View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kraylus
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:37 am    Post subject: self-taught programmer or schooled? Reply with quote

im 21 and im trying to teach myself how to program C out of 3 different books. one is mentioned in a previous thread which is aimed at dos users (it's an old book). im starting with that because it's very dumbed down and it's exactly what i need. the other book is a linux programming for beginners book. it assumes you already know basic C though it claims that it's not necessary. i intend to get into that once i actually do know basic C ;)

i find it very slow going primarily because i have very little free time in which i can do this... i was just wondering if i should consider taking classes on the weekends at some local community college.

i know, it all depends on the person and how motivated blah blah blah. im just wanting to know how many of us out there are fully self-taught (perhaps books dont count as self-taught?) but are able to make those incredible apps like vi or emacs. or are the self-taught programmers destined to making hello world programs?

in a nutshell... am i wasting my time or should i press on?

ryan
garo
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

c/c++,perl,bash,... all from the books
- Stop Spam
Valen
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've learned Scheme/Lisp,C,C++ and Java from examples (mainly) and books/online sources (supplementary).
At school I was taught Pascal, and at work I was sent on course to learn JSPs and servlets.