Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't emerge certain KDE3.4.0_rc1 apps
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nightfrost
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master One wrote:
nightfrost wrote:
but I'm compiling kdemultimedia again, this time with really plain use-flags. Hey! It just finnished and it compiled fine! (To bad there are no optimizations though...)

Really plain USE-flags? Sorry, but I don't understand, what do USE-flags have to do with compile problems?

And the last time I tried, it made really no difference at all which CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS/LDFLAGS I used for compiling the trouble-makeing-KDE-package, what's why I thought, it can only be a problem with gcc itself, or the compile-flags gcc got compiled with.


Ah, sorry sorry! :oops: Of course I don't mean use-flags but CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS/LDFLAGS. I recompiled the toolchain with

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


and then tried to recompile kdemultimedia with
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -mtune=pentium4 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -fforce-addr"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -fvisibility=hidden"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"


Since that failed, I tried to compile kdemultimedia with the same set of compile-flags as I used for the toolchain and it compiled fine. Whereas, before the toolchain recompile| kdemultimedia wouldn't compile no matter what.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightfrost
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK; problem returned when compiling kdeaddons :(

Code:
.libs/base.o(.text+0x4b56): In function `Base::setProperty(unsigned int, QString const&, QString const&)':
: undefined reference to `Db::put(DbTxn*, Dbt*, Dbt*, unsigned int)'
.libs/base.o(.text+0x4b69): In function `Base::setProperty(unsigned int, QString const&, QString const&)':
: undefined reference to `Db::sync(unsigned int)'
.libs/base.o(.text+0x4ba0): In function `Base::setProperty(unsigned int, QString const&, QString const&)':
: undefined reference to `Dbt::~Dbt()'
.libs/base.o(.text+0x4bb8): In function `Base::setProperty(unsigned int, QString const&, QString const&)':
: undefined reference to `Dbt::~Dbt()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [noatun_oblique.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.4.0_rc1/work/kdeaddons-3.4.0/noatun-plugins/oblique'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.4.0_rc1/work/kdeaddons-3.4.0/noatun-plugins/oblique'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.4.0_rc1/work/kdeaddons-3.4.0/noatun-plugins'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.4.0_rc1/work/kdeaddons-3.4.0'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdeaddons-3.4.0_rc1 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 166, Exitcode 2
!!! died running emake, kde_src_compile:make
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.


There's a lot more of that undefined reference-business... This was compiled with really non-agessive flags... darnit! I thought I had it working now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llsardonicll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently using gcc-3.4.3.20050110..tried switching to gcc-3.3.4 and it didn't help.
My entire toolchain is compiled with
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llsardonicll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no idea on how to get around this.
The packages compile just fine on my other machine, same cxxflags as my main machine.
Only thing i see that could make a diffrence is it's strictly x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master One
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 754
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, just an update for those, who care:

After taking some time to study the gcc onlinedocs, I reverted to the following save set of flags for my IBM ThinkPad T42p:
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium-m -pipe -fforce-addr -fomit-frame-pointer -fweb"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"

The clue is, these few flags most likely will give a much better results, than the formerly used stacked "insane" flags.
I now see the sense of going -O2 instead of -O3, at least one of the "insane" flags had questionable results (-fprefetch-loop-arrays -> "These options may generate better or worse code"), and one definitely broke libs without error on compile (-fvisibility=hidden -> only to be used by developers, at least for now).

I compiled my whole system with these save set of flags, started right from the beginning with Bob P's fabulous installation method, and at the moment I am emerging KDE 3.3.2-r1 (I keep staying on the stable side now, and let others do the KDE3.4.0_rc1 testing).

This time everything looks alright.
_________________
Las torturas mentales de la CIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llsardonicll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something Odd...
I masked rc1 and started to recompile beta2, since it worked well.
Now, beta2 fails to compile with the exact same errors as rc1.
Nothing was changed except to update kde from beta2 to rc1.
Hmm...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master One
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 754
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

llsardonicll wrote:
Something Odd... I masked rc1 and started to recompile beta2, since it worked well. Now, beta2 fails to compile with the exact same errors as rc1. Nothing was changed except to update kde from beta2 to rc1. Hmm...

You probably have used a compile flag, that broke libs without failure on compile, so you have to check your flags, and recompile the whole system (this is what I have done, and it solved the problem).
_________________
Las torturas mentales de la CIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llsardonicll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's a very good possability. Just to test I downloaded konstruct and had it build a 3.4rc1 in my home directory. Every KDE component compiled flawlessly. It did build it's own /home version of glib, and xine... and it does seem that all my compile errors are multimedia related (kdemultimedia-kfile-plugins, juk, and kdeaddons-kfile-plugins)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irf2003
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-fvisibility=hidden, is your problem, remove it from your CXXFLAGS
hth
happy gentooing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum