Install Woes.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Proudest Monkey
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:55 pm    Post subject: Install Woes. Reply with quote

Ok I am a linux newbie and just started with linux yesterday when I installed slackware. I couldn't get my sound to work and gentoo was such a small download that I could get instant gratification. I have downloaded the LiveCD for versions 1.2 and 1.4rc2. It appeals to me cause I saw that it was bleeding edge somewhere and so I beg you, those who came before me to help.

I am using a AMD K6-2 (Model 8) that supports MMX and 3DNow!

When I boot from the 1.4rc2 which I downloaded first it says something like Aiee, Kernel panic something about interrupt handlers. I turned off PnP OS in the bios, but still no joy.

So I knew that 1.4rc2 was a beta test and I know how buggy beta software can be. I probably should have stoped there but I am stubborn and moderatly geeky so I went back and downloaded 1.2 x86.

I opened the less install.txt and alt+f2 to a new command line. I painstakingly followed the install.txt to the letter. I got all the way to scripts bootstrap.sh. One of the files i downloaded for ncurses has the wrong name or is missing, a bunch of .py files and I did see another user who had same exact error. So I tried to emerge -u portage and I tried to emerge rsync again but everytime I try to bootstrap I am missing some files or they have the wrong name.

I won't be disuaded by you telling me newbies can't follow the directions! I can follow instructions as good as anyone I know. I choose gentoo because you have such excellent support and help guides. Not to mention a whole big forum just for gentoo, at linuxnewbie.org there are as many diffrent answers as there are distro's.

So can you tell me how to find my missing files required by the bootstrap script?