Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
i915 and xorg - how?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 2:11 pm    Post subject: Exactly same output Reply with quote

This is exactly same output. Maybe Xorg-6.8.2-r1 is not patched with suse stuff. I'll try previous this afternoon.

Just a question, as frame buffer I'm using vesafb-tg, should I use i810fb or intelfb with this card?
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klavs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 536
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I don't use framebuffer - so I have no idea :)
_________________
Best regards,

Klavs Klavsen
Denmark

Working with Unix is like wrestling a worthy opponent.
Working with windows is like attacking a small whining child
who is carrying a .38.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:36 pm    Post subject: Maybe it is frame buffer cause Reply with quote

Maybe the vesafb is the problem, I'll try without frame buffer
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, using 2.6.11.2 and 6.8.2-r1 I still cannot get the i810 X.org driver working.

On the other hand, I was able to get a widescreen VESA mode (1680x1050) working and that is what I will be using for now, until 6.8.3 supports the i915GM.
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klavs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 536
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm an idiot guys.

I just accidently wiped my xorg-x11 - and when I unpacked my package of xorg-x11-6.8.2 it didn't work, which it should have (I thought :)

I have it running now - and found that I had actually installed a dri driver on top (no package - just plain ugly) - and thats why it works.

So follow the guide on my homepage - http://vsen.dk - I've put a link to where you can the snapshots.
_________________
Best regards,

Klavs Klavsen
Denmark

Working with Unix is like wrestling a worthy opponent.
Working with windows is like attacking a small whining child
who is carrying a .38.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah!! That explains it.

Well, for now this 1680x1050 in VESA mode is just fine, although a bit slow. It'll work until 6.8.3 comes out.
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:10 am    Post subject: Given a try to XFree 4.5.0 Reply with quote

Hi, I tried today XFree86 4.5.0. This time X detected my card, but I endded up whith no DRI. It says it can't find drm devices. In fact /dev/dri/ is empty. Then I noticed an other thing, each time I load X, (Xorg or XFree86) I get an error from kernel saying no more MTRRs. Anyone have this output from kernel.
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:16 am    Post subject: i8k Reply with quote

Klavs, on your site you say you need to get i8k working. Just add i8k.force to your kernel params and then it workd like a charm Note, I started writing a script to contrôle fans because termal sensors indicates high peek some time, this make your fan switch from level 1 to 2 too fast.
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:55 am    Post subject: Re: i8k Reply with quote

stormer wrote:
Klavs, on your site you say you need to get i8k working. Just add i8k.force to your kernel params and then it workd like a charm Note, I started writing a script to contrôle fans because termal sensors indicates high peek some time, this make your fan switch from level 1 to 2 too fast.


Stormer, check out my last post on this thread regarding i8k and fan control. It has worked beautifully for me. Right now I'm sitting at 34C! Earlier in the day I compiled 25 packages for K3B and the temps never got above 56C. No fan oscillation either.
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klavs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 536
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have forced it in - but I still couldn't control my fans :(

If you could detail what you did to stop your fans, I'd be very happy :)
_________________
Best regards,

Klavs Klavsen
Denmark

Working with Unix is like wrestling a worthy opponent.
Working with windows is like attacking a small whining child
who is carrying a .38.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sejam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:19 am    Post subject: Re: Given a try to XFree 4.5.0 Reply with quote

stormer wrote:
Hi, I tried today XFree86 4.5.0. This time X detected my card, but I endded up whith no DRI. It says it can't find drm devices. In fact /dev/dri/ is empty. Then I noticed an other thing, each time I load X, (Xorg or XFree86) I get an error from kernel saying no more MTRRs. Anyone have this output from kernel.


I installed xorg from cvs and I was able to get X to detect my card correctly using the i810 driver. Unfort, I don't have anthing in /dev/dri/ either. I checked my logs, and I don't have a MTRR's entry at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Revellion
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 87
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for most i8xx family Intel Onboard Graphic cards the Xorg 6.8.2 series fixes the issues. So was the case for me on one of my boxes. it can't hurt to install the xorg 6.8.2 (Note: it's ~x86'ed in portage)
_________________
Gentoo 2006.0 + NPTL + 2.6.15-r1-sources + gcc 3.4.4 100% built. glibc 2.3.5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Klavs wrote:
I have forced it in - but I still couldn't control my fans :(

If you could detail what you did to stop your fans, I'd be very happy :)


You'll notice that when you boot, the fans stay on high. When the i8k module loads, the fans kick down to a reasonable speed. I load this module in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 Then I removed the i8k script from the runlevel (rc-update del i8k default) and now the BIOS controls the fan speeds.
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:40 pm    Post subject: Not sure Reply with quote

I'm not a master of i8k, I don't even red the code. But you can find lot of usfull information in /usr/share/doc/i8kutils-1.25/.

First select i8k in kernel:
Code:
CONFIG_I8K=y

Then add this to your grub kernel params:
Code:
i8k.force


Reboot. If it works, you should have this output in dmesg:
Code:
Dell laptop SMM driver v1.13 14/05/2002 Massimo Dal Zotto (dz@debian.org)

Meaning SMM bios is load, this come after detection, then:
Code:
emerge i8kutils

To stop your fan try:
Code:
i8kctl fan - 0

Note, the - is used because you have only one fan. to get your fan tune in sync with your cpu temperature:
Code:
/etc/init.d/i8k start


This is all. I haven't messed up with any dev packages, or binaries. Note, that a moment will comme where temp will indicates a big number for a very short moment of time. This will cause your fan to travel from level 0 to 2 and then back to 0 very fastly. I'm writing a script that will change using temp average.
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:47 pm    Post subject: Using dri Reply with quote

I've installed dri snapshot as mentionned on Kevs website and install script juste works. I now have /dev/dri/card0. I've compile stable XFree86 4.5.0 and every thing works (I messed up with kbd). Since Gentoo Xorg developper decided to put X11R6 in /usr, it's hard to test other X server. You need to edit /etc/ld.so.conf to find XFree libs first. Same for your path.

Now that it works, I tried tuxrace and Quake3. Both works. Next step was to wath DVD, but I found that this was not possible because I can't get DMA working out of the PHILIPS combo drive. Here is the output from hdparm:
Code:
/dev/hdc:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

I found weird to get a not permitted error insted of not supported.
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UB|K
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 786
Location: Villeurbanne, France

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello guys, thanks to this thread i've managed to get dri working on my new laptop (with i915GM card) but my problem is that, what ever i change in xorg.cong, i get a 1024x768 res so i can't have a widescreen display (my monitor is WXGA 15,4" and it sould run at 1280x800).
Here's a part of xorg.conf:
Code:
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "WXGA"
    Option   "dpms"
    HorizSync   30-100
    VertRefresh 30-90
    Option      "FlatPanelProperties"   "Scaling = aspect-scaled"
    Option   "UseEdidFreqs"   "1"
    ModeLine    "1280x800"  83.46 1280 1344 1480 1680 800 801 804 828
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "i915GM"
    Driver      "i810"
    VideoRam    131072
EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "i915GM"
    Monitor     "WXGA"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
   Modes       "1280x800"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

And everything looks fine in xorg's log:
Code:
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
   compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
   ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading sub module "drm"
(II) LoadModule: "drm"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/modules/linux/libdrm.a
(II) Module drm: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
   compiled for 6.8.2, module version = 1.0.0
   ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DRI
(II) LoadModule: "i810"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/modules/drivers/i810_drv.o
(II) Module i810: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
   compiled for 6.8.1.99, module version = 1.3.0
   Module class: X.Org Video Driver
   ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
(II) I810: Driver for Intel Integrated Graphics Chipsets: i810, i810-dc100,
   i810e, i815, i830M, 845G, 852GM/855GM, 865G, 915G, 915GM
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 00:02:0
(--) Assigning device section with no busID to primary device
(WW) I810: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:1) found
(--) Chipset 915GM found
....
Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
(II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Software Rev: 1.0
(II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: Intel Corporation
(II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Product: Intel(r)915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Controller
(II) I810(0): VESA VBE OEM Product Rev: Hardware Version 0.0
(II) I810(0): Integrated Graphics Chipset: Intel(R) 915GM
(--) I810(0): Chipset: "915GM"
....
(II) I810(0): Display Info: LFP (local flat panel): attached: TRUE, present: TRUE, size: (1280,800)
(II) I810(0): Size of device LFP (local flat panel) is 1280 x 800
(II) I810(0): Currently active displays on Pipe B:
(II) I810(0):    LFP (local flat panel)
(II) I810(0): Lowest common panel size for pipe B is 1280 x 800
(==) I810(0): Display is using Pipe B

In fact, the only annoying thing i still have is that:
Code:
(--) I810(0): A non-CRT device is attached to pipe B.
   No refresh rate overrides will be attempted.

and after this line, xorg seems to probe for valid modes and it finaly rejects the one i've set in the config file:
Code:
(II) I810(0): Not using mode "1280x800" (no mode of this name)
(--) I810(0): Virtual size is 1024x768 (pitch 1024)
(**) I810(0):  Built-in mode "1024x768"

And i always get the same 1024x768 X inside of my 1280x800 LCD display (and two awful black stripes on each side).
If someone had any solution for this, i would be very grateful because i've read so many threads and tried so many different configs that i start to be tired of this (i had time to emerge whole gnome while trying to solve this!!).
By the way, few for infos: i use a 2.6.11-mm4 kernel (also tried gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.11-r3) and the same problem occurs with vesa driver...
Thx in advance.
_________________
Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hicsuget
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Suburban MD

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to Klav's snapshot I was able to get 1680x1050 running. Oddly, though, if I try to load right into Gnome I get some "PCI bus device not found" error message. If I start X using Fluxbox the 1680x1050 comes right up, and then I can start Gnome from within Fluxbox in 1680x1050 without any errors. This is no big deal -- I'm in the process of switching away from using Gnome for other reasons.

I do have some lingering problems with Linux on my Inspiron 6000, though. Whenever I close the lid while Linux is up and running, the screen goes black and refuses to come up again. I have to mash down on the power button a few times to shut down, and that wreaks havoc on my mounted filesystems. I've tried dozens of different kernel configurations with APM and ACPI, but nothing has worked.

Also, Gentoo and Grub see my internal HD as /dev/sda, but Debian sees it as /dev/hda. Any reason why this might be?

And last, I emerged tpconfig to try to get the scroll-thingies on the touchpad to work. When I run it I get a fatal error that says "No Synaptics or ALPS touchpad device found." When I run dmesg I see:
Code:
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
input: AT Translated Set 2 keyboard on isa0060/serio0
ALPS Touchpad (Glidepoint) detected
  Disabling hardware tapping
input: AlpsPS/2 ALPS TouchPad on isa0060/serio1

Any clue on this one?

Thanks,
Chad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sejam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Using dri Reply with quote

stormer wrote:
I've installed dri snapshot as mentionned on Kevs website and install script juste works. I now have /dev/dri/card0. I've compile stable XFree86 4.5.0 and every thing works (I messed up with kbd). Since Gentoo Xorg developper decided to put X11R6 in /usr, it's hard to test other X server. You need to edit /etc/ld.so.conf to find XFree libs first. Same for your path.

Now that it works, I tried tuxrace and Quake3. Both works. Next step was to wath DVD, but I found that this was not possible because I can't get DMA working out of the PHILIPS combo drive. Here is the output from hdparm:
Code:
/dev/hdc:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

I found weird to get a not permitted error insted of not supported.


After seeing your note, I tried the same thing and got the same response. While looking through my dmesg, I did notice this line though:
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx

Does anybody know if the bus speed is really 33 or is it actually higher? How would I go about finding out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentood
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you guys get on glxgears? Have you been able to enable dri?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:54 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Thanks for the clue, I'll try to get information about PIO bus and speed associated to it. For DRI and glx gear I got 1200 frames per second with default size, and near 50 frames when maximize. I'm using XFree86 4.5.0. Quake run fluently, I havent tried Unreal yet. For ALPS I have the opposite message, which is enabling hardware tapping, and that sucks. XFree does not seam to reconize it, and standard conf from kernel is bad.
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hicsuget wrote:

Also, Gentoo and Grub see my internal HD as /dev/sda, but Debian sees it as /dev/hda. Any reason why this might be?


This is most likely because you are using a 2.6 kernel on Gentoo and a 2.4 kernel on Debian.

The 2.6 series uses libata for SATA support and the drives will appear as SCSI drives, hence the 'sd'. The 2.4 kernels don't do this and the drive will appear as an IDE device and appear as an 'hd' device.
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:28 am    Post subject: Still messing with dma and openGL Reply with quote

Hi,

I've not been able to get dma works on cd. It's seems that ide_generic load cdrom before any piix driver and when piix driver load, it end up with a busy error. When I remove ide_generic from kernel, the cdrom is loaded by libata but not assigned to any devices. Any have this working ?

Also, I've tried dri snapshot on Xorg 6.8.2. i810 driver works, dri works, but when I try gl app, it seems that X use mesa non accelerated library.

Thanks for any help,
_________________
Stormer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sejam
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 5:18 am    Post subject: Re: Still messing with dma and openGL Reply with quote

stormer wrote:
Hi,

I've not been able to get dma works on cd. It's seems that ide_generic load cdrom before any piix driver and when piix driver load, it end up with a busy error. When I remove ide_generic from kernel, the cdrom is loaded by libata but not assigned to any devices. Any have this working ?

Also, I've tried dri snapshot on Xorg 6.8.2. i810 driver works, dri works, but when I try gl app, it seems that X use mesa non accelerated library.

Thanks for any help,


On both accounts, I'm having the same problems that you are. I just tried the same thing with the cdrom. I think when I use the sata drivers, it indentifies it, but there is no cdrom's or sd* for the cdrom. In the dmesg I see this:
Code:
ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x1F0 ctl 0x3F6 bmdma 0xBFA0 irq 14
ata1: dev 0 cfg 49:2b00 82:346b 83:5b29 84:4003 85:3469 86:1a09 87:4003 88:203f
ata1: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/100, 78140160 sectors:
ata1: dev 0 configured for UDMA/100
scsi0 : ata_piix
  Vendor: ATA       Model: FUJITSU MHT2040A  Rev: 006C
  Type:   Direct-Access                      ANSI SCSI revision: 05
ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x170 ctl 0x376 bmdma 0xBFA8 irq 15
ata2: dev 0 cfg 49:0f00 82:0000 83:0000 84:0000 85:0000 86:0000 87:0000 88:0407
ata2: dev 0 ATAPI, max UDMA/33
ata2: dev 0 configured for UDMA/33
scsi1 : ata_piix
SCSI device sda: 78140160 512-byte hdwr sectors (40008 MB)
SCSI device sda: drive cache: write back
SCSI device sda: 78140160 512-byte hdwr sectors (40008 MB)
SCSI device sda: drive cache: write back
 /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3 p4
Attached scsi disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
Attached scsi generic sg0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0,  type 0


So wouldn't looking at this make one believe that it seen the cdrom drive as the ata2 and mapped it to scsi1 while the hard drive was ata1 and mapped to scsi0 which then was identified as sda. This is the IDE controller used:
Code:
0000:00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) SATA Controller (rev 03)


Any ideas would be great. I can use the cdrom using the generic IDE drivers, but DMA cannot be used as it will return an error which I really need DMA support on my DVD/CD-RW drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 5084
Location: Dark side of the mood

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.

See my post. I haven't been able to use DMA under Window$ either (dual booting). It's stuck in PIO mode. So I would not care too much for the moment. Probably the hardware has no correct drivers yet or does simply not support DMA (conceivable?).

Note I've noticed a tremendous difference between my Athlon XP 1700+ and my laptop when compiling. My laptop ran about 25% faster than my tower.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djpenguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey folks, I'm trying to work with this problem as well, on an ASUS Z71A notebook with a 15.4" WXGA screen (1280x800) using 2.6.11-gentoo-r4

So far, I have managed to get Xorg 6.8.2-r1 working only with the vesa driver, and only in 1024x768 mode. I'm still waiting on ASUS to give me the horizontal and vert refresh ranges (since they didn't bother to include that info in the manual) of the panel, at which point I'll hopefully be able to generate some working modelines and coax this thing into displaying the proper resolution.


Incidentally, the 2GHz Dothan chip it carries (running at only 1500MHz according to /proc/cpuinfo) is without question the fastest chip I have ever had the pleasure to work with. Even with only 512MB of memory, it beats the hell out of my 2.53GHz Northwood B with 1024MB memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 3 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum