Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-rc5-nitro0: Fear And Loathing In intermodule.c
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fallow wrote:
Tiger683 wrote:
in fact, but it b0rks quite a lot, staircase is just not designed for smooth transitions, and preempting in realtime (...) /* snip */
T

yeah ;)

btw. for me O(1) since some time (2.6.10 I think [after every past mm sched patch is in vanilla]) is also very good and playing really very well. Now other schedulers are not thumping O(1) as in the past becuase he is realli nice now :)

cheers.


And if you add the patches nick piggin recently submitted, it contends with staircase easly :).
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Internet connection was down. I'll download the new patch and post the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ pred: u mean those that are in rc5-mm1?

im already having a run on second rt with those included.....
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NiLuJe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 303
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu, I recompiled the kernel & nvidia, & .. it works! ;D Must have missed something the first time, sorry :)

I'll try to mount my reisser4 data partition .. cross your fingers ;D

EDIT : Reiser4 seems to works ;) It's not my / , but it's mounted now, and seems to works fine ;)

EDIT² : Hum, my dmesg is filled with "crq requeued" lines ... oO


Last edited by NiLuJe on Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:10 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallow
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but btw. about 13 Nick`s patches - they including only the multiprocessor scheduler patches ;)

cheers.
_________________
"Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived" J-L. Picard ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, thats what he emailed me about recently, the new smp code, but thx for the infos.

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, hugely off topic, but...
Darckness wrote:
Whew. Sorry that stuff has gone to hell, but I suppose that's what happens when I get a massive fever and am clinically dead for 15 hours.

Did you mean that last part literally? 8O
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Illissius: I was unable to be roused for those 15 hours. Sure, maybe I didn't have a doctor come over here and actually declare it, but I think it was close enough.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
I'm trying the new nitro version with realtime enabled but i have some problems:

1]When the system loads the NVIDIA kernel module, i get this:
Code:

Mar  1 19:52:10 tux NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-6629  Wed Nov  3 13:12:51 PST 2004
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux BUG: modprobe/3213, lock held at task exit time!
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux [dfd115e4] {&os_sema->wait}
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux .. held by:          modprobe: 3213 [df6c4110, 125]
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux ... acquired at:  crq requeued

And then i have a lot of these:
Code:

Mar  1 19:55:20 tux crq requeued
Mar  1 19:55:33 tux crq requeued
Mar  1 19:55:33 tux crq requeued
Mar  1 19:55:35 tux crq requeued
[...]

Although the error, Xorg starts and i'm able to log in ... and to post on this forum with konqueror ;)

2]When i try to switch between framebuffer consoles i get a blank screen and no further response from the system.
I didn't find any related error in the log files.
Note:I use vesafb-tnb and fbslash.

3] I have two disks on my machine and with previous kernels the first one was registered as hda and the second one as hdb. Now i get this:
Code:

[...]
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hda: max request size: 1024KiB
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hda: 80293248 sectors (41110 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63, UDMA(66)
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hda: cache flushes supported
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hda: hda1 hda2 hda3 hda4
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hdb: max request size: 128KiB
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hdb: 39102336 sectors (20020 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=38792/16/63, UDMA(66)
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hdb: cache flushes not supported
Mar  1 19:52:10 tux hdq: hdq1
[...]

In /dev i don't have hdb (and the partition hdb1) anymore, but hdq (and hdq1), why?
Note:I use udev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zephyrus: If it works, don't question it. The tux stuff is from tux which you have enabled in your kernel. As for the console switching, I'd say try not to switch consoles too much ;). I have the same issue with disk name switching on my computer. It's a bit irritating, but nothing that can't be fixed.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ebuild is FUBAR again. Look here:

Code:

 After installing a new kernel of any version, it is important
 * that you have the appropriate /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-X.Y
 * created (X.Y is the first 2 parts of your new kernel version)

 * For example, this kernel will require:
 * /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6

 * IMPORTANT:
 * This is a experimental kernel version, I'm not responsible for breaking your system
 * ALWAYS keep a second stable and bootable kernel apart in your boot manager
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QA Notice: USE Flag 'want-experimental' not in IUSE for sys-kernel/nitro-sources-2.6.11_rc5-r0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 * You have enabled experimental patches.  They've been tested, but only as
 * far as running on the developers' systems.

 * If bad things happen, remember:
 * YOU chose it.

 * Now fire up your compiler, reboot, and fasten your seatbelts. You'll definitely need your seatbelts for this ride!

>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                       [ ok ]>>> sys-kernel/nitro-sources-2.6.11_rc5-r0 merged.
>>> Recording sys-kernel/nitro-sources in "world" favorites file...

>>> clean: No packages selected for removal.

>>> Auto-cleaning packages ...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.


 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.


I've had enough rc5 ebuilds for today. I'm going to do everything manually.


Last edited by a13x on Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
Zephyrus: If it works, don't question it. The tux stuff is from tux which you have enabled in your kernel. As for the console switching, I'd say try not to switch consoles too much ;). I have the same issue with disk name switching on my computer. It's a bit irritating, but nothing that can't be fixed.


Actually Tux is the name of my host.
I know, i'm not a very creative talent when we are talking about system's names :D.

EDIT:
I find that the "crq requeued" message appears if and only if i select the cfq scheduler, and i don't think it is linked with the NVIDIA module problem because, when i use another scheduler, i get:
[code]
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-6629 Wed Nov 3 13:12:51 PST 2004
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux BUG: modprobe/3223, lock held at task exit time!
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux [dfd0f5e4] {&os_sema->wait}
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux .. held by: modprobe: 3223 [de8d8820, 125]
Mar 1 20:55:11 tux ... acquired at: <6>eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[code]
Somehow the following message isn't written in a new line but on the same one of "... acquired at:"


Last edited by Zephyrus on Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for everyone who are annoyed about some verbose dmesg output:

i added some extra debug stuff, + rt may cause false alarms especially with spinlock debugging and preemption debugging on, as it uses different mechanisms for both tasklocking ( mutexes and such instead ) and preemption than the vanilla.

Here is my config part for kernel hacking i use for my box, and besides of dmesg messages from boot, no further trash in dmesg:

Tiger683's Kernel hacking section of .config wrote:

#
# Kernel hacking
#
CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_MAGIC_SYSRQ=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=17
# CONFIG_DETECT_SOFTLOCKUP is not set
# CONFIG_SCHEDSTATS is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_SLAB is not set
# CONFIG_WAKEUP_TIMING is not set
# CONFIG_CRITICAL_PREEMPT_TIMING is not set
# CONFIG_CRITICAL_IRQSOFF_TIMING is not set
# CONFIG_RT_DEADLOCK_DETECT is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_KOBJECT is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_BUGVERBOSE is not set
CONFIG_DEBUG_INFO=y
# CONFIG_PAGE_OWNER is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_FS is not set
# CONFIG_USE_FRAME_POINTER is not set
CONFIG_EARLY_PRINTK=y
# CONFIG_DEBUG_STACKOVERFLOW is not set
# CONFIG_KPROBES is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_STACK_USAGE is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_PAGEALLOC is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_4 is not set
CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_8=y
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_16 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_32 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_64 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_128 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_256 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_512 is not set
# CONFIG_VAR_STACKS_1024 is not set
CONFIG_CFLAGS_EDIT=y
CONFIG_CFLAGS_STRING="-O3 -march=athlon-xp -mtune=athlon-xp -mmmx -msse -m3dnow -pipe"
# CONFIG_CFLAGS_OVERRIDE is not set
CONFIG_X86_FIND_SMP_CONFIG=y
CONFIG_X86_MPPARSE=y


T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a13x: The ebuild is not FUBAR. That's definitely some kind of portage bug. Anyway, I get that too but it doesn't affect anything.

In other news, IT is currently 1/2 finished. I'm running IT now. You guys are gonna be sooooo surprised...
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Zephyrus:

Your Nvidia module conflicts with the lan driver, what is your ethernet harware?

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bad news !
This time I get an auto-reboot when I start the new rt kernel. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zephyrus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
@Zephyrus:

Your Nvidia module conflicts with the lan driver, what is your ethernet harware?

T


My ethernet controller is a Realtek 8139C.

But...Are you sure? Isn't this a format error in the log?
Because with cfq i get:
Code:

Mar  1 21:12:24 tux NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-6629  Wed Nov  3 13:12:51 PST 2004
Mar  1 21:12:24 tux BUG: modprobe/3211, lock held at task exit time!
Mar  1 21:12:24 tux [dfd115e4] {&os_sema->wait}
Mar  1 21:12:24 tux .. held by:          modprobe: 3211 [df7538f0, 125]
Mar  1 21:12:24 tux ... acquired at:  crq requeued
Mar  1 21:12:24 tux crq requeued
Mar  1 21:12:26 tux eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
Mar  1 21:12:27 tux crq requeued

with deadline:
Code:

Mar 1 20:55:09 tux NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-6629 Wed Nov 3 13:12:51 PST 2004
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux BUG: modprobe/3223, lock held at task exit time!
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux [dfd0f5e4] {&os_sema->wait}
Mar 1 20:55:09 tux .. held by: modprobe: 3223 [de8d8820, 125]
Mar 1 20:55:11 tux ... acquired at: <6>eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1


Last edited by Zephyrus on Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok guys, the answer is: new rt is already on its (early ) way, ill try to reduce the amount of patches to under 100.

for now, i can only say *sigh*,

and please, report any other issues.

a13x: what errors do you get? none? not using framebuffer?

T

EDIT:

no, the task for modprobing your nvidia is unable to aquire a lock because your ethernet controller driver task is still holding it...
i dont know if its an issue with the driver itself or maybe the vector signaled interrupts or something...
i use sk98lin for my yukon w/o probs and can only say *sigh*
W will see with the next rt... i guess me and darckness are the only ones running it without issues
im puzzled....

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a13x
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No framebuffer, nu logo just clean console view.

I would post the error but it just auto-reboots and there is no time to see anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlinkEye
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 1042
Location: Gentoo Forums

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i'm just about to compile another kernel (it has become a habit :wink:). is realtime worth a try or is it just too bugy?
_________________
Easily backup up your system? klick
Get rid of SSH Brute Force Attempts / Script Kiddies klick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BlinkEye: If it works, it's worth it. If it doesn't, it isn't. Seems to be about 50/50 that it works (disable fb to bring the chance of it working up to 75%).
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlinkEye
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 1042
Location: Gentoo Forums

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the answer. i'll give it a try - i don't give anything on framebuffer.
_________________
Easily backup up your system? klick
Get rid of SSH Brute Force Attempts / Script Kiddies klick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apolonius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jan 2003
Posts: 325

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning the "ide crazy numbers bugs" in the rt sources, this patch solves the problem:
http://lkml.org/lkml/2005/2/23/214
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apolonius: Thanks; I'll pass this along to Tiger683 so he can throw it in.

Update on IT: We've just finished the final testing, and IT is fully functional now. Now all that remains is for 2.6.11 to arrive so that we can unleash IT upon unsuspecting users everywhere.:D
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rzZzn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 96
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My compile fails :(
Here's my output

Code:

  SYSCALL arch/x86_64/ia32/vsyscall-sysenter.so
  AS      arch/x86_64/ia32/vsyscall-syscall.o
  SYSCALL arch/x86_64/ia32/vsyscall-syscall.so
  CC      arch/x86_64/ia32/syscall32.o
  CC      arch/x86_64/ia32/ipc32.o
  CC      arch/x86_64/ia32/ia32_aout.o
  LD      arch/x86_64/ia32/built-in.o
  CC      kernel/sched.o
kernel/sched.c:3980: error: redefinition of '__kstrtab_task_nice'
kernel/sched.c:3972: error: previous definition of '__kstrtab_task_nice' was here
kernel/sched.c:3980: error: redefinition of '__ksymtab_task_nice'
kernel/sched.c:3972: error: previous definition of '__ksymtab_task_nice' was here
make[1]: *** [kernel/sched.o] Error 1
make: *** [kernel] Error 2


Any ideas

Oh I´m on amd64...

Great patchsets otherwise 2.6.10-nitro4 works just fine with both reiser4 xfs and nvidia...
But not this on :cry:

//rZn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum