Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bootloader configuration problems + Maybe a keymap issue?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
R.Camp
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:00 pm    Post subject: Bootloader configuration problems + Maybe a keymap issue? Reply with quote

Alright, well, I'm fairly new to Linux in general, and after many troubles with Fedora Core 3 I'm making the leap to Gentoo. This morning was my 6th attempt, and so far closest one to completion, as I actually got to reboot, and attempt to enter the environment. Unfortunately, it didn't work. I'm going to go through a list of things I think I did wrong..

I used the handbook found here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml

Everything was fine until I got to section 8c where it says this:

Code:
Code Listing 24: Opening /etc/rc.conf

# nano -w /etc/rc.conf

As you can see, this file is well commented to help you set up the necessary configuration variables. Take special care with the KEYMAP setting: if you select the wrong KEYMAP you will get weird results when typing on your keyboard.

Note: Users of USB-based SPARC systems and SPARC clones might need to select an i386 keymap (such as "us") instead of "sunkeymap".

PPC uses x86 keymaps on most systems. Users who want to be able to use ADB keymaps on boot have to enable ADB keycode sendings in their kernel and have to set a mac/ppc keymap in rc.conf.

When you're finished configuring /etc/rc.conf, save and exit, then continue with Installing Necessary System Tools.