Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gamin not working?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pazz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: gamin not working? Reply with quote

hi!
i recently tried to replace fam as many of you stated in this forum and on other websites..
please correct me if i'm wrong but the thing fam and gamin are supposed to do is.. for example
tell nautilus when the dir i'm in has changed somehow and tell it to refresh isn't it so?

now, i changed to gamin by unmerging fam and merging gamin. worked flawlessly BUT
when i copy a file into a dir that is opened by nautilus.. it does NOT refresh.

so what's the deal about the whole gamin-thing then?
to me it's no big deal clicking on the refresh button myself, but since famd or gamin are installed, why doesn't it work?

as you might notice i have not put much time into this one yet as i'm not goint to put too much on this as well :)
thanks anyhow,

pazz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pazz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah i forgot:
i'm running gnome 2.10, compiled yesterday,
and it seems that fam, after i just reemerged it doesn't work either..
it might be related to gnome 2.10..
pazz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leo Lausren
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the same thing, and I'm not too happy either.
Gamin is app-admin/gamin/gamin-0.0.26,
Kernel is sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.11-r4 with inotify configured
I am considering going back to fam for a litle while.
_________________
Blog: common sense – nonsense
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treeJ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have noticed, with dnotify the refresh works.
Since I patched the kernel (2.6.11.5) with inotify, it does not work. So I think it's a problem with inotify.
I'am running gamin-0.0.26.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same here. it's getting kind of annoying (i switched to gentoo from ubuntu-hoary and it was all working there since very early in the beta testing)

the hard-masked gamin-0.0.26-r5 is supposed to work with the newer inotify kernels (0.21 i think), but it doesn't work for me. i wish i could help somehow ...

has anyone tried using a stable gamin+stable gentoo kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pazz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have no idea what exactly i use i'm afraid: i mean [id]notify.
Code:
auname -a
Linux york 2.6.10-ck5 #4 Wed Feb 2 18:14:48 CET 2005 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

pazz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostControl
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 885
Location: La Glane, Suisse

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here :cry:

I'm using inotify 0.21, gamin-0.0.26-r5 (cj-sources) and Gnome 2.10.

Any idea ???
_________________
http://www.jaqpot.net
http://www.fail2ban.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostControl
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 885
Location: La Glane, Suisse

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the inotify utils and got this when creating and deleting a file named "test" in "/home/cyril":
Code:
# ./inotify_test /home/cyril/
/home/cyril/ WD=0
read = 16
sizeof inotify_event = 16
pevent->len = 0
EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = CLOSE 0x00000010

read = 128
sizeof inotify_event = 16
pevent->len = 16
pevent->len = 16
pevent->len = 16
pevent->len = 16
EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = CREATE_FILE 0x00000800
FILENAME=test

EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = OPEN 0x00000020
FILENAME=test

EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = CLOSE 0x00000008
FILENAME=test

EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = ATTRIB 0x00000004
FILENAME=test

read = 32
sizeof inotify_event = 16
pevent->len = 0
pevent->len = 0
EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = OPEN 0x00000020

EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = CLOSE 0x00000010

read = 32
sizeof inotify_event = 16
pevent->len = 0
pevent->len = 0
EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = OPEN 0x00000020

EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = CLOSE 0x00000010

read = 32
sizeof inotify_event = 16
pevent->len = 16
EVENT ON WD=0
EVENT MASK = DELETE_FILE 0x00000200
FILENAME=test

It seems that inotify is working and that this bug is definitely a gamin one :(

A+

EDIT:

I tried "testgam" and it failed at the second scenario :(

Test output:
Code:
$ ./testgam scenario/2.tst
mkdir /tmp/test_gamin
connected to test
pending 0
mondir /tmp/test_gamin 0
expect line 5: got 0 of 2 expected events


Server output:
Code:
$ /usr/libexec/gam_server --notimeout test
inotify initialized
Using INotify as backend
Ready listening to socket /tmp/fam-cyril-test : 4
gam_incoming_conn_read called
accepted incoming connection: 5
Created connection 5
gam_client_conn_read called
read credentials byte
Credentials: s_uid 1000, c_uid 1000, c_gid 100, c_pid 25358
Created listener for 25358
Wrote 1 bytes to socket 5
gam_client_conn_read called
read 25 bytes from client
Request: from 25358, seq 1, type 2 options 0
Created subscription for /tmp/test_gamin
Setting subscription listener for /tmp/test_gamin
inotify_add_sub
called gam_inotify_add_handler()
gam_inotify_consume_subscriptions()
gam_client_conn_read called
end from client connection
Shutting down client socket 5
Freeing listener for 25358
Cancelling subscription for /tmp/test_gamin
inotify_remove_sub
Closing connection 5
called gam_inotify_rm_handler()
gam_inotify_consume_subscriptions()

_________________
http://www.jaqpot.net
http://www.fail2ban.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i patched gamin-0.0.26-r5 with the latest updates from gnome-cvs and got the exact same output.
i'm confused!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here. Using 2.6.11.4 Vanilla Sources patched with Inotify 0.21 and gamin-0.0.26-r5 and GNOME 2.10. I hate having to hit refresh all the time, I feel like I am back using KDE...
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, after 3 hours of messing around with it (i'm sloow), i think i figured it out and it works! yay!

i uploaded the patch and a new ebuild to:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=86705

let me know if it works for you (i'm using 2.6.11-morph4 that has inotify-0.21)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The patch works perfectly. Thanks for the fix...its nice to have gamin working properly :)
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mystilleef
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The patch did not work for me. I guess it's because I use Reiser4. :cry:
_________________
simple, sleek and sexy text editor for gnome

"My logic is undeniable."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mystilleef wrote:
The patch did not work for me. I guess it's because I use Reiser4. :cry:


Try rebooting. That did it for me...
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stalynx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2002
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone having problems with gnome-volume-manager? when I insert a cd it is mounted automatically but the desktop does not update. I have to go to Computer->CD/DVD Drive then when I click it a CD icon pops up on my Desktop. It worked fine before I updated from famd->gamin 0.0.26-r6, btw nautilus works fine.

edit:

didn't read the bug report posted above clearly enough... this is a bug here are the bug reports

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=74285
http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=171201


Last edited by stalynx on Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apmurray
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 221
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

either use a non inotify kernel (vanilla-sources) or you can try the patch above for gamin, or just go back to fam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leo Lausren
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just went back to fam. Everything seems more responsive now.
Starting famd also starts portmap. Could that have any implications in regard to gamin :?:
_________________
Blog: common sense – nonsense
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostControl
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 885
Location: La Glane, Suisse

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works perfectly with the latest gamin :D
Code:
$ qpkg -I -nc -v|grep gamin
app-admin/gamin-0.0.26-r6

A+
_________________
http://www.jaqpot.net
http://www.fail2ban.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leo Lausren wrote:
Just went back to fam. Everything seems more responsive now.
Starting famd also starts portmap. Could that have any implications in regard to gamin :?:



No. Portmap is only used with FAM and is mainly the reason I dont use it. I have read all kinds of hate towards it and references to portmap being a secuirty whole. Gamin doesnt require portmap and is one of the reasons its a better alternative.

The new version in portage together with inotify .21 works perfectly again.
_________________
You're not afraid of the dark are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum