Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] NVidia .7174 and Gentoo AMD64 2005.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:47 am    Post subject: [HOWTO] NVidia .7174 and Gentoo AMD64 2005.0 Reply with quote

I'm extremely happy with my experience with Gentoo thus far. X is smooth and KDE3.4 is nice. (as is my fluxbox, I just tend to migrarte back and forth, I like KDE's easy just type and go setup and I love fluxbox's high-end, low-footprint, self.) The builtin NV driver support was very nice for my non-opengl software and work computer... But then I wanted more. I wanted OpenGL. I wanted Games. I wanted to ditch Ms. Windows and look up Ms. Linus. So I worked through many problems (with the help of many wonderful people on the forums) and got it working. So now. I'm writing this little Howto to attempt to collate what all I've done and found out. This might seem reduntant with Nvidia Offical documention, however I found it slightly lacking on certian points (it didn't work excatly for me) so I felt this was the best way to address all this. Now. Please be patient as this is my very first attempt at giving back somewhat to the community.
One final note. If this post is not helpful, feel free to remove it :P If it is or you want to add to it, feel free to respond or PM ;)
This is not:
    How to compile something.
    How to emerge software.
    How to troubleshoot Xorg.

And I will be assuming:
    You have Xorg installed along with your favorite window manager, with appropiate OpenGL support (If not, do so and we'll be waiting on ya ;)
    You have a basic grasp of the portage system
    You know how to edit a config file


First let's make sure, just to be safe, that Nvidia isn't loaded.
Code:
bash-2.05b$ lsmod |grep nvidia
nvidia               4561628  12
bash-2.05b$


If you saw nvidia loaded then we need to remove it first from memory (saves time later when switiching)
Code:
rmmod nvidia


Now to get the lastest version of the nvidia drivers.
Add:
Code:
=media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.7174       ~amd64
=media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.7174-r1       ~amd64

to your /etc/portage/package.keywords file.
Now we do the following:
Code:
bash-2.05b$ emerge -v nvidia-kernel nvidia-glx -p

Review the packages that portage reports and make sure it's the .7174 versions. When you're satisifyed, remove the -p from the end.
Meet back here after that ;)
Done? Congrats. Good job, On we go.

The next thing to do is to setup our OpenGL libraries to point to our newly installed Nvidia libraries. This is done by:
Code:
bash-2.05b$ opengl-update nvidia
There you are. All done.
Now there is only one step left.

HOWEVER, FIRST: Ensure that you have PCI Hotpluging enabled in your kernel.
Now I don't know why, but the Nvidia drivers REQUIRE the PCI Hotplugging to be enabled. IF you go through the above steps and you've already done the last step, which is modifying the xorg.conf file (and is what we're about to do now), and Xorg reports:
Quote:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
Then missing PCI Hotplugging is probably the cuase.

Now on to the last step:
Open /etc/X11/xorg.conf and find the lines for your display enteries. They will be similar to :
Code:
# Device configured by xorgconfig:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "<SOME TEXT HERE>"
    Driver      "nv"
    #VideoRam    262144
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

Of major note is the 'driver' change it to be similar to:
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "<SOME TEXT HERE>" ## DO NOT CHANGE THIS (or you will need to change the Screen setting too)
    Driver      "nvidia"
    Option      "NvAGP" "1" # use nvidias agp - 1 , agpgart -2 , agpgart,nvagp -3
    Option      "NoLogo" "true"
    Option      "NoRenderExtension" "false"
    Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option      "AllowGLXWithComposit" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadow" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
    Option      "BackingStore" "true"
EndSection

Now one more change. Enabling GLX. Scroll back to the top of the config file to the modules section and make sure DRI is DISABLED (that is has a # sign in front of it. And that GLX is ENABLED (no # )

There you are! Save your changes and try it out!
Also as responded by a user of this howto, there is sometimes an issue with the default depth so I will list the response below:
AnlaShok wrote:
[...]Then just now I chanced across this post in this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-321141.html

NeddySeagoon wrote:
brent_weaver,
Your DefaultDepth in your xorg.conf must be 16 or 24 for GLX to start.
Like this:-
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
#    Device      "* Generic VESA compatible"
    Device      "NVIDIA GeForce"
    Monitor     "CTX 950ST"
    DefaultDepth 16
Adding that DefaultDepth line solved all my problems, it worked brilliantly the first time, straight into X at 1280x1024-24bit, nvidia working, glxinfo working everything working. [....]

I hope this helps someone. Thanks again to all those who have helped. And thanks to Alton whom first tipped me off to trying the PCI Hotplugging bit.

And again if anyone wants, feel free to respond with corrections/updates/etc..


Last edited by Lin-Darian on Tue Apr 12, 2005 8:10 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewd18
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rmmod nvidia


I thought with 2.6 kernels you were supposed to use "modprobe -r" to remove modules?

Code:
=media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.7174       ~amd64
=media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.7174-r1       ~amd64


That's great and all, but nvidia-settings is still in 6176, if I'm not mistaken. Have you noticed any issues with that version mismatch?

~~ Andrew D.
_________________
Keep Your Toolchain Stable! - emwrap.sh

There's no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acutally rmmod and modprobe -r both work on my system. But that's a good thing to mention. And acutally I have not once emerged nvidia-setting. I've found it's not really required to get nvidia-glx working.

So no I've run into no version problems personally.

But yes,
Code:
[ebuild  N    ] media-video/nvidia-settings-1.0.6629  798 kB
ATM Settings is still .6629

{EDIT}

I just emerged the above and it worked flawlessly on my system and I use the 1.0.7174 nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx.

{EDIT2}
I tested the nvidia-settings even under load and in various other ways for little over 45 minutes and it was rock solid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wHAcKer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 228
Location: Grimbergen, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx for reporting the pci hotplugging part, couldn't get my nvidia module to work as you described...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewd18
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I just emerged the above and it worked flawlessly on my system and I use the 1.0.7174 nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx.


Okay. Just wondering. Thanks. :)

~~ Andrew D.
_________________
Keep Your Toolchain Stable! - emwrap.sh

There's no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WuppieCat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 38
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
That's great and all, but nvidia-settings is still in 6176, if I'm not mistaken. Have you noticed any issues with that version mismatch?


nvidia-settings-7167 is also available in portage currently masked by ~* keyword, I am using that version with the 7174 nvidia drivers without any problems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shuiend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was getting the could not load driver error so I compiled the pci_hotplugging support into my kernel and tried again and I still get the same error. When I do dmesg it tells me I need to use a 2.6.11 kernel or higher which I mam currently using. Would you have any other ideas as to whats wrong with loading the driver. By the way I am using a pci express card so that means nvagp is set to 0 correct?

I will post all error messeages hopefully later tonight once I get my computer back up and running. Currently its down because my room is being painted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shuiend wrote:
I was getting the could not load driver error so I compiled the pci_hotplugging support into my kernel and tried again and I still get the same error. When I do dmesg it tells me I need to use a 2.6.11 kernel or higher which I mam currently using. Would you have any other ideas as to whats wrong with loading the driver. By the way I am using a pci express card so that means nvagp is set to 0 correct?

I will post all error messeages hopefully later tonight once I get my computer back up and running. Currently its down because my room is being painted.


Well the first thing you can try is setting it to "1" this tells it to use the NVidia specific transport. I think (NOTE I THINK) the PCI internal NvAGP supports transport from PCI. And since the Card Using nvAGP is using PCI Hotplug... I think it should be a "1"

Otherwise post the messages and we'll see if anyone can help you out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice post Lin-Darian.

I was wondering about the card options you have proposed;
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "<SOME TEXT HERE>" ## DO NOT CHANGE THIS (or you will need to change the Screen setting too)
    Driver      "nvidia"
    Option      "NvAGP" "1" # use nvidias agp - 1 , agpgart -2 , agpgart,nvagp -3
    Option      "NoLogo" "true"
    Option      "NoRenderExtension" "false"
    Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option      "AllowGLXWithComposit" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadow" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
    Option      "BackingStore" "true"
EndSection


1. why would you change default behaviour of the NvAGP (3 is the default), on x86_64 system you are much better of using kernel AGPGART
2. by setting RenderAccel to true the NoRenderExtension is implied to be false
3. what good does the BackingStore setting bring?

Cheers
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GimpBrush
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great post someone have the same for the sound in nforce4 ?:oops: :oops: :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shuiend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I went and installed a vanilla kernel off kernel.org and the nvidia driver worked fine after that. So I am not sure what I did to fix it. GimpBush for the sound on the nforce4 you just use the intel driver in alsa section of the kernel. Make sure u emerge alsa-utils though so u can raise the volume and whatnot. Standard it comes muted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Birtz wrote:
I was wondering about the card options you have proposed;
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "<SOME TEXT HERE>" ## DO NOT CHANGE THIS (or you will need to change the Screen setting too)
    Driver      "nvidia"
    Option      "NvAGP" "1" # use nvidias agp - 1 , agpgart -2 , agpgart,nvagp -3
    Option      "NoLogo" "true"
    Option      "NoRenderExtension" "false"
    Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option      "AllowGLXWithComposit" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadow" "true"
    Option      "CursorShadowAlpha" "32"
    Option      "BackingStore" "true"
EndSection

1. why would you change default behaviour of the NvAGP (3 is the default), on x86_64 system you are much better of using kernel AGPGART
2. by setting RenderAccel to true the NoRenderExtension is implied to be false
3. what good does the BackingStore setting bring?

Cheers


The qouted options are just the ones I found to be the most stable. They're probably not optimized for best preformence, honestly. the NvAGP setting to 1 tells the card to use it's internal AGP which in most cases is abit more stable (in my experience, could be wrong) and usually causes the card atleast work. And the BAckingStore. Huh. Ya know..lol, it's really was an option in the NVIDIA example xorg.conf hehe :oops: But these are the options that were rock solid for me so I was proposing them for a first time setup. For best performence you probably want (and should) modify that section to whatever give you the best performace. After you have a working conf you can tweak it all you like =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Little Nemo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 623
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Re: [HOWTO] NVidia .7174 and Gentoo AMD64 2005.0 Reply with quote

Lin-Darian wrote:
Now one more change. Enabling GLX. Scroll back to the top of the config file to the modules section and make sure DRI is DISABLED (that is has a # sign in front of it.


Why would you want to disable direct rendering (DRI)? I see no reason for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's ment to be a starting point. For me, DRI caused several issues I didn't really want to take the time to work out. And my games play fine without it. So I disable it in this HowTO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WuppieCat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 38
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Why would you want to disable direct rendering (DRI)? I see no reason for it.


because the Nvidia Readme tells you to...
from the nvidia-glx readme:
Quote:
In the Module section, make sure you have:

Load "glx"

You should also remove the following lines:

Load "dri"
Load "GLcore"

if they exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:23 pm    Post subject: Re: [HOWTO] NVidia .7174 and Gentoo AMD64 2005.0 Reply with quote

Little Nemo wrote:
Lin-Darian wrote:
Now one more change. Enabling GLX. Scroll back to the top of the config file to the modules section and make sure DRI is DISABLED (that is has a # sign in front of it.


Why would you want to disable direct rendering (DRI)? I see no reason for it.


Mainly because the module does that for you -- DRI is something in the kernel, check menuconfig for it. The module means that you don't need this anymore, plus it might get in the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewd18
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 364
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm happily running the latest nVidia kernel module and glx, and one edition back in settings, but you're right, it hasn't mattered. And I'm happy to report it's stable, and my framerates went up. I can now run NWN with full 8x anti-aliasing @ 1024x768 on a remote multiplayer server, with no video-related lag whatsoever. Going to go test 1280x1024 now. *bwahaha*

Thanks for the excellent how-to. :)

And yes, DRI has to be off. It can cause problems with the nvidia module not loading, stability issues, or just plain nasty rendering. While DRI does mean Direct Rendering Interface, it's for ATI cards... the nvidia kernel module and the nvidia glx combo does all the direct rendering for nVidia cards. And it does it without all the ATI hassle. *heh*

Go nVidia.

~~ Andrew D.
_________________
Keep Your Toolchain Stable! - emwrap.sh

There's no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.ed
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A little addition for u nvidia users:

Quote:
# **********************************************************************
# Refer to the xorg.conf(5x) man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this section is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************

# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"
EndSection

# Load rendering and composite modules
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
Option "RENDER" "Enable"
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present:

# Standard VGA Device:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Standard VGA"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
Driver "vga"
EndSection

# Device configured by me:
Section "Device"
Identifier "XFX Geforce 6600 GT"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 131072
BusID "PCI:64:0:0"
Option "NvAGP" "0" # 0=no AGP, 1= Nvidia AGP, 2=AGPGART, 3=AGPGART/Nvidia
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "1"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "1"
Option "HorizSync" "DFP-0: 30-92"
Option "VertRefresh" "DFP-0: 56-85"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "1"
Option "NoPowerConnectorCheck" "1"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, TV"
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection


These settings i use with the 6629 driver version and work very fine for me... Tried the 7167 and the 7174, but they r a no go on my EMT64 system (tried everything, even a re-install!!).

Explanation:

Option "NoBandWidthTest" "1"
Option "NoPowerConnectorCheck" "1"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, TV"
These settings speed my xorg startup, cause it tells xorg to skip searches!!! (It actually does speed up X)

BusID "PCI:64:0:0"
This way xorg doesn't have to probe ;-)

Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "1"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "1"
To enable rendering, composite and 3d video overlay

Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
To use the custom modelines defined in my xorg.conf
_________________
(Ex-Pornstar)


Last edited by mr.ed on Thu May 19, 2005 8:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tscolari
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 602
Location: curitiba - pr - Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what should i use for pci-express cards??
_________________
------------------------------------
Tiago Scolari
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.ed
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

read my post above:

I got a XFX 6600GT pci-e!!!
_________________
(Ex-Pornstar)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnlaShok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there everyone.

I've been following all the different posts regarding getting nvidia X drivers working since atleast monday, all with no success.
I've re-emerged nvidia-glx/kernel multiple times, rewritten xorg.conf over and over, switch opengl-update to xorg-x11 or nvidia in all the possible different combinations trying to get nvidia to work, all without success.:?

Then just now I chanced across this post in this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-321141.html

NeddySeagoon wrote:
brent_weaver,

Your DefaultDepth in your xorg.conf must be 16 or 24 for GLX to start.
Like this:-
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
#    Device      "* Generic VESA compatible"
    Device      "NVIDIA GeForce"
    Monitor     "CTX 950ST"
    DefaultDepth 16


Adding that DefaultDepth line solved all my problems, it worked brilliantly the first time, straight into X at 1280x1024-24bit, nvidia working, glxinfo working everything working. :D :D :D

Can we get that added to the HOWTO as a section that definitely needs to be in the xorg.conf file to get nvidia drivers working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not ran into that particular issue but I'll append that to the HowTo. ;) never hurts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quatebriga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:29 am    Post subject: Problem solved Reply with quote

THNX for a very easy and clean man to upgrade my AMD64 system to new kernel (2.6.11-r6) !
I had serious problems, trying to make nvidia work. A hint for hotplug PCI an how to set everything took me only 5 minutes afterwords. culd this post be made sticky ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:17 am    Post subject: White screen on my Nvidia Geforce4 go440 Reply with quote

Hi!,
I've got a zv5000 with an nvidia geforce4 go440 and I can't use any driver above 6111. All them just give a black/white screen with no fonts. I've followed the HowTo and nothing get solved and i already have the DefaultDepth Option on my xorg.conf.

If i kill Xserver when it happens it shows me some font warning errors.

Someone has solved the same problem!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin-Darian
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@darky: Could you post part of the acutal errors?

@quatebriga: Well, I can't make it sticky, but I am glad that it helped you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum