Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[quick howto] openoffice 2.0beta on amd64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Voyageur
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange, I'm typing a document right now in ooffice 1.9.122 (amd64 with nvidia card, nvidia opengl selected) and it's working fine.

Now that you have glibc 2.3.5-r1, you could try to re-emerge nvidia libs (they were the ones which triggered the _dl_next_tls_modid bug in my 32bit binaries like ooffice or epsxe). But that's just a wild guess
_________________
Routinely breaking NX, GNUstep, net-ftp, miscellaneous (llvm, filezilla, rdesktop, chromium, ...) packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's working fine on my amd64 at home, but not on my machine at work. The one at work is on the 2004.3 profile, while the one at home is 2005.0. I wonder if that makes any difference.

Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voyageur
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2004.3? What is the version of app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-glibc on it?

If I remember correctly, 2004.3 32-bit glibc was provided by this emul package (already compiled binary), and not directly by the glibc ebuild. So if you have something different than emul-linux-x86-glibc-1000 (dummy package), check the output of
Code:
ldd /opt/OpenOffice.org/program/soffice.bin


If libc.so.6 is in /emul, it's not using the one compiled by the glibc ebuild
_________________
Routinely breaking NX, GNUstep, net-ftp, miscellaneous (llvm, filezilla, rdesktop, chromium, ...) packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ldd output doesn't show libc.so.6 at all, but I think you've hit the nail on the head. emul-linux-x86-glibc is version 2.3.5. Maybe it suffers from the same issue as glibc-2.3.5. There is no r1 for the emul package, and I'm assuming there won't be as it's not needed in the profile change. I guess it's time to upgrade profiles.

Thanks,
Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upgrading my profile to 2005.0 seems to have done the trick.

Thanks,
Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voyageur
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're welcome, glad I could help (and glad all went smoothly with the upgrade :wink: )
_________________
Routinely breaking NX, GNUstep, net-ftp, miscellaneous (llvm, filezilla, rdesktop, chromium, ...) packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avinashm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I understand correctly, OO 2.0 works really fast when a suitable 32-bits Java SDK (or JRE) is installed.

What happens if I add -java in my USE flags when emerging openoffice-bin-1.9.122? Does that also make OO run fast? What features I might be missing? I was planning to add this line "=app-office/openoffice-bin-1.9.122 -java" to my /etc/portage/package.use...

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agrypa1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 244

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am stunned with OO on my amd64.
The much mentioned start lag that occurs if no 32bit java or no java is available can be avoided if one launches OO like this:
Code:
/opt/OpenOffice.org/program/soffice.bin

Another interesting thing I see is that under gnome OO starts when selected normally form the menu. It doesn't under KDE, spitting out "Inconsistency detected..." messages.

Agryppa
_________________
The first successor of Saint Peter was Linus (a.d. 68-79) - whose namesake became the creator of Linux in our time. Torvalds' middle name is Benedict - the name assumed by the previous Pope who resigned from office.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agrypa1 wrote:

Another interesting thing I see is that under gnome OO starts when selected normally form the menu. It doesn't under KDE, spitting out "Inconsistency detected..." messages.

Agryppa


I had the same issue in KDE. I solved it by unmasking glibc-2.3.5-r1 and emerging it. For this to work, you also have to be running the 2005.0 profile and not 2004.3.

Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chebe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 101
Location: New Caledonia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After upgrading to glibc 2.3.5-r1, OpenOffice.org 1.9.122 is finally working like a charm (java has been de-activated).
It was working before, but I needed to switch opengl to xorg-x11 every time I wanted to launch it.

Thanks a lot to the contributors
_________________
Unix is user friendly - it's just selective about who its friends are !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kuhrscher
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 495
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the KDE integration (theme + icons) work for you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desintegr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 863
Location: France - Orléans

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE integration will not working until AMD64 port is ready.

If you want KDE integration, use OpenOffice2 on 32bits Qt/KDE. (32bits chroot)
_________________
Gentoo ~AMD64
Hoc Volo, Sic Jubeo !
Mon wiki : http://desintegr.free.fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I read:
Quote:
After upgrading to glibc 2.3.5-r1, OpenOffice.org 1.9.122 is finally working like a charm (java has been de-activated).
I did not install OpenOffice beta just for this reason.

So, is this all gone now? Is it safe to install OpenOffice-bin on AMD64? If so, what version? I ask this because I see in portage 2.0.0_rc1 (Masked) and 1.1.5 (Stable). Rather I see above mentioned OpenOffice.org 1.9.122. So, where is this coming from? Is it downloaded from OpenOffice.org site or? Compiled manually or through emerge?
Can someone please advice so I can switch?

Has anyone tried 2.0.0_rc1?

thanks,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kuhrscher
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 495
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desintegr wrote:
KDE integration will not working until AMD64 port is ready.

If you want KDE integration, use OpenOffice2 on 32bits Qt/KDE. (32bits chroot)


KDE Intregration works now on 64bit, at least for me 8)

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-387086.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kuhrscher,

could you please tell me:
1) How did you install OpenOffice? Through portage?
2) What version do you have.
3) Any use flag for openoffice?
4) Do you experience the java issue, so the slowness when you start openoffice?

Thank you,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SAngeli wrote:
Has anyone tried 2.0.0_rc1?

Yes. Works great. But it's a masked application - meaning there is no warranty. If you want to play safe. Use stable version.

If tried 2.0.0_rc1 on amd64 here. I emerged with -java flag. First start is very slow, go to option to disable Java (uncheck box) - be patient it looks like it freezes for 30 sec - and then close. Now you have a fast starting office application...
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desintegr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 863
Location: France - Orléans

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kuhrscher wrote:
Desintegr wrote:
KDE integration will not working until AMD64 port is ready.

If you want KDE integration, use OpenOffice2 on 32bits Qt/KDE. (32bits chroot)


KDE Intregration works now on 64bit, at least for me 8)

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-387086.html


Hum, thanks.
Very interresting post.
_________________
Gentoo ~AMD64
Hoc Volo, Sic Jubeo !
Mon wiki : http://desintegr.free.fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry guys,

I read you running OOo 2.0
In order for me to install and run OOo, I need to understan:
1) what to emerge or download/compile manually. Do I emerge what is on portage or do I have to download it from openoffice.org?
2) How to make the KDE integration. The link is no use to me as I do not understand it quite well.

I run amd64.

I appreicate if someone can take few minutes and summarize what I have to do, in order.

Thank you a lot,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kuhrscher
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 495
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SAngeli wrote:
1) what to emerge or download/compile manually. Do I emerge what is on portage or do I have to download it from openoffice.org?


You can emerge the version in portage (at the moment RC1). You have to do this:
Code:
echo "app-office/openoffice-bin ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
echo ">app-office/openoffice-bin-1.1.5" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
emerge app-office/openoffice-bin


SAngeli wrote:

2) How to make the KDE integration. The link is no use to me as I do not understand it quite well.

I added a step by step guide with all commands. Hope this helps you :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kuhrscher

I thank you so much for answering my questions and adding step by step instructions.
I have finally been able to make my pc emerge the latest Masked version of OOo.
I first followed the step by step instructions (very well written).
Now, I am emerging openoffice-bin-2.0.0_rc1 with +java +kde, which should give me the kde integration.

I had to re-emerge it with -gnome -java* +kde to remove the java issue. I also had to uncheck java from options in OOo and remove the java check.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turkystuffing
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 49
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Kuhrscher, that was exactly what i was looking for. I'm emerging (well downloading :D) as i type. Hope its as good as the hype!

<edit> works a treat </edit>
_________________
Thanks

Turkystuffing


Last edited by turkystuffing on Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOo works very well. I do experience, when in options I select Java, the OOo windows looks-up, like it freezes for 30 sec - and then it goes back to normal. But, among all selections, only Java selection provides this issue. Besides, if you emerge it without java, in theory you will not even have to check this setting as it is by default unchecked.
So, emerge openoffice-bin without java (-java) and you do not need to mess around Java setting.

Now, any luck enabling sound for OOo events? Anybody knows?

[EDITED] As of Sat Oct 8 20:36:20 2005 2.0.0_rc2 is out but just for x86 [/EDITED]

Thank you,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SAngeli wrote:
OOo works very well. I do experience, when in options I select Java, the OOo windows looks-up, like it freezes for 30 sec - and then it goes back to normal. But, among all selections, only Java selection provides this issue. Besides, if you emerge it without java, in theory you will not even have to check this setting as it is by default unchecked.
So, emerge openoffice-bin without java (-java) and you do not need to mess around Java setting.

Spiro, what Java and version are you using?
I have the same thing and I'm investigating to determine if it is specific to the 32bit 1.4.x java versions or if it happens with the amd64 version of sun java 1.5.x also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Headrush and good to hear from you.

here is what you are looking for:
Code:
java version "1.4.2-02"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build Blackdown-1.4.2-02)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build Blackdown-1.4.2-02, mixed mode)
[pdflib-5] A library for generating PDF on the fly (/usr/share/pdflib-5/package.env)
[db] The java bindings for berkeley db version 4.2.52 (/usr/share/db/package.env)
[libidn] Internationalized Domain Names (IDN) implementation (/usr/share/libidn/package.env)
[cyrus-sasl-2] The Cyrus SASL (Simple Authentication and Security Layer) (/usr/share/cyrus-sasl-2/package.env)


Is this sufficient or is there anything missing?

thank you,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SAngeli wrote:
Hi Headrush and good to hear from you.

here is what you are looking for:
Code:
java version "1.4.2-02"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build Blackdown-1.4.2-02)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build Blackdown-1.4.2-02, mixed mode)
[pdflib-5] A library for generating PDF on the fly (/usr/share/pdflib-5/package.env)
[db] The java bindings for berkeley db version 4.2.52 (/usr/share/db/package.env)
[libidn] Internationalized Domain Names (IDN) implementation (/usr/share/libidn/package.env)
[cyrus-sasl-2] The Cyrus SASL (Simple Authentication and Security Layer) (/usr/share/cyrus-sasl-2/package.env)


Is this sufficient or is there anything missing?

thank you,
Spiro

Thanks. As soon as KDE 3.5_beta2 is done compiling, I'm going to see if the Java slowdown exists with Sun JDK 1.5.x also.

Edit: What am I thinking, openoffice-2.0.0_rc3 is still a 32bit app and I believe Sun JDK 1.5.x is 64 bit. Doh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum