting LiveCD 2005.0 with a USB CD-ROM Drive Reply with quote

*** UPDATE - changed /dev/sr0 to /dev/ram0 in the last part (bolded) below. Sorry 'bout that.

After pulling my hair out (what's left anyway), I got this thing working. I saw other posts that say it just won't work with this release. Here's what I did:

After dropping to the mini-shell:

Determining root device...
The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Please specify a device to boot, or "shell" for a shell...
boot() :: shell

Checked to see that the USB CD-ROM was found

cat /proc/scsi/scsi
cat /proc/scsi/usb-storage/0 [your number here may vary]
cat /proc/sys/dev/cdrom/info [I found my drive name was "sr0"]
ls -l /dev/sr0 [shows that the device doesn't exist]
cat /proc/devices | grep sr [shows me the major node (?), mine is "11 sr"]
mknod /dev/sr0 b 11 0
exit

Then, it asks again for the boot device:

boot() ::

this time, I entered "/dev/ram0" and it booted into the livecd!

Hope this helps someone.

0bijuan


Last edited by obijuan on Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GordSki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem with using a pendrive https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-320512-highlight-.html. If the device node isn't getting created I guess that means it is a problem with udev in the initrd.....

G.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
obijuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I responded to your other thread...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acyclic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.

I'm having the similar problems with the external CD-ROM. obijuan, I followed what you did and did the same (mine was also sr0, 11...)
However, mine resulted in some errors:

boot() :: /dev/sr0
>> Mounting root...
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/sr0 is write protected, mounting read-only
mkdir: Cannot create directory `/newroot/tmp': Read-only file system
mknod: /newroot/dev/console: No such file or directory
>> Bootingpivot_root: pivot_root: No such file or directory
./linuxrc: 497: /tmp/.initrd/bin/[: not found
/linuxrc: 497: /tmp/.initrd/bin/[: not found
/linuxrc: 497: /tmp/.initrd/bin/[: not found
./linuxrc: 504: cannot open dev/console: No such file
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Can anyone help? I'm too much of a noob to figure out why I'm getting some of these... obviously the cd is read-only :P

Or alternately... I happen to have an old Gentoo UT2003 gamecd. I can manage to boot off that by specifying /dev/sr0, and then insert and access the 2005 livecd, but then I don't know how to go about with the installation... nothing is mounted to /newroot/mnt/gentoo, and I don't have a fdisk to use.

So if anyone can help me, in either case, it would be much appreciated. I'm trying to get a dual boot on my tablet, which has no internal cd or floppy drives.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
obijuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I think I have a typo - try typing /dev/ram0 instead of /dev/sr0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acyclic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, makes much more sense... worked perfectly! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Giovanni1733
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Can't enter the verbose mode after booting with /dev/ram0 Reply with quote

[/list][/list]I've done all the procedure you've explained and everything is fine (finally!!)
The only problem is that after booting using "/dev/ram0" i can't enter the verbose mode even if i immediately type the F2 key. The program starts with the default keybord map without even asking me which one I want to choose...

How can I change the keyboard map when i'm in loggen in the "livecd root #"??

I'm completely new to the world of Linux, and probably this is a stupid question, but please help me if you can!!

Thank you very much for your precious help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
green14
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not find "ram0" in /dev, and I can not boot from /dev/ram0.

I make a new ram0.
Code:

cat /proc/devices | grep ram (find the major number of ram, it is number 1)
mknod /dev/ram0 b 1 0


after doing this, I can boot from /dev/ram0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andy64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Can't enter the verbose mode after booting with /dev/ram Reply with quote

Giovanni1733 wrote:
[/list][/list]I've done all the procedure you've explained and everything is fine (finally!!)
The only problem is that after booting using "/dev/ram0" i can't enter the verbose mode even if i immediately type the F2 key. The program starts with the default keybord map without even asking me which one I want to choose...

How can I change the keyboard map when i'm in loggen in the "livecd root #"??

I'm completely new to the world of Linux, and probably this is a stupid question, but please help me if you can!!

Thank you very much for your precious help!


Just enter
Code:
loadkeys de

to get the German keyboard layout. For another layout exchange "de" with your country code...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonhuman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 236
Location: Washington DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy shit, thankyou!
_________________
"Ambition is a poor excuse for not having sense enough to be lazy." -Edgar Bergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MACHINE
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 141
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 4:10 pm    Post subject: *UPDATE* Reply with quote

1. insert the liveCD into your external cdrom
2. type "gentoo doscsi [enter]"
3. shell
4. type "udevstart [enter]" and exit
5. type "/dev/ram0 [enter]"
_________________
Hi, Gentoo men!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:56 pm    Post subject: Re: *UPDATE* Reply with quote

MACHINE wrote:
1. insert the liveCD into your external cdrom
2. type "gentoo doscsi [enter]"
3. shell
4. type "udevstart [enter]" and exit
5. type "/dev/ram0 [enter]"
thanks for your help. it really works!
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonhuman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 236
Location: Washington DC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This no longer works with the 2005.1 install cd. Any hints?
_________________
"Ambition is a poor excuse for not having sense enough to be lazy." -Edgar Bergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lieut_data
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: [Waterloo|London] Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nonhuman wrote:
This no longer works with the 2005.1 install cd. Any hints?


Same problem, with 2005.1 x86, after following the above instructions:

boot() :: /dev/ram0
>> Mounting root...
mount: Mounting /dev/ram0 on /newroot failed: Invalid argument
!! Could not mount specified ROOT, try again
!! The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
henryzhou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:28 am    Post subject: HELP Reply with quote

I meet the same problem...

Any hints? Now I can't continue to install gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lieut_data
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: [Waterloo|London] Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Follow the thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-369937.html for updates to the 2005.1 USB Booting Issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum