Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Setting up an internet connection with a Wireless LAN Card.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:33 am    Post subject: Setting up an internet connection with a Wireless LAN Card. Reply with quote

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5755765794&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1#ebayphotohosting

That (link up top ^^^) is the link to the wireless card I have recently purchased/plugged into my Compaq Presario Model 4505.

When I try to set up internet for Gentoo...

iwconfig = "No Wireless Extensions", what is up?

I'm finding that is literarely IMPOSSIBLE to install Gentoo without an internet connection (see my other post) so I might as well try to solve this problem while trying to fit into the probably 0.005% of linux-wanna-bes who have been lucky enough to get through the Gentoo installation process WITHOUT an internet connection.

So has anyone succesfully created a working WIRELESS LAN connection before? If so, how?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you build support for your cards chipset into the kernel? Post the output of lspci with the card installed.
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feminista
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently installing over a wireless connection. The key is to figure out what you need to get your network up and running. This depends on the chipset of your card. Run

Code:
lspci


And tell us the output, then we can help you more. If you are lucky, you might find a LiveCD that supports your card (the RR4 LiveCD supports mine). Otherwise, you'll either want to stick with a wired connection when installing, or find out some way to get NDISWrapper running at some point in your install (actually, don't even try that, it just sounds bad).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
or find out some way to get NDISWrapper running at some point in your install (actually, don't even try that, it just sounds bad)

Not that bad, you can try a knoppix installation (ndiswrapper is included with knoppix) and put your windows .sys and .inf files on a usb stick for example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

polle wrote:
Quote:
or find out some way to get NDISWrapper running at some point in your install (actually, don't even try that, it just sounds bad)

Not that bad, you can try a knoppix installation (ndiswrapper is included with knoppix) and put your windows .sys and .inf files on a usb stick for example.


Can I put my Windows sys files on a CD and put in my other CD drive and be able to use NDISWrapper?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ineluki85
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only if you got more than one CD-Drive.
Because Knoppix run's from CD.

You can also load Knoppix in your RAM... if you got enough RAM.


And of course you can acces your Windows Partitions from Knoppix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah that would be posible,you can even put them on a floppy (the files are very small)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can some one tell me how you would do it. Let's say the files are on a floppy disk. I insert the "Gentoo" live CD and then I get to the Root # command line, what do I do?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any ideas?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you have to boot from knoppix cd:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml
(see point3)
After booting knoppix in a shell as root do this:
1. Type: ndiswrapper -i />path-to-your-windrivers>/<name-of-driver-file.inf>
2. Type: modprobe ndiswrapper
3. Type: iwconfig wlan0 essid <any>
4. Type: iwconfig wlan0 channel 11
5. Type: ifconfig wlan0 up
6. Type: pump -i wlan0

(i'm not sure if 4 is needed)
then proceed as described in the althernative guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feminista
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never used NDISwrapper myself (let's hear it for Orinoco cards with native Linux drivers), but I assume you would just set the channel in step 4 to whatever channel you want your wireless card to be on (which is the one your router is broadcasting on). Usually if you just leave the defaults where they are, they match up, most manufacturers of wireless stuff keep their channels consistent. I think the default is 6, not 11. However, unless your router and your network card are set to different channels, you should be able to skip that step.

People with NDISwrapper experience feel free to correct me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whenever I insert the "Knoppix Live CD" I get this error: "Can't find Knoppix filesystem" and it stops booting. I type in ndiswrapper and it says "no such thing". Is it just me or is everything going wrong for me?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it's not you :lol:

booot knoppix at prompt type:

knoppix nodma

enter

that should do the trick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

polle wrote:
No, you have to boot from knoppix cd:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml
(see point3)
After booting knoppix in a shell as root do this:
1. Type: ndiswrapper -i />path-to-your-windrivers>/<name-of-driver-file.inf>
2. Type: modprobe ndiswrapper
3. Type: iwconfig wlan0 essid <any>
4. Type: iwconfig wlan0 channel 11
5. Type: ifconfig wlan0 up
6. Type: pump -i wlan0

(i'm not sure if 4 is needed)
then proceed as described in the althernative guide


Agh, I'm stuck on the first step. My inf file is on the desktop. So I go...
Code:
ndiswrapper -i />desktop>/<Rt2005.inf>

and then it goes...
bash: syntax error near unexpected token 'new-line'

I'm in root. Whenever I type "ndiswrapper" options pop up so I know it's there. But why isn't my code working out.
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ndiswrapper -i />desktop>/<Rt2005.inf>

I hope you didn't use the < and >?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still,

When I go
Code:
ndiswrapper -i /desktop/Rt2005.inf

I get,

"Installing Rt2005.inf..."
and then
"cp: cannot stat '/desktop/Rt2005.inf. No such file or directory."

WHAT IS UP WITH THAT?
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That means that the name is not correct (or the path)
right click on the inf file and look at properties, use this info (maybe it's just Desktop and not desktop or something like that)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, now I'm stuck on step 3

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid


"Error for wireless request, Set Essio (8BIA) : SET failed on device wlan0; no such device."

What am I doing there. The driver is installed because whenever I type

Code:
ndiswrapper -i /desktop/Rt2005.inf

It goes,
"Driver already installed."
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are making progress, not?

what says:

ndiswrapper -l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

polle wrote:
We are making progress, not?

what says:

ndiswrapper -l


What do you mean?

The problem is this command:
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid

_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
polle
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1498
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, I know, but that command gives information about ndiswrapper and if the driver is installed correctly ( I believe it says soething about present)
it's possible that setting essid is not supported by your card (maybe just skip that step), but show first the output of ndiswrapper -l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid

-Error for wireless request. "Set ESSID" (8B1A) : too few arguments

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 channel 6

-Error for wireless request "Set frequency" (8B04) : SET failed on device wlan0; no such device

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 up

-wlan0 : Error while getting interface flags: No such device.

Code:
pump -i wlan0

-operation failed.

Oh and on step two, I tried channel 11 as well. (My lan is on channel 6).
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I need help getting my wireless network card to work as well. it's pretty much the same card as Meto's, but it also has Speedbooster. It's the Linksys Wireless - G 802.11G PCI adapter with Speedbooster. Model number WMP54GS.
I also took your guys' advice and used the ls command, and for the line describing my wireless card this is what I got.
Code:
0000:02:05.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)

I also heard that ATI stopped supporting Linux and didn't make Linux versions of their drivers for a while, but now they have started supporting Linux again. Can anyone confirm this? I would like to know if I can use my card under linux.
So just in case you guys need to know, I am running a Pentium 4 2.6 GHz with HT tech, an MSI motherboard with 8x AGP, 8 USB 2.0 slots,2 Serial-ATA slots, and DOT tech, an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro All-In-Wonder video card, a Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum sound card, my wireless network card, 2 Serial-ATA hard drives, one is a 120gig that I boot windows XP from,the other is a 250gig that I want to boot Linux from, and a DVD/CD drive, and a DVD/CD burner drive, which if course can also read DVDs and CDs.

Also I want to know if there is a compatable driver for my video card, will it also allow me to capture video and watch TV, ect... from within Linux, as my windows drivers do?[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEtoLinuxNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zaron wrote:
Hi I need help getting my wireless network card to work as well. it's pretty much the same card as Meto's, but it also has Speedbooster. It's the Linksys Wireless - G 802.11G PCI adapter with Speedbooster. Model number WMP54GS.
I also took your guys' advice and used the ls command, and for the line describing my wireless card this is what I got.
Code:
0000:02:05.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)

[/list]


How did you get that? I don't know what you mean by the ls command..
_________________
I have a 64mb RAM computer that's stuck with Windows ME. I need your help to switch to Gentoo! (Oh yeah and I bought a 512mb stick of RAM the other day)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant the lspci command, sorry. I booted the live cd and did that command when I got the root promt. that's what I got.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum