Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo won't boot after adding memory (2GB now)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ReD-BaRoN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:01 pm    Post subject: Gentoo won't boot after adding memory (2GB now) Reply with quote

I added more memory to my system to take me up to 2GB. Sparc no longer boots. I saw in this thread, the user had to remove 1GB of his memory to get the system to work.

How can I get Gentoo on Sparc to run with 2GB?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of system? And did you follow the book for memory order and layout?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReD-BaRoN
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a U60. I've filled all the slots with 128MB modules. OpenBoot sees the 2GB, and get's to the ok: prompt. I get to SILO, and then it says something about loading kernel into memory and then says Data Access Error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a Sparc person (just x86 for now) but this seems odd:
ReD-BaRoN wrote:
then it says something about loading kernel into memory and then says Data Access Error.
Perhaps your memory is bad?
_________________
~~ Peter: Brony, GNU/Linux geek, caffeine addict, and Free Software advocate.
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenTimJS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2003
Posts: 406
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would suspect that a single stick of all that ram is faulty.

I have a SB1000 which is maxed out with 256meg sticks (2 gigs total) but at one point a single stick was flakey and needed replacing. It wasnt obvious at first, but after my solaris install was being less stable than windows ... I realised something was seriously wrong ;-)
_________________
-Tim Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cooldje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !

I have 16x128Mb modules with a E250 and gentoo works fine :)

seems to have bad memory :)

A+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum