honeypot help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Travers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 2:07 am    Post subject: honeypot help Reply with quote

Ok, so my friend, Ryan, has /var/log/messages filled with ssh failures. The bots that scanned him tried stupid username/passwod combo's trying to get in. root, password root would be one such example. Naturally, these aren't full-on brute force attacks, but rather attempts to crack boxes with bad passwords.

So we decided to setup a honeypot so we can see what the crackers are up to once a machine gets compromised. I've never done this before, so I would like some input.

I just build a box with 2 ethernet cards and am in the process of setting up iptables. The plan is to have this router only let port 22 in and out of the honeypot.

Now, logging all this should be the hard part. We want to let the pot get compromised as root. (We'll probably do user:root passwd:root.) But, we also want to log everything. The original idea was to setup like a 1 second cron that would scp .bash_history and /var/log/messages to the router. Naturally, this is a awful way to do it.

So, this is where I ask for suggestions. How can I log the honeypot for as long as possible and keep the logs safe? Would an IDS be the way to go? Any other suggestions? Moreover, when it does get cracked, how can I keep the FBI from knocking on my door when the cracker uses it in a most devious manner?

Thanks.
psychomunky
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote