Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using 2005.0 profile right from the beginning
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:22 pm    Post subject: update: bootstrapping a 2005.0 system worked! Reply with quote

OK, my system is still building, but it looks like it's working and is far enough along I think it is safe to post this. Here is what I did to bootstrap a stage1 2005.0 profile from a 2004.3 stage1 tarball (x86_64, multilib, udev, NPTL system):

1. do the usual install per the Gentoo handbook, up through untarring the stage1 tarball and entering the chrooted environment.

2. emerge sync

3. configure /etc/make.conf per the "upgrade from 2004.3 to 2005.0" instructions. Here is my 'emerge info' as a reference to something that worked (I use local mirrors, but they are up to date with the main portage tree as of 3/1/2005).
Code:
Portage 2.0.51-r15 (default-linux/amd64/2005.0, gcc-3.4.3-20050110, glibc-2.3.4.20050125-r0, 2.6.10-gentoo-r7 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.10-gentoo-r7 x86_64 AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 246
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16
Python:              dev-lang/python-2.3.4-r1 [2.3.4 (#1, Mar  2 2005, 16:46:00)]
distcc 2.18.3 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
dev-lang/python:     2.3.4-r1
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake:  1.5, 1.9.4, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.4_p6, 1.8.5-r3
sys-devel/binutils:  2.15.92.0.2-r1
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.10-r4
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.8.1-r4
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="2005-spring amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=opteron -pipe -fweb -frename-registers -ftracer"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/X11/xkb /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=opteron -pipe -fweb -frename-registers -ftracer"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs autoconfig ccache distlocks notitles sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://10.3.0.12/gentoo http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/ http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://10.3.0.12/2005-spring-mar"
USE="amd64 X aalib acpi alsa apache2 arts avi berkdb bindist bitmap-fonts blender-game cjk crypt cups dga dv dvd dvdr encode esd exif f77 fam fortran freetds gif gphoto2 gpm graphviz gtk imap imlib innodb insecure-drivers ipv6 jabber java jp2 jpeg kde lcms libg++ lzw lzw-tiff mikmod mime mng mozilla mozirc mpeg ncursesnetwork nls nptl odbc oggvorbis ooo-kde opengl oss pam pda pdflib perl png povray python quicktime radeon readline sdl slp spell ssl tcltk tcpd theora tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts usb userlocales xinerama xml xml2 xmms xpm xrandr xv xvid zlib video_cards_radeon"
Unset:  ASFLAGS, CBUILD, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY


4. Preemptively fix any compiler configuration issues (this may not be necessary, but it has been needed in the past):
Code:
gcc-config -l
gcc-config 2
env-update
source /etc/profile
gcc-config 1
env-update
source /etc/profile


5. modify bootstrap.sh ("../testing/scripts/bootstrap.sh" is old, "scripts/bootstrap.sh" is the modified 2005.0 version you want, so this patch IS correct even if the filenames appear deceptive)
Code:
--- ../testing/scripts/bootstrap.sh     2005-02-03 13:13:21.000000000 -0600
+++ scripts/bootstrap.sh        2005-03-01 15:51:58.000000000 -0600
@@ -186,17 +186,17 @@
        case "${opt}" in
                nls) myGETTEXT="gettext";;
                nptl)
-                       if [[ -z $(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0') ]] ; then
-                               eerror "You need to have >=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0 unmasked!"
-                               eerror "Please edit the latest >=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0 package,"
+                       if [[ -z $(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0') ]] ; then
+                               eerror "You need to have >=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0 unmasked!"
+                               eerror "Please edit the latest >=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0 package,"
                                eerror "and add your ARCH to KEYWORDS."
                                echo
                                cleanup 1
                        fi
-                       if [[ -n $(portageq best_version / sys-kernel/linux-headers) ]] ; then
-                               emerge -C sys-kernel/linux-headers
-                               emerge --nodeps --oneshot sys-kernel/linux26-headers
-                       fi
+#                      if [[ -n $(portageq best_version / sys-kernel/linux-headers) ]] ; then
+#                              emerge -C sys-kernel/linux-headers
+#                              emerge --nodeps --oneshot sys-kernel/linux26-headers
+#                      fi
                        USE_NPTL=1
                ;;
        esac
@@ -225,7 +225,7 @@

 # Do we really have no 2.4.x nptl kernels in portage?
 if [[ ${USE_NPTL} = "1" ]] ; then
-       myOS_HEADERS="$(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0')"
+       myOS_HEADERS="$(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0')"
        [[ -n ${myOS_HEADERS} ]] && myOS_HEADERS=">=${myOS_HEADERS}"
 fi
 [[ -z ${myOS_HEADERS} ]] && myOS_HEADERS="virtual/os-headers"

6. unmask linux-headers-2.6.8.1.-r4
Code:
echo "sys-kernel/linux-headers" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
echo "sys-kernel/linux-headers" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

7. bootstrap a stage3 system
Code:
emerge --oneshot --nodeps gcc-config
emerge -C linux-headers
emerge linux-headers
emerge --oneshot --nodeps gcc-config  ## second pass
emerge --oneshot '>=emul-linux-x86-glibc-2.3.4.20041102'
/usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap.sh

8. install 2004.3 system
Code:
emerge system

9. now essentially follow the manual "upgrade" process to go from a 2004.3 to 2005.0 system (we've already taken care of gcc-config):
Code:
emerge --oneshot '>=sys-apps/portage-2.0.51-r9'
emerge --oneshot '>=sys-devel/distcc-2.18.3-r1'
emerge -C linux26-headers  ## just in case
emerge --oneshot '>=linux-headers-2.6.8.1-r4'  ## just in case
emerge --oneshot '>=emul-linux-x86-glibc-2.3.4.20041102'

rm /lib32 /usr/lib32
mkdir /lib32 /usr/lib32

cp /emul/linux/x86/lib32/libsandbox.so /lib32
cp /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib32/libc.so /usr/lib32
cp /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib32/libpthread.so /usr/lib32
cp /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib32/*crt*.o /usr/lib32

env-update
source /etc/profile

emerge baselayout

rm /etc/make.profile
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2005.0 /etc/make.profile

emerge --oneshot '>=sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20041102'
emerge -C emul-linux-x86-glibc
emerge -uv system


10. continue installation per the handbook once again (installing static-grub, sshd, logger, cron daemon, mailer, xorg-x11, kde, etc.). I am currently well into this step, having installed xorg-x11 and compiling assorted GUI apps as I type this.

Best of luck!

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!


Last edited by jean-michel on Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great thanks for posting that i was just planning on waiting for 2005.0 to release. now i might as well give it a shot :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: caveate Reply with quote

NOTE that the AMD64 USE flag and ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is added by portage and shouldn't be in your /etc/make.conf. Also note that 2005-spring refers to an internal release of some in-house software, so your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS should remain commented out or set to "amd64."

My versions of the core toolchain are as follows:
Code:
sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.8.1-r4
sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.4-r7
sys-devel/libtool-1.5.10-r4
sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20050125
sys-libs/libstdc++-v3-3.3.4
sys-devel/gcc-3.4.3.20050110
sys-fs/udev-054
sys-kernel/gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.10-r7

_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shuiend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I got everything up untill Grub. I cannot for the life of me to get grub to install. I did a stage2 install just so everyone knows. Emerge grug failed. I then tried emerge grub-static and that worked. But when I run "grub" and setup (hd0) it gives me an error about /boot/grub/stage1 dosent exist. How do I fix this? I would like to be into this system by tonight and it seems this si the only thing keeping it form working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi intenso,

The Gentoo (AMD64) installation guide seems to have changed. It used to point out that one must use grub-static, now it assumes emerge grub will work as well. I always use grub-static, as it was my understanding that it was the only one that works with a 64-bit build. I suspect this is still true. In any event, you must also copy the stage files by hand to /boot/grub. (the manual inconviniently leaves this out as well, though it didn't used to).

Code:
cp /usr/share/grub/i386-pc/* /boot/grub


From there, continue on per the handbook (setting up your grub.conf, etc.).

Good luck!

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herbie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2002
Posts: 319
Location: London UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge grub should work just fine if you have a valid multilib toolchain. I've never had to copy anything to /boot/grub either. Possibly you didn't have /boot mounted when you emerged grub?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:25 am    Post subject: gcc broke Reply with quote

herbie wrote:
http://amd64.gentoo.org/2005.0-upgrade-amd64.xml


This script did not complete and now gcc is broken. I reinstalled 2004.3 stage 1 from scratch and tried it again with the same result.
Kernel compile complains about MAX_PATH not defined. Recompiling gcc complains
"configur: error: C preprocessor '/lib/cpp' fails sanity check.

/lib/cpp --version gives 3.4.3-r1

Sorry dont have a screen dump. Typing this on my li'll zaurus :(

My guess is that the include path or library path is broken somewhere. Any tips to fix it?

Update:
Looked in the Makefile-profile_update-2005.0 script and found that it unmerges linux26-headers. After re-emerging it the problem was fixed.
_________________
* most bugs can be reduced to either dependency or state *

Athlon64 X2 4800+ on Asus M2N SLI deluxe with 4GB Dual channel
video nVidia GForce 7300 GS 512MB (snail); xorg-7.2
kernel 2.6.24-gentoo-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VValdo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

herbie wrote:
http://amd64.gentoo.org/2005.0-upgrade-amd64.xml


FWIW, I've just heard these instructions are depreciated and you're supposed to use the ones here instead:

http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/base/amd64/howtos/index.xml?part=1&chap=1

Not sure what the difference is exactly. In the meanwhile, I'm in the last stage of updating the profile.. I hope it works.

W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 2:38 pm    Post subject: If the script doesn't work, I'd do it manually Reply with quote

I have to say, I did mine manually (and just to confirm, it did work, see my earlier step-by-step post on how to do it). Installed a very basic 2004.3 system (up through the "make system" step), then went through the "upgrade from 2004.3 to 2005.0 profile manually" process, then continued the build.

I don't trust magic scripts, so I prefer to do things step-by-step (particularly for tricky things like this) and have found that it works reasonably well.

good luck!

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zaai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
have to say, I did mine manually (and just to confirm, it did work, see my earlier step-by-step post on how to do it). Installed a very basic 2004.3 system

Yes I ended up doing exactly the same. Install a basic system and do the manual upgrade to 2005.0.
Worked like a charm. :D
Emerged everything up to qt and xorg now without a hitch (most unmasked).
Next is the masked kde-3.4
_________________
* most bugs can be reduced to either dependency or state *

Athlon64 X2 4800+ on Asus M2N SLI deluxe with 4GB Dual channel
video nVidia GForce 7300 GS 512MB (snail); xorg-7.2
kernel 2.6.24-gentoo-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intenso
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 89
Location: Germany, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:37 pm    Post subject: Re: update: bootstrapping a 2005.0 system worked! Reply with quote

Hi everybody!

jean-michel wrote:


5. modify bootstrap.sh ("../testing/scripts/bootstrap.sh" is old, "scripts/bootstrap.sh" is the modified 2005.0 version you want, so this patch IS correct even if the filenames appear deceptive)
Code:
--- ../testing/scripts/bootstrap.sh     2005-02-03 13:13:21.000000000 -0600
+++ scripts/bootstrap.sh        2005-03-01 15:51:58.000000000 -0600
@@ -186,17 +186,17 @@
        case "${opt}" in
                nls) myGETTEXT="gettext";;
                nptl)
-                       if [[ -z $(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0') ]] ; then
-                               eerror "You need to have >=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0 unmasked!"
-                               eerror "Please edit the latest >=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0 package,"
+                       if [[ -z $(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0') ]] ; then
+                               eerror "You need to have >=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0 unmasked!"
+                               eerror "Please edit the latest >=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0 package,"
                                eerror "and add your ARCH to KEYWORDS."
                                echo
                                cleanup 1
                        fi
-                       if [[ -n $(portageq best_version / sys-kernel/linux-headers) ]] ; then
-                               emerge -C sys-kernel/linux-headers
-                               emerge --nodeps --oneshot sys-kernel/linux26-headers
-                       fi
+#                      if [[ -n $(portageq best_version / sys-kernel/linux-headers) ]] ; then
+#                              emerge -C sys-kernel/linux-headers
+#                              emerge --nodeps --oneshot sys-kernel/linux26-headers
+#                      fi
                        USE_NPTL=1
                ;;
        esac
@@ -225,7 +225,7 @@

 # Do we really have no 2.4.x nptl kernels in portage?
 if [[ ${USE_NPTL} = "1" ]] ; then
-       myOS_HEADERS="$(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.0')"
+       myOS_HEADERS="$(portageq best_visible / '>=sys-kernel/linux-headers-2.6.0')"
        [[ -n ${myOS_HEADERS} ]] && myOS_HEADERS=">=${myOS_HEADERS}"
 fi
 [[ -z ${myOS_HEADERS} ]] && myOS_HEADER



Thank you very much indeed. I will give it a try now. Could you just tell me whether I have to edit the bootstrap.sh myself or has it already been updated in the current portage tree?

Bye, intenso ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to edit it yourself. You can either apply the unified diff file from within the portage directory, or hand edit it. It just amounts to changing all the references from linux26-headers to linux-headers (and make sure you've unmasked linux-headers-2.6.8.1-r4!).

good luck!

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intenso
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 89
Location: Germany, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

jean-michel wrote:
you have to edit it yourself. You can either apply the unified diff file from within the portage directory, or hand edit it. It just amounts to changing all the references from linux26-headers to linux-headers (and make sure you've unmasked linux-headers-2.6.8.1-r4!).
good luck!


I know there is command to apply these changes automatically, but I just can't remember?! Could you write it down?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure.

save the patch as somename.patch

then:
Code:
cd /usr/portage
patch -p0 < /full/path/to/somename.patch


otherwise, if you can't get it to work (e.g. bootstrap.sh has changed in the last day or so too much for the patch to work, or what have you), just find every reference to linux26-headers in bootstrap.sh and remove the "26", i.e. linux26-headers-blah becomes linux-headers-blah, etc.

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intenso
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 89
Location: Germany, Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

It's me again...

I have followed the above instructions so far (I just wanted to update the system --> emerge -uv system, last step of jean-michel's instructions) everthing went fine. Unfortunately, I have noticed some problems:

- /etc/env.d./04multilib doesn't exist, but the update guide says that there should be such a file
- even after converting to 2005.0 emerge -uv system doesn't want to update any packages (is this normal?)
- The ACCEPT_KEYWORDS output of emerge info is quite strange: ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=" amd64 ~amd64" Where does the amd64 come from? I wrote ~amd64 in my make.conf, so amd64 shouldn't be used

Has anybody answers to my questions above?

Bye, intenso ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:57 pm    Post subject: Dunno Reply with quote

I'm not sure what to make of your missing /etc/env.d/04multilib file. Mine exists.

qpkg -f /etc/env.d/04multilib reveals that it is created by baselayout. I'm running sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.4-r7 .

Perhaps you should try reemerging baselayout.

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intenso
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 89
Location: Germany, Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Dunno Reply with quote

Hi!

jean-michel wrote:
I'm not sure what to make of your missing /etc/env.d/04multilib file. Mine exists.

qpkg -f /etc/env.d/04multilib reveals that it is created by baselayout. I'm running sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.4-r7 .

Perhaps you should try reemerging baselayout.


I am running a version of baselayout which is newer than yours (1.11.9-r1), but so far I haven't run into problems with this configuration. I have already emerged X.org, Firefox, XFCE4, Thunderbird and everthing is fine.
Moreover, I wanted to install openoffice, but there seems to be only a bin-version of it for amd64. Am I right? As dependecies of it, openoffice-bin wants me to emerge some emul-* packages. I thought that they weren't necessary any longer by using 2005.0?!

Bye, intenso ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jyrinx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 May 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Carleton College - Northfield, MN

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

intenso wrote:

- /etc/env.d/04multilib doesn't exist, but the update guide says that there should be such a file


Wow, great. Looks like this is a known bug, reported weeks ago. It's a good thing the 2005.0 release was delayed ... seems like a serious problem (one that a torrent of upgraders would have run into all at once ...)

I just installed the immediately previous baselayout instead, and it appears happy for the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:30 pm    Post subject: I use OO 1.1.4 Reply with quote

I use OpenOffice 1.1.4.
Code:
echo app-office/openoffice-bin >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge openoffice-bin


Works perfectly.

Jean.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cold
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hemm some problems here
Code:

emerge --oneshot '>=sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20041102' 


checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking for long double... yes
checking size of long double... configure: error: cannot compute sizeof (long double), 77
See `config.log' for more details.

!!! ERROR: sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20050125 failed.
!!! Function glibc_do_configure, Line 782, Exitcode 1
!!! failed to configure glibc
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.

livecd scripts #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cold wrote:
Hemm some problems here


Search the forum before you post people :wink:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-293507.html

Cheers
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum