Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-love2 (usb & genetic-as deplug. oops fix)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go in your kernel dir and:
Code:

patch -p1 -i patch.file


Or what I use (if the patch is gzipped, of course):
Code:

zcat patch.gz | patch -p1


Just rebuild your kernel afterwards.
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirko_3 wrote:
Go in your kernel dir and:
Code:

patch -p1 -i patch.file


Or what I use (if the patch is gzipped, of course):
Code:

zcat patch.gz | patch -p1


Just rebuild your kernel afterwards.


8) Thanks man, will try it when I get home from work. I'm excited to be using all the cool love features.
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WladyX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 503
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrWoland wrote:
mirko_3 wrote:
Probably someone much smarter than you...


Seconded.


Me too, the solution was already in thread.
_________________
We are not alone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WladyX wrote:
DrWoland wrote:
mirko_3 wrote:
Probably someone much smarter than you...


Seconded.


Me too, the solution was already in thread.


You mean me three 8O
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallow
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[EDIT]
OHHH SORRY :) Answers about patching are here -> I didn`t see it when I was been writing the post hehe
[/EDIT]

WladyX wrote:
="WladyX"]Lenk you could have uploaded it somewhere (google for nopaste), not spam the whole thread :cry:


Yeahh right :)
DrWoland wrote:
Hey, fallow, or anybody else: Can you guys give me a quick crash course in patching? I never learned to use kernel patches and I wanna try this USB fix out :P


1) copy the 2.6.11-love2-usb-oops-fix1.diff to the linux-2.6.11-love2 directory
2) change directory to the linux-2.6.11-love2 :)
3) in the linux-2.6.11-love2 kernel dir do :
Code:

# patch -p1 < 2.6.11-love2-usb-oops-fix1.diff

and that`s all - > next is recompiling :)

cheers.
_________________
"Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived" J-L. Picard ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
Sith_Happens wrote:
Naib wrote:
Sith_Happens wrote:
Quote:
just for the record I did try a "make clean" and also a "make depclean". Even unmerged and remerge to ensure fresh src code.
make clean should have done the trick, along with deleting your bad .config file (you probably didn't do this part). Just so you know depclean is a portage thing, there is no make depclean, unless it happens to be something coincidental in some package.


my mistake, I ment "make mrproper"
That can't be true, you said you tried both and you still couldn't get into the menuconfig and you had to edit your .config file by hand, but make mrproper deletes the .config file, and you would have to run make config or make menuconfig to create another one, which you said you couldn't run. See, your story is paradoxical.


so now you are calling me a lier ? Who the hell are you!!
Look, I had some problems configuring a decent kernel. I asked for help, I get abuse. Then I get questioned!
drop it
I'm not trying to start a flamewar, and certainly not in a useful thread like this one. I have kept an even head throughout this and I'm going to keep one now. I apologize, I didn't mean to imply that you were a liar, perhaps just confused. However my tone was a bit disrespectful and I recognize that. If you wan't to yell at me some more, you can pm or e-mail me, but let's leave this thread for people who need 2.6.11-love2 support.
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WladyX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 503
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrWoland wrote:
WladyX wrote:
DrWoland wrote:
mirko_3 wrote:
Probably someone much smarter than you...


Seconded.


Me too, the solution was already in thread.


You mean me three 8O


I meant me too not me two and let's cut the off-topic shall we, i already took your side :D
_________________
We are not alone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babykart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fallow wrote:
ExZombie wrote:
Hey, it works. No more USB problems, at least for now. Thanks big time :D .



GREAT !!!! :)

in thanks to J.Moilanen :)

cheers.


thanks for this very good job.... :D
_________________
>> GentooFR <<
-----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compiling with both patches now 8O Will be back to edit this post with results

8) 8) 8) Runs perfectly now, newest nicksched, everything I could possible enable in Love options. Thanks fallow, you're a huge badass 8O
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed your instructions on installing the patches, and I get this error:
Code:
patch: **** strip count l is not a number
I know there must be some stupid thing I'm doing wrong, but what?
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrWoland
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2004
Posts: 603

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sith_Happens wrote:
I followed your instructions on installing the patches, and I get this error:
Code:
patch: **** strip count l is not a number
I know there must be some stupid thing I'm doing wrong, but what?


re-merge the sources, then do
Code:

patch -p1 -i patch1filename.diff
patch -p1 -i patch2filename.diff


It was giving me trouble at first too for some reason until I remerged it.
_________________
I'm not a Guru, I just ask a lot of questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrWoland wrote:
Sith_Happens wrote:
I followed your instructions on installing the patches, and I get this error:
Code:
patch: **** strip count l is not a number
I know there must be some stupid thing I'm doing wrong, but what?


re-merge the sources, then do
Code:

patch -p1 -i patch1filename.diff
patch -p1 -i patch2filename.diff


It was giving me trouble at first too for some reason until I remerged it.


no need to remerge!
Code:
l != 1
:)

in bbcode "code" mode l looks like 1... :P

cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.11-love2
make clean (not mrproper, that would delete your .config too)
patch -p1 < /path/to/2.6.11-love2-usb-oops-fix1.diff

peace!
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay


Last edited by gimpel on Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A Hired Goon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 66
Location: Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Re new SK98lin driver

New driver in love2 release seems to have killed my nfs exporting abilities. I tried the new Rx polling at first, noticed noticed nfsd was exiting in kernel/current. everything/current showing rpc.mountd catching signal 15.
I took off the rx feature and still the same thing. I have reverted back to love1 and it works fine.

This is just a early guess/issue. I will try unpatching new driver from love2 etc etc to isolate the problem. anyone else having this issue?

beyond the nfs issue, the new driver seems to work fine. anyway, i shall try and test as soon as i can.

its a marvell yukon gigabit chipset on an iwill dk8x mobo.

thanks for another great release

A Hired Goon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought it was something simple and stupid, thanks Gimpel. :)
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dawid159
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 414
Location: /dev/Kłodzko

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have following error when I try to compile ndiswrapper :wink:
Code:
tux ndiswrapper-1.1 # make
make -C driver
make[1]: Entering directory `/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.11-love2/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver \
        NDISWRAPPER_VERSION=1.1 \
        EXTRA_VERSION= modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.11-love2'
  CC [M]  /tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.o
/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.c:1112:61: macro "kthread_run" requires 5 arguments, but only 3 given
/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.c: In function `PsCreateSystemThread':
/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.c:1112: error: `kthread_run' undeclared (first use in this function)
/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.c:1112: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.c:1112: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[3]: *** [/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver/ntoskernel.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [_module_/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.11-love2'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/tmp/ndiswrapper-1.1/driver'
make: *** [all] Error 2

How can I resolve this problem :?:
cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled it just fine, either you reverse swsusp2 (a PITA), or you compile it in and simply never use it (which I did with this release, not having much time...). At least, swsusp2 is one probable cause of the error... there may be others...
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robin79
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 632
Location: /home/valdemarsvik

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It hardlocks for me sometimes :( but not as fast as nitro does lol i also got some erros after i applied does patches hmm but i made it wrong mabey i dont know but when i ahd rebooted i aint getting em them more so i dont know :) at first it locked on startx after i rebooted i got some very odd error cant rember tough what it said and now it works...

Thanx for a good patchset :)
_________________
Gentoo 2005.0
ASUS P5AD2 Deluxe MB
Intel P4 3.2GHz
PCI-E Nvidia Geforce PCX 5750
--------------------

Registered Linux User Nr # 319050 http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from 'Kernel & Hardware'. This kernel is not supported by Gentoo.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Moved from 'Kernel & Hardware'. This kernel is not supported by Gentoo.
Still, Off the Wall? What's the harm of having it in Kernel & Hardware? fallow put's disclaimers everywhere. Oh well, you can't fight the man. :? This is such an active thread, I'm suprised it took them this long to notice and move it.
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian!
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 3827
Location: Essen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sith_Happens wrote:
ian! wrote:
Moved from 'Kernel & Hardware'. This kernel is not supported by Gentoo.
Still, Off the Wall? What's the harm of having it in Kernel & Hardware? fallow put's disclaimers everywhere. Oh well, you can't fight the man. :?

It's unsupported. Therefore topics like that belong to OTW from now on. Our developers are getting a lot of bugreports that are caused by unsupported ebuilds etc. That's why we finally move unsupported stuff out of the support forums.
_________________
"To have a successful open source project, you need to be at least somewhat successful at getting along with people." -- Daniel Robbins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ricky
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 339

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey all, I was wondering if anyone can help me with my framebuffer problem(s). Ever since vesafb-tng came out, I haven't been able to get it to work. No matter what resolution I give it, I just get a blank screen on boot-up (monitor blanks out, orange light and all). The computer is booting fine, cuz I can log in blind and startx and everything works. Dmesg says this:

Code:
[   39.861918] vesafb: ATI Technologies Inc., RG6 , 01.00 (OEM: ATI RADEON)
[   39.861973] vesafb: VBE version: 2.0
[   39.932832] vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:49dd
[   39.932860] vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00c4a71, set palette = c00c4abd
[   39.932888] vesafb: pmi: ports = 9010 9016 9054 9038 903c 905c 9000 9004 90b0 90b2 90b4
[   39.932988] vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 0 Hz, hf = 0 kHz, clk = 0 MHz
[   39.933045] vesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=960
[   41.171578] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 80x30
[   41.171732] vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xe0880000, using 600k, total 32768k
[   41.171861] fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device


I have an ATI All-in-Wonder Radeon (7200) and 2.6.11-love2 (obviously ;-)). I had been using vesafb (old school) for a while, but i decided to give -tng a try again. vesafb works, but when I quit x/switch to console, I just a black screen with green squares randomly placed.

So, if i could get either of these cleared up, I'd appreciate it.

oh yeah, grub!
Code:
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdi2 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1280x1024-16@60


Thanks! 8)

EDIT: Maybe this helps too:
Code:
$ cat /proc/fb0/vbe_info
Version:    2.0
Vendor:     ATI Technologies Inc.
Product:    RG6
OEM rev:    01.00
OEM string: ATI RADEON

Code:
$ cat /proc/fb0/modes
320x200-8
320x200-15
320x200-16
320x200-24
320x200-32
320x240-8
320x240-15
320x240-16
320x240-24
320x240-32
400x300-8
400x300-15
400x300-16
400x300-24
400x300-32
512x384-8
512x384-15
512x384-16
512x384-24
512x384-32
640x350-8
640x350-15
640x350-16
640x350-24
640x350-32
640x400-8
640x400-15
640x400-16
640x400-24
640x400-32
640x480-8
640x480-15
640x480-16
640x480-24
640x480-32
800x600-8
800x600-15
800x600-16
800x600-24
800x600-32
1024x768-8
1024x768-15
1024x768-16
1024x768-24
1024x768-32
1280x1024-8
1280x1024-15
1280x1024-16
1280x1024-24
1280x1024-32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ian! wrote:
Sith_Happens wrote:
ian! wrote:
Moved from 'Kernel & Hardware'. This kernel is not supported by Gentoo.
Still, Off the Wall? What's the harm of having it in Kernel & Hardware? fallow put's disclaimers everywhere. Oh well, you can't fight the man. :?

It's unsupported. Therefore topics like that belong to OTW from now on. Our developers are getting a lot of bugreports that are caused by unsupported ebuilds etc. That's why we finally move unsupported stuff out of the support forums.
Understandable, well anybody who is into love-sources will still be able to find it. :)
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ricky wrote:
oh yeah, grub!
Code:
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdi2 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1280x1024-16@60

We'll Ricky, your card obvioulsly supports that res and color depth, have you tried varying the refresh rate? See if that does anything.
_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feld
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 593
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

your USB patch breaks my ALSA that i run externally. I like to run it the old way with the alsasound script because it is way more up to date than what the kernel offers

Code:
larrydacow feld # /etc/init.d/alsasound restart
 * WARNING:  you are stopping a boot service.
 * Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ...                                          [ ok ]
 * Unloading ALSA ...
/etc/init.d/alsasound: line 140: 12170 Segmentation fault      $aconnect --remov eall                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Unloading ALSA modules ...                                             [ !! ]
larrydacow feld #


more info is given during the boot process, but this is all i can give you unfortunately.


-Feld
_________________
< bmg505> I think the first line in reiserfsck is

if (random(65535)< 65500) { hose(partition); for (i=0;i<100000000;i++) print_crap(); }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sith_Happens
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Dec 2004
Posts: 1807
Location: The University of Maryland at College Park

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

feld wrote:
your USB patch breaks my ALSA that i run externally. I like to run it the old way with the alsasound script because it is way more up to date than what the kernel offers

Code:
larrydacow feld # /etc/init.d/alsasound restart
 * WARNING:  you are stopping a boot service.
 * Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ...                                          [ ok ]
 * Unloading ALSA ...
/etc/init.d/alsasound: line 140: 12170 Segmentation fault      $aconnect --remov eall                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Unloading ALSA modules ...                                             [ !! ]
larrydacow feld #


more info is given during the boot process, but this is all i can give you unfortunately.


-Feld
I don't what to tell you, I use ALSA with the intel8x0 sound module, and I've got no problems with the patches. Did you look at the line of the initscript to try to figure out exactly where the error lies.

EDIT: I suppose this might be more of an alsasound problem, but here are the lines from /etc/init.d/alsasound:
Code:
terminate() {
   #
   # Kill processes holding open sound devices
   #
   # DEVS=`find /dev/ -follow -type c -maxdepth 1 -print 2>/dev/null | xargs ls -dils | grep "1*1[46]," | cut -d: -f2 | cut -d" " -f2; echo /proc/asound/dev/*`
   ossdevs="/dev/admmidi? /dev/adsp? /dev/amidi? /dev/audio* /dev/dmfm* \
         /dev/dmmidi? /dev/dsp* /dev/dspW* /dev/midi0? /dev/mixer? /dev/music \
         /dev/patmgr? /dev/sequencer* /dev/sndstat"
   alsadevs="/proc/asound/dev/* /dev/sound/* /dev/snd/*"
   fuser -k $ossdevs $alsadevs 2> /dev/null 1>/dev/null
   
   #
   # remove all sequencer connections if any
   #
   [ -f /proc/asound/seq/clients -a -x $aconnect ] && $aconnect --removeall
}

_________________
"That question was less stupid; though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way."
I'm the brains behind Jackass! | Tutorials: Shorewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 6 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum