Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Update of kdelibs fails after I updated glibc.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:26 pm    Post subject: Update of kdelibs fails after I updated glibc. Reply with quote

Hi all,

I recently updated glibc and I did rebuild the toolkit using the emrg_wrapper.sh script. All seemed to go well, but then, afterwards, portage informed me that an update of kdelibs was available. I tried to emerge that and got the following message:

Code:

configure: error: C++ preprocessor "/lib/cpp" fails sanity check
See `config.log' for more details.

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r7 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 154, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.


I tried fixing the problem via source /etc/profile, but that didn't do the trick.

Any ideas?

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This morning, I also updated glibc, and when portage moved on to update kdelibs to 3.3.2-r7, I got the following error:
Quote:

checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3) (library qt-mt) not found.Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!


The qt-mt libraries do exist in /usr/qt/3/lib/

What steps do we need to take after updating glibc, and is there a reason they are not built into the glibc ebuild?

What is emrg_wrapper.sh? I dont have it on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paladin-zero wrote:

What steps do we need to take after updating glibc, and is there a reason they are not built into the glibc ebuild?

What is emrg_wrapper.sh? I dont have it on my system.


Looks like more isn't working than the kdelibs ebuild, all sorts of applications are broken now. emrg_wrapper.sh is a script written by somebody on the forums (search for it) that will check for the need to rebuild your toolkit and, if there is one, will do so and, hence, emerge everything properly.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which glibc version?
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Cintra,

glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Cintra wrote:
which glibc version?


The update brought me up to 2.3.4.20041102-r1 from my previous version which was 2.3.4.20040808-r1.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I upgraded kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r6 yesterday with
Code:
sys-libs/glibc
Installed versions:
   Slot 2.2: 2.3.4.20050125

mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Cintra wrote:
I upgraded kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r6 yesterday with
Code:
sys-libs/glibc
Installed versions:
   Slot 2.2: 2.3.4.20050125

mvh


So, would I be correct in assuming you're running ~x86?

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss wrote:
Hi,

Cintra wrote:
I upgraded kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r6 yesterday with
Code:
sys-libs/glibc
Installed versions:
   Slot 2.2: 2.3.4.20050125

mvh


So, would I be correct in assuming you're running ~x86?

Alex
Not completely.. but I have quite a lot in package.keywords,
but I decided recently to hold the toolchain for a while at
Code:
sys-devel/gcc-3.4.3.20050110
sys-devel/gcc-config-1.3.10-r1
sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20050125
sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.4
and decided not to UD kdelibs again this morning ;-)
mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1677
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cintra wrote:
Not completely.. but I have quite a lot in package.keywords,
but I decided recently to hold the toolchain for a while at
Code:
sys-devel/gcc-3.4.3.20050110
sys-devel/gcc-config-1.3.10-r1
sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20050125
sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.4
and decided not to UD kdelibs again this morning ;-)
mvh


I'm not entirely sure what that will do, though I think my problem is larger. libstdc++.so.5 disappeared at some point. Much fun!

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1610

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here:
Code:
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r7 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 154, Exitcode 1
!!! died running ./configure, kde_src_compile:configure
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest that people do not use the emrg_wrapper.sh script for the moment. It would be much better for these issues to be cleared up in portage, rather than with a script from the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

curmudgeon wrote:

Code:
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!

The PATH list reported in /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.3.2-r7/work/kdelibs-3.3.2/config.log:
Code:
PATH: /usr/kde/3.3/bin
PATH: /usr/lib/ccache/bin
PATH: /sbin
PATH: /usr/sbin
PATH: /usr/lib/portage/bin
PATH: /bin
PATH: /usr/bin
PATH: /usr/local/bin
PATH: /opt/bin
PATH: /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3.5
PATH: /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/bin
PATH: /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/jre/bin
PATH: /usr/qt/3/bin
PATH: /usr/kde/3.3/sbin
PATH: /usr/kde/3.3/bin

does not include /usr/qt/3/lib/. Should it?

I grep'ed config.log on qt, and got the following output:

Code:
  $ ./configure --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --prefix=/usr/kde/3.3 --with-x --enable-mitshm --without-xinerama --with-qt-dir=/usr/qt/3 --enable-mt --with-qt-libraries=/usr/qt/3/lib --disable-dependency-tracking --disable-debug --without-debug --disable-final --with-arts --with-distribution=Gentoo --enable-libfam --enable-dnotify --with-alsa --enable-cups --with-arts --with-ssl-dir=/usr --with-gssapi=no --enable-fast-malloc=full --libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
PATH: /usr/qt/3/bin
configure: 33058: /usr/qt/3/include/qstyle.h
configure:33170: rm -rf SunWS_cache; i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -o conftest -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-align -Wconversion -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -DNDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -march=pentium4 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -fforce-addr -falign-functions=4 -mmmx -msse2 -mfpmath=sse -fprefetch-loop-arrays -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -fno-common -I/usr/qt/3/include -I.  -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT  -L/usr/qt/3/lib -L/usr/lib   conftest.cc  -lqt-mt -lpng -lz -lm -ljpeg -ldl  -lXext -lX11 -lSM -lICE  -lpthread 1>&5
/usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_register_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
/usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_unregister_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
configure:33213: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3) (library qt-mt) not found. Please checkyour installation!
ac_cv_have_qt=have_qt=no
kde_qtver='3'
qt_includes=''
qt_libraries=''
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyfraser33
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting this problem too. I'm rebuilding Qt to see if that helps. I might be clutching at straws but I can't think of anything else that might help.
_________________
Andy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paladin-zero wrote:
I suggest that people do not use the emrg_wrapper.sh script for the moment. It would be much better for these issues to be cleared up in portage, rather than with a script from the forums.


The emrg_wrapper.sh script simply performs repeated emerges in a carefully thought out order so the use or otherwise of it is probably irrelevant with regard to these problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

\begin{rhetorical_question}How did the glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1 ebuild get marked as stable?\end{rhetorical_question}

I suggest waiting to remerge an older version of glibc, evoweiss tried and got bad results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyfraser33
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rebuilding Qt got past the problem.

EDIT: Everything seems to be working now.
_________________
Andy.


Last edited by andyfraser33 on Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smoothhound wrote:
paladin-zero wrote:
I suggest that people do not use the emrg_wrapper.sh script for the moment. It would be much better for these issues to be cleared up in portage, rather than with a script from the forums.


The emrg_wrapper.sh script simply performs repeated emerges in a carefully thought out order so the use or otherwise of it is probably irrelevant with regard to these problems.


That may be true. But what that script is trying to accomplish should be taken care of by portage. Maybe I'm a purist, I just dont like the idea of cleaning up after portage, especially with stable packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raylpc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 310
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

andyfraser33 wrote:
Rebuilding Qt got past the problem.

EDIT: Everything seems to be working now.


Thanks for the info. I will give it a try.

However, I'm not happy with a stable glibc (core package) causing such a serious issue. I truly hope gentoo will become enterprise quality in the near future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
higman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Langley, B.C., Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: revdep-rebuild Reply with quote

This seems like one of those situations where revdep-rebuild would be used (didn't actuall use it, but I'm pretty sure that's what it's for). My guess is this version of glibc changed something that qt-mt was linked against.

If that's the case, and it was to fix something, then there's no way that version of glibc would ever be "stable" by raylpc's definition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyfraser33
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: revdep-rebuild Reply with quote

higman wrote:
This seems like one of those situations where revdep-rebuild would be used (didn't actuall use it, but I'm pretty sure that's what it's for). My guess is this version of glibc changed something that qt-mt was linked against.


Unfortunately revdep-rebuild didn't want to rebuild anything (except the usual openoffice-bin, opera and UT packages). I run revdep-rebuild after every "emerge -Duav world", even if I think it won't be needed, just in case.

If revdep-rebuild had worked it would have to be run by the glibc ebuild to prevent kdelibs from failing in the same update.
_________________
Andy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raylpc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 310
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raylpc wrote:
andyfraser33 wrote:
Rebuilding Qt got past the problem.

EDIT: Everything seems to be working now.


Thanks for the info. I will give it a try.

However, I'm not happy with a stable glibc (core package) causing such a serious issue. I truly hope gentoo will become enterprise quality in the near future.


EDIT: Everything seems to be working here too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyfraser33
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Oxford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've only found one other package that needed rebuilding so far: hk_classes.

I saw the news yesterday that KDE 3.4 has been released and noticed what look like masked ebuilds for it in Portage today. That's the bext big thing we've got to look forward to I guess. :wink:
_________________
Andy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radfoj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 490
Location: Tísek, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 days ago, portage shows me new stable version - glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1 - and I updated. Yesterday I emerged KDE 3.4 (kdelibs, kdebase-meta and some splitted ebuild) withou any problem.
Today I want get rid of old KDE, so decide to reemerge SIM against new KDE.
But during configure it gives me some error like much of you.
Code:
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.2) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!

!!! Please attach the config.log to your bug report:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/sim-0.9.9999/work/sim/config.log

Code:
# cat /var/tmp/portage/sim-0.9.9999/work/sim/config.log | grep qt
PATH: /usr/qt/3/bin
configure: 29331: /usr/qt/3/include/qstyle.h
configure:29446: rm -rf SunWS_cache; i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -o conftest -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-align -Wconversion -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -DNDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -O2 -march=athlon -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -fno-common -I/usr/qt/3/include -I.  -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT -Wl,-O1 -L/usr/qt/3/lib -L/usr/lib   conftest.cc  -lqt-mt -lpng -lz -lm -ljpeg -ldl  -lXext -lX11 -lSM -lICE  -lpthread 1>&5
configure:29489: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.2) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
ac_cv_have_qt=have_qt=no
kde_qtver='3'
qt_includes=''
qt_libraries=''

I tried also reemerge qt and type env-update. I also rebooted.
Still some error. Have anybody idea, what to do? Thanks much.:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CyD
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does this help at all?

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-278673.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum