Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox and Java: Bane of my existence! [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The New Guy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 136
Location: Behind you...

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: Firefox and Java: Bane of my existence! [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hehe... ok, this is just stumping me to no end. I've read a ton of threads about getting this to work. I've read the Java HOWTO. I've read newsgroups posts about the issues and I've followed the advice given in each of those resources. Yet, still no luck.

I simply CANNOT get Java to work in Firefox without crashing on me. Whenever I visit a web site which requires Java (www.pogo.com), Firefox simply quits on me. I've re-emerged blackdown several times, re-emerged Firefox several times... all to no avail. And before ya ask, no, I cannot use sun/IBM Java... I am running 64bit and they are masked. Even when unmasked, they gave me even worse issues.

So... anyone have any advice on this? I've been fighting with it for 4 days now and I am simply not winning the battle. :)

Oh... I also have an issue getting flash to work. I emerged the binary version of Firefox and flash worked, but Java refused to be recognized no matter how many times I tried to link the files to make it work.

Many thanks for any help on this... sorry for the windy post as well.

The New Guy

Solved: Downloaded and installed sun-jdk 1.5.0.01 and the problem went away. Thanks for all the advice everyone! :)


Last edited by The New Guy on Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flazz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 496
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wont 32 bit sun java work?
is 32 bit better than a non working 64bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The New Guy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 136
Location: Behind you...

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

flazz wrote:
wont 32 bit sun java work?
is 32 bit better than a non working 64bit?


When I installed it I got constant error messages. That and it was a pain to get it to install on the 64-bit platform.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArtMotion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 11:47 pm    Post subject: Great question - I have the same :) Reply with quote

How do we get Java (sun preferably, blackdown, ...) work in Firefox. (I do tend to visit pogo.com).
I don't get it working on AMD64 and also have troubles on Intel systems :(

Maybe somebody could give some hints?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrdu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having this same problem, no matter what, I just can't get firefox + blackdown java + pogo.com to work together.

Here is the strange things.

about:plugins - shows java

http://java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml - works just fine

games.yahoo.com will bring up the 'room', but doesn't show anything (tested with Pool)

pogo.com - just crashed once the pop-up comes up.

And for the kicker? Opera works just fine at pogo.com and at Yahoo! Games.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dance2die
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: have you.. Reply with quote

Have you tried to copy java plugin library to your firefox plugin directory?

Check How do i install java on Mozilla support site.
Scroll down to "linux" section

That worked for me.

And also, wouldn't it be better an idea to tell us what kind of "HOWTO"'s you have read and have tried out so that we have to think of OTHER kinds of solutions ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrdu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
inside of /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/plugins/
javaplugin.so -> /opt/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.01/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so


http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Java_and_Firefox

I followed this howto, but I didn't create the link by hand. After the compile with the java and mozilla USE flags, it was already there. The HOWTO does state that firefox will crash if not compiled with the java USE flag, so I doubled checked and mozilla-firefox was compiled with the java flag. I just did a sync and saw there is a 1.0.1 version of firefox so I"m going to update and see if it helps at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrdu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upgraded to 1.0.1, still locks up. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nemein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Curitiba / BRAZIL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's basically what you have to do to get Java working within Firefox:

1) Compile Mozilla Firefox. As of now, the version available in Portage is version 1.0.1, which has the JAVA USE flag enabled by default.

Code:
emerge -av mozilla-firefox


2) You have to emerge the sun or blackdown JRE with the mozilla USE flag:

Code:

USE="mozilla" emerge -av sun-jre-bin # Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.


3) Create the symlink from the java plugin in the JRE to Firefox's plugins folder (this symlink creates a global symlink for any and all users that may come to use the system):

Code:
ln -s /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.4.2.07/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/plugins/
# Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.



That should do it for yah ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrdu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nemein wrote:
Here's basically what you have to do to get Java working within Firefox:

1) Compile Mozilla Firefox. As of now, the version available in Portage is version 1.0.1, which has the JAVA USE flag enabled by default.

Code:
emerge -av mozilla-firefox


2) You have to emerge the sun or blackdown JRE with the mozilla USE flag:

Code:

USE="mozilla" emerge -av sun-jre-bin # Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.


3) Create the symlink from the java plugin in the JRE to Firefox's plugins folder (this symlink creates a global symlink for any and all users that may come to use the system):

Code:
ln -s /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.4.2.07/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so
# Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.



That should do it for yah ;)


You would think woulnd't ya?

Code:
[ebuild   R   ] net-www/mozilla-firefox-1.0.1  -debug -gnome +java -ldap -mozdevelop -moznoxft -mozsvg -mozxmlterm -xinerama -xprint 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-java/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.01  +mozilla 0 kB


and

Code:

ls -alh /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/plugins/
total 20K
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 248 Feb 27 16:13 .
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root  72 Aug  8  2004 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   0 Feb 27 16:13 .keep
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root  37 Aug  8  2004 flashplayer.xpt -> /opt/netscape/plugins/flashplayer.xpt
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root  68 Feb 25 19:54 javaplugin.so -> /opt/blackdown-jre-1.4.2.01/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root  39 Aug  8  2004 libflashplayer.so -> /opt/netscape/plugins/libflashplayer.so
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root 20K Feb 27 16:13 libnullplugin.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root  39 Feb 27 13:19 mplayerplug-in.so -> /opt/netscape/plugins/mplayerplug-in.so


This is already how I have it setup, and I still crash on pogo.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nemein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Curitiba / BRAZIL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using the Sun JRE instead of Blackdown? I had issues using Blackdown but they went away very quickly once I started using the Sun JRE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vince
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked for me. Thanks

Nemein wrote:
Here's basically what you have to do to get Java working within Firefox:

1) Compile Mozilla Firefox. As of now, the version available in Portage is version 1.0.1, which has the JAVA USE flag enabled by default.

Code:
emerge -av mozilla-firefox


2) You have to emerge the sun or blackdown JRE with the mozilla USE flag:

Code:

USE="mozilla" emerge -av sun-jre-bin # Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.


3) Create the symlink from the java plugin in the JRE to Firefox's plugins folder (this symlink creates a global symlink for any and all users that may come to use the system):

Code:
ln -s /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.4.2.07/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/MozillaFirefox/plugins/
# Fill in the name of the proper JRE if you aren't using Sun's.



That should do it for yah ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum