Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XFree86 is too smart...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Scheisse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 8:05 pm    Post subject: XFree86 is too smart... Reply with quote

XFree86 auto-detects my monitor when I startx, but that's the problem. I use a KVM switch, and it can't see my montior unless I connect it directly. What I want to do it hard-code my monitor settings and not have XFree86 auto-detect my monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 8:17 pm    Post subject: Re: XFree86 is too smart... Reply with quote

Scheisse wrote:
What I want to do it hard-code my monitor settings and not have XFree86 auto-detect my monitor.


Edit your /etc/X11/XF86Config file. There are several documents around the web on how to adjust the settings for monitors, video cards, etc.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scheisse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 8:46 pm    Post subject: huh? Reply with quote

Can anyone be more specific?

My XF86Free file already contains information about the monitor, but it freaks out when it can't see the monitor due to my KVM switch. (Please don't suggest getting a new KVM switch, it was $400).

Is there an OPTION or some other way to stop X's behavior of detecting the monitor at runtime and relying solely on the info in XF86Config?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What makes you so sure the problem is caused by XFree86 autodetecting your monitor? AFAIK, XFree86 doesn't autodetect monitor settings, especially if those settings are hard-coded into your XFree86Config file.

Regarding being more specific, have you even looked at the XFree86 documentation? Especially the section dedicated to XF86Config files?

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2002 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This probably wont help but ..... works for my dad's win98 box. Dad leaves his computer on all the time and just turns off the monitor when he is done. We have found that if the monitor is turned back on the display is all garbled. However, if we move the mouse or press a key on the keyboard then turn the monitor on it is fine. It seems his Matrox card doesn't know how to sync to the montor after it uses the power save mode.

So, what I'm thinking is to switch to the computer in question, move the mouse around, then switch to a differnt computer and back again to see if it will sync up right.

I know it's not really the same thing, but it might get you thinking in the right direction.

John.
Back to top
clacour
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 59
Location: Dallas, Tx USA

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2002 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: huh? Reply with quote

Scheisse wrote:
Can anyone be more specific?

My XF86Free file already contains information about the monitor, but it freaks out when it can't see the monitor due to my KVM switch. (Please don't suggest getting a new KVM switch, it was $400).

Is there an OPTION or some other way to stop X's behavior of detecting the monitor at runtime and relying solely on the info in XF86Config?


Actually, I'm not sure how I'd get it it to probe. I couldn't find anything in "man XF86Config" that told it to. Could you post the "Monitor" section of your xf86config file? So that you'll have a better idea what I'm asking for, here's mine (for a Dell Latitude CP notebook):

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "My Monitor"
HorizSync 31.5 - 57.0
VertRefresh 50-70

I double-checked my two machines at home (which are on a KVM switch) and they look pretty much the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
handsomepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Kansas City, MO

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed this today on the nvidia website (if you have an nvidia card...) - maybe it'll help:

Quote:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "string"
Allows you to override what the NVIDIA kernel module
detects is connected to your video card. This may
be useful, for example, if you use a KVM (keyboard,
video, mouse) switch and you are switched away when
X is started. In such a situation, the NVIDIA kernel
module can't detect what display devices are connected,
and the NVIDIA X driver assumes you have a single CRT
connected. If, however, you use a digital flat panel
instead of a CRT, use this option to explicitly tell the
NVIDIA X driver what is connected. Valid values for this
option are "CRT" (cathode ray tube), "DFP" (digital flat
panel), or "TV" (television); if using TwinView, this
option may be a comma-separated list of display devices;
e.g.: "CRT, CRT" or "CRT, DFP". Default: string is NULL.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scheisse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2002 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>Option "ConnectedMonitor" "string"


This is the kind of thing I was looking for. I'm using a Radium card, maybe they have something similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum