Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge fails, can't find /usr/qt/3/lib, only lib64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:55 pm    Post subject: emerge fails, can't find /usr/qt/3/lib, only lib64 Reply with quote

Code:
  Autodetected platform linux-g++...
QTDIR is set to /usr/qt/3, but library directory /usr/qt/3/lib does not exist!


And it doesn't, but /usr/qt/3/lib64 does exist.

I was re-emerging world (emerge -e after changing a bunch of USE flags) and this failed 9 hours into the build. The specific app that was building was doxygen, but that may not be relevent.

My original install was with 2004.3, but I've since updated to 2005. Dunno how much different that makes.

Is there a setting or other misconfiguration that I should look at so that QTDIR is set correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koroumel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks to me that you should emerge some of the emul-linux-x86-* packages. Maybe "emul-linux-x86-baselibs"?

I hope this fixes it!
_________________
"Yep linux is an alternative. Windows on the other hand isn't even an option"
Registered Linux User No #242616
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may try doing that again. I did emerge those early in the install, but that was before I migrated to 2005. Don't know if that made a difference, but it's worth exploring.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgarcia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Bakersfield, CA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see from another thread that someone has solved this problem by making a symlink from lib64 to lib.

This seems inelegant to me (and if that is the "correct" solution it should be handled when emerging qt) but if it works I'll go for it when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackwhite
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when upgraded to 2005.0, many guys encountered such a problem. I encountered in IA32 and AMD64 system both.
PS, reemerge qt will solve this problem.


Last edited by blackwhite on Wed Mar 30, 2005 8:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koroumel
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 339
Location: Athens, Greece

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I never had to do that, check that you have multilib in your make.conf. Although I always wanted to avoid it, it seems that I can't :(
_________________
"Yep linux is an alternative. Windows on the other hand isn't even an option"
Registered Linux User No #242616
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsnorman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sgarcia wrote:
I see from another thread that someone has solved this problem by making a symlink from lib64 to lib.

This seems inelegant to me (and if that is the "correct" solution it should be handled when emerging qt) but if it works I'll go for it when I get home.


I did that, it worked. However, it is clearly a bug in the 2005.0 profile and/or the qt package.

I have filed a bug report -- 87345 which was specific to amarok but in light of these other posts I am thinking it is a qt problem or 2005.0 profile problem.

Also, I am having some crashes on packages compiled that rely in 32 bit qt, notably amarok but that might be unrelated to this issue.

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsnorman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

koroumel wrote:
It looks to me that you should emerge some of the emul-linux-x86-* packages. Maybe "emul-linux-x86-baselibs"?

I hope this fixes it!


You should not emerge emul* libs - they are unnecessary under the 2005.0 profile (was the whole point of the 2005.0 profile I think) and may conflict with libc which somehow now automatically invokes 32 bit libs. I do not understand completely how the new profile works, but I do know that emul* libs are now not used in 2005.0. Make the symlink as suggested above that seems to fix the problem for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stef
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here ...

* re-emered qt : did not solve the problem
* symlinked /usr/qt/3/lib to /usr/qt/3/lib64 : works (hope this doesn't get me into trouble in the future, when emerging new qt versions which do not expect that symlink ...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum