Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
new fbsplash-0.9.2 splashutils-1.1.9.1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:47 am    Post subject: new fbsplash-0.9.2 splashutils-1.1.9.1 Reply with quote

Hello
I'm trying to get working the last gensplash version and I can't get it to work.
There seems to be a lot of issues, some might be related to my use of udev.
Anyway I would like to exchange w/ someone who has either succeedeed or tried...
Thanks in advance
bruno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it tried it too, but also didnt manage to get it work properly.
what works is the silent splash screen(the fadein effect is really nice ;) ), but only if passing 'quiet' to the kernel parameters otherwise the boot messages were written over the splashscreen.
Switching to verbose mode by F2 also didnt work.
Neither i get the nice console with background image. If starting with fbsplash in verbose mode, i didnt get any background image.

btw it makes some trouble if you have extra partitions for /usr and /var as I have.
It needs the programs fgconsole, tail and chvt available before other partitions are mounted. So i copied them to /bin. Further it want to mount an ramfs at /var/cache/splash before all your partitions are mounted, which of course doesnt work. So I changed it in /sbin/splash-functions.sh to use /splash instead.
I post if I get more things to work ;)

//edit.
progress bar doesnt work, too in silent made.

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well thank you. I made the same observations as of /var and /usr not being mounted and need of the programs you mention, and also hacked splash-functions to get through (copy binaries to another location, mounting fbsplash to another location)

I didnot get any image at all,neither in verbose or in silent mode, just the silent mode seems to make my background red, it stops when it switches to verbose (f2 doesn't work either)

I 'll keep this thread informed of my progresses if any
:?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I discovered as well that /var/cache/splash/.splash is harcoded in (splash.h). I changed this to my location but still no luck. it just says it cannot load png image (my backgrounds). I suspect it might be related to radeonfb ?? but it sure did work with 0.9.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got it working.
thx for the tip with the hardcoded path ;)
What I have done further was to copy /usr/share/fonts/TTF/luxisri.ttf to /etc/splash, as fbsplash uses it as default font and expects it there.

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i did it as well replacing radeonfb with vesafb
It seems to be impossibke to load the png images with radeon fb... why ?

the rest works
Will try vesafb-tng
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm im using radeonfb as well, but i have jpegs as background images.
Never tried with pngs.

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well don't you have :

pic=/etc/splash/emergence/images/verbose-1400x1050.jpg
silentpic=/etc/splash/emergence/images/silent-1400x1050.jpg
pic256=/etc/splash/emergence/images/verbose-1400x1050-240.png
silentpic256=/etc/splash/emergence/images/silent-1400x1050-256.png

the last ones are the problem and I can't replace them by the jpegs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I got it to work with radeonfb.
Problem was depth (default is 8bpp) so I had to specify on kernel cmdline video=radeonfb:1400x1050-16
Then images load (it's the jpeg ones AFAIK) because the pngs only are used for 8bpp (am I right ?)
Still these don't load

And I still get warnings about dependencies at boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again,

I got rid of the messages at startup.

splash_cache_prep was trying to list services in the empty ${SOFTLEVEL}
so I change

Here is the patch of splash-functions (splashutils-gentoo) :

Code:
diff -Nru a/splash-functions.sh b/splash-functions.sh
--- a/splash-functions.sh       2005-03-16 11:34:55.764466624 +0100
+++ b/splash-functions.sh       2005-03-16 11:40:22.355817192 +0100
@@ -19,11 +19,11 @@
 # values for spl_cachetype are 'tmpfs' and 'ramfs'. spl_cachesize
 # is a size limit in KB, and it should probably be left with the
 # default value.
-spl_cachedir="/var/cache/splash"
+spl_cachedir="/ubin/splash"
 spl_cachesize="4096"
 spl_cachetype="tmpfs"
-spl_fifo="/var/cache/splash/.splash"
-spl_pidfile="/var/cache/splash/daemon.pid"
+spl_fifo="${spl_cachedir}/.splash"
+spl_pidfile="${spl_cachedir}/daemon.pid"

 # This is a little tricky. We need depscan.sh to create an updated cache for
 # us, and we need it in our place ($spl_cachedir), and not in $svcdir, since th
e
@@ -196,7 +196,7 @@
        if [[ ! -e ${spl_cachedir}/levels || \
                  ! -e ${spl_cachedir}/svcs_start || \
                 "$(head -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "${BOOTLEVEL}/${DEFAULT
LEVEL}" || \
-                "$(tail -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "$(stat -c '%y' /etc/ru
nlevels/${BOOTLEVEL})/$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${DEFAULTLEVEL})" || \
+                "$(/ubin/tail -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "$(stat -c '%y' /
etc/runlevels/${BOOTLEVEL})/$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${DEFAULTLEVEL})" || \
                 "$(stat -c '%y' ${spl_cachedir}/deptree)" != "${h}" ]]; then
                echo $(splash_svclist_update "start") > ${spl_cachedir}/svcs_sta
rt
        fi
@@ -461,7 +461,7 @@
 }

 splash_get_mode() {
-       local ctty="$(fgconsole)"
+       local ctty="$(/ubin/fgconsole)"

        if [[ ${ctty} == "${SPLASH_TTY}" ]]; then
                echo "silent"


and a small one for splash (splashutils-gentoo) :

Code:
diff -Nru a/splash b/splash
--- a/splash    2005-03-16 11:48:10.249686512 +0100
+++ b/splash    2005-03-16 11:48:31.871399512 +0100
@@ -95,7 +95,7 @@
        paint_progress
 elif [ "$1" == "verbose" ]; then
        if [[ "$(splash_get_mode)" == "silent" ]]; then
-               /usr/bin/chvt 1
+               /ubin/chvt 1
        fi
 else
        if [[ "$(splash_get_mode)" == "silent" ]]; then


Of course /ubin directory is just a temp hack.
I added fgconsole and tail binaries to this /ubin/directory which is also a hack.

Last is I replace a hardcoded directory in splash.h (main splashutils package) :

Code:
diff -Nru a/splash.h b/splash.h
--- a/splash.h  2005-03-16 12:09:22.773233528 +0100
+++ b/splash.h  2005-03-16 12:09:41.154439160 +0100
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@
 #define MAX_ICONS      512
 #define SPLASH_DEV     "/dev/fbsplash"

-#define SPLASH_FIFO    "/var/cache/splash/.splash"
+#define SPLASH_FIFO    "/ubin/splash/.splash"
 #define TTY_SILENT     8
 #define TTY_VERBOSE    1



And I had alsto to copy luxisri.ttf in /ubin.

It works.... but with not in 8bpp mode (default for radeonfb)

Thanks !!

Bruno[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2140
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is this bug reported to bugzilla? im having the same problems and im sure others do too.
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for this but the patch in my last post should have been (in accordance to explanations) :

Code:
diff -Nru a/splash-functions.sh b/splash-functions.sh
--- a/splash-functions.sh       2005-03-16 21:49:45.211672528 +0100
+++ b/splash-functions.sh       2005-03-16 21:47:54.027575080 +0100
@@ -19,11 +19,11 @@
 # values for spl_cachetype are 'tmpfs' and 'ramfs'. spl_cachesize
 # is a size limit in KB, and it should probably be left with the
 # default value.
-spl_cachedir="/var/cache/splash"
+spl_cachedir="/ubin/splash"
 spl_cachesize="4096"
 spl_cachetype="tmpfs"
-spl_fifo="/var/cache/splash/.splash"
-spl_pidfile="/var/cache/splash/daemon.pid"
+spl_fifo="${spl_cachedir}/.splash"
+spl_pidfile="${spl_cachedir}/daemon.pid"

 # This is a little tricky. We need depscan.sh to create an updated cache for
 # us, and we need it in our place ($spl_cachedir), and not in $svcdir, since the
@@ -196,7 +196,7 @@
        if [[ ! -e ${spl_cachedir}/levels || \
                  ! -e ${spl_cachedir}/svcs_start || \
                 "$(head -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "${BOOTLEVEL}/${DEFAULTLEVEL}" || \
-                "$(tail -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${BOOTLEVEL})/$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${DEFAULTLEVEL})" || \
+                "$(/ubin/tail -n1 ${spl_cachedir}/levels)" != "$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${BOOTLEVEL})/$(stat -c '%y' /etc/runlevels/${DEFAULTLEVEL})" || \
                 "$(stat -c '%y' ${spl_cachedir}/deptree)" != "${h}" ]]; then
                echo $(splash_svclist_update "start") > ${spl_cachedir}/svcs_start
        fi
@@ -355,7 +355,7 @@
        }

        as="$(autoconfig_svcs)"
-       ss="$(dolisting "/etc/runlevels/${SOFTLEVEL}/") "
+       [[ -n "${SOFTLEVEL}" ]] && ss="$(dolisting "/etc/runlevels/${SOFTLEVEL}/") "
        sb="$(dolisting "/etc/runlevels/${BOOTLEVEL}/") "
        sd="$(dolisting "/etc/runlevels/${DEFAULTLEVEL}/") "

@@ -461,7 +461,7 @@
 }

 splash_get_mode() {
-       local ctty="$(fgconsole)"
+       local ctty="$(/ubin/fgconsole)"

        if [[ ${ctty} == "${SPLASH_TTY}" ]]; then
                echo "silent"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bug is there: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=85565

i thought a bit how to avoid the apps that are normally not available in /bin and at least found a solution for chvt and tail. Maybe you could give it a try. I would then attach it to the bugzilla entry.

//edit:
i attached the patches(slightly modified) to the bugzilla entry.


CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone else has the problem that in silent mode, the verbose console shows up for a short time before the nice silent splash screen fades in? its quite annoying ;)

second problem: splashutils want a kernel parameter: CONSOLE=/dev/tty1. As this didnt worked for me(no text shows up at all), i read a bit in linux/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt and used the following parameter:
console=tty1 which works. anybody else experienced this?

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:00 am    Post subject: Yeah Reply with quote

Thanks imago for this bit with console=tty1, that got my splash working! I bet there are many people out there who don't know this parameter and don't get it to work. Also the kernel param quiet is necessary for me like stated in up in this thread.
Thanks again,

Joost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 and it works but I think I remember trying with console (no caps) and it didn't.
Will check this if I get the chance

Btw are you using udev or devfs ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm using udev. My exact grub.conf is (to avoid confusion):
Code:

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11 FBSplash
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11 root=/dev/hda2 video=vesafb:1024x768-16@75 resume2=swap:/dev/hda3 splash=silent,theme:emergence,console=tty1 quiet
initrd /fbsplash-emergence-1024x768

(stripped beginning and end of the file)
From "kernel" to "quiet" everything is on one line.

Bye, Joost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm, if you have a look in /sbin/splash, it has to be CONSOLE in caps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I tried these modifications and and have come to the conclusion that I need "quiet", else the splash won't work at all. If I have CONSOLE,console or nothing set doesn't matter for me, I deleted it now and things work nicely. Too complicated for me, but if you need anything, I'd be willing to test/post it.

BTW, I don't have /sbin/splash, where does it come from?

Bye,
Joost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/sbin/splash is (as well as /sbin/splash-functions.sh) included in splashutils-gentoo which is normally included in gentoo splashutils-1.1.9.1
you mean you did not use ebuild for splashutils ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whats new in this release anyways?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ruomad: yes, I compiled the tgzs from spocks homepage. I did not bother to get the splash working after init starts, because I use suspend2 for at least 4-5 days between completely rebooting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it working without doing the patches. I did have to copy the font to /etc/splash.

Here is the relevant portion of my grub.conf:

Code:
kernel /vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda3 video=vesafb:1024x768-24@75 resume2=swap:/dev/hda2 splash=silent,fadein,tty:8,theme:emergence quiet CONSOLE=/dev/tty1


Here is my /etc/conf.d/splash:

Code:
# Config file for splashutils

# a theme to use, probably best left commented (the theme specified
# on the kernel command line is used)
# SPLASH_THEME="gentoo"

# on which ttys should fbsplash be enabled? defaults to RC_TTY_NUMBER
 SPLASH_TTYS="0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8"

# what font to use? defaults to what fbtruetype uses
# SPLASH_FONT="luxisri.ttf"

# boot/reboot/shutdown message overrides
# SPLASH_BOOT_MESSAGE="Booting the system"
# SPLASH_REBOOT_MESSAGE="Rebooting the system"
# SPLASH_SHUTDOWN_MESSAGE="Shutting the system down"

# should we drop to verbose mode on initscript errors? (yes/no)
SPLASH_VERBOSE_ON_ERRORS="no"

# allows to set different themes on different consoles
# format: "<console>:<theme> <console>:<theme> (...)"
 SPLASH_TTY_MAP="1:emergence 2:emergence 3:emergence 4:emergence 5:emergence 6:emergence 7:emergence 8:emergence"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, patches and btw the new version 1.1.9.2 issued by spock address the case where /usr and/or /var are on seperate partitions, not mounted when splashutils try to access to them...
so it may work for your config, or ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what interests me more is that you have it along with software-suspend2 which means you have disable bootsplash in softwaresuspend2 ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum