Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bootstapping probs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
l-bartos-l
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:47 pm    Post subject: Bootstapping probs Reply with quote

I get this when I run the script:

Code:
livecd64 portage # scripts/bootstrap.sh

Gentoo Linux 2005.0; http://www.gentoo.org/
Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation; Distributed under the GPLv2
Starting Bootstrap of base system ...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  [[ (0/6) Locating packages ]]
 * Using baselayout : >=sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.4
 * Using portage    : >=sys-apps/portage-2.0.51
 * Using os-headers : >=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1-r2
 * Using binutils   : >=sys-devel/binutils-2.15.90.0.1.1-r1
 * Using gcc        : >=sys-devel/gcc-3.3.4
 * Using gettext    : sys-devel/gettext
 * Using libc       : virtual/libc
 * Using texinfo    : sys-apps/texinfo
 * Using zlib       : sys-libs/zlib
 * Using ncurses    : sys-libs/ncurses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  [[ (1/6) Configuring environment ]]
 * GENTOO_MIRRORS='http://ftp.belnet.be/mirror/rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo/ ftp://ftp.belnet.be/mirror/rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo/'
 * PORTDIR='/usr/portage'
 * DISTDIR='/usr/portage/distfiles'
 * PKGDIR='/usr/portage/packages'
 * PORTAGE_TMPDIR='/var/tmp'
 * CFLAGS='-march=athlon64 -O3 -pipe'
 * CHOST='x86_64-pc-linux-gnu'
 * CXXFLAGS='-march=athlon64 -O3 -pipe'
 * MAKEOPTS='-j2'
 * ACCEPT_KEYWORDS='amd64'
 * FEATURES='autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks sandbox'
 * STAGE1_USE='multilib'
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  [[ (2/6) Updating portage ]]
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-apps/portage-2.0.51.19 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) portage-2.0.51.19.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking portage-2.0.51.19.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/portage-2.0.51.19/work
>>> Source unpacked.
gcc: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.2/: Is a directory
 * No valid multilib environment found!
 * Building without multilib support. If
 * you want to have multilib support,
 * emerge gcc with "multilib" in your
 * useflags.
./create-localdecls
Checking truncate argument type... off_t
Checking libc version... gcc: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.2/: Is a directory
ldd: ./libctest: No such file or directory

rm: cannot remove `libctest': No such file or directory

gcc -O1 -pipe  -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPIC -fPIC -D_REENTRANT -Wall -c libsandbox.c
gcc: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.2/: Is a directory
make: *** [libsandbox.o] Error 1

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/portage-2.0.51.19 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 79, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.



Pls some suggestions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krusk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey

I have the same problem... I cant compile anything.

Which liveCD ar you using. I am using the ahorn0 LiveCD (and reiser4 on root). I think the problem is caused by the unstable LiveCD. Please tell me if you use another/the same LiveCD, or if you have solved the problem.
_________________
It isn't what you do, it's how it's done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l-bartos-l
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup use the same livecd that will be the problem!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As i wrote to krusk:
ahorn wrote:

this is not my fault, as you see, it's not my livecd that wont work anymore if you install gentoo, it's a chroot with a gentoos own stage tarball and the gcc from the tarball. at this point, only the kernel from the livecd is used anymore.
i got this problem, too, at the day i installed gentoo on my new system. so i take a precompiled gcc and put it over the gcc which comes from the stage tarball, then it works. this is the reason why i made the precompiled thing.
you need a newer gcc version, because the amd64 stages are broken, i guess. so take one from the precompiled cd or i'm going to upload you that package (i think i will do this).
good luck, ahorn

ahorn wrote:

search the mirros for gcc-3.4.3-r1.tbz2 and put it into /usr/portage/packages/All, then do emerge -K --nodeps --oneshot gcc, hope it will work. then just retry bootstrap.sh

krusk wrote:
Thank you very much!

That solved it. Ill keep you updated on the rest of mye install if you want to...

BTW: probably this fellow would appreciate an answer from you as well: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-305594-highlight-bootstrap+error.html

Thanks again (for the livcd & the help)! :)

_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.


Last edited by ahorn on Tue Mar 08, 2005 9:32 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l-bartos-l wrote:
Yup use the same livecd that will be the problem!

i don't think that it be the CD. but maybe i'm wrong and you can try it with antoher livecd so we can see what the problem is.

anyway, i chrooted on my harddisk a directory, unpacked stage1-amd64 to it and after an emerge sync i do the bootsrap which exactly failed with the error above. i use 2.6.11-morph1 on my harddisk, at the livecd it is 2.6.11-nitro0. with a 2.6.10-morph25 i got the same problem, too. maybe the problem is the fs or something other i don't see.
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i chat about the problem and maybe there's a newer bootstrap script in portage which does not fit the old stages.
so, it would be nice if we get a post with a different bootcd and same stage.

edit: it seems that the gcc profile is outdated.
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.


Last edited by ahorn on Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H3g3m0n
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also having this problem, i tried emerging a precompiled gcc like you said however now when i run bootstrap.sh rather than multilibs being broken i get a message about libsandbo.so missing :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

H3g3m0n wrote:
I am also having this problem, i tried emerging a precompiled gcc like you said however now when i run bootstrap.sh rather than multilibs being broken i get a message about libsandbo.so missing :(
i guess the gcc from the lucifer mirror is build without multilib, please try http://satanix.de/mirror/livecds/rescue-packages/gcc-3.4.3-r1.tbz2 , hope this will help.
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H3g3m0n
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That helped however I am now getting a error message while compiling gettext saying
Code:
Checking for C compiler default output name... configure: error: C compiler cannot executables
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

H3g3m0n wrote:
That helped however I am now getting a error message while compiling gettext saying
Code:
Checking for C compiler default output name... configure: error: C compiler cannot executables

please post me your cflags. anyway, i'm going to look to the gcc again, maybe got errors. did you do a emerge --nodeps --ondeshot gcc-config ?
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
H3g3m0n
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoopse! I have "-ffast=math" not "-ffast-math" must have hit the wrong key :p It seems to be going fine now :)

Last edited by H3g3m0n on Sun Mar 13, 2005 1:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

puh :-)
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maedhros
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2004
Posts: 5511
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread has an alternative method to fix the problem: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-310660.html
_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raest
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, if I read that thread correctly, it seems to be suggesting using the hardened gcc compiler as a workaround to the buggy default one on the livecd rather than downloading a rescue gcc version.

I'm trying that now, but seems like that might produce some strange results on a non-hardened system? I don't know that much about the hardened project, but will post how that experiment goes =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum