Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Custom ebuilds and cache entries
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ignignokt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 6:40 pm    Post subject: Custom ebuilds and cache entries Reply with quote

I'm trying to install a custom ebuild of xmltv for a mythtv custom ebuild.

I have my PORTDIR_OVERLAY set to /root/portage, where the custom packages are at. However, when I try to emerge the ebuild, I get this message here:

Code:

fender root # emerge -p portage/dev-perl/xmltv/xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies \

aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.

emerge: create(): aux_get() error on dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0; aborting...


I have searched all the forums and I can't seem to find a fix for this... can anyone possibly help out on this? Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kutsuya
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 9:26 am    Post subject: Re: Custom ebuilds and cache entries Reply with quote

Ignignokt wrote:
I'm trying to install a custom ebuild of xmltv for a mythtv custom ebuild.

I have my PORTDIR_OVERLAY set to /root/portage, where the custom packages are at. However, when I try to emerge the ebuild, I get this message here:

Code:

fender root # emerge -p portage/dev-perl/xmltv/xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies \

aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.

emerge: create(): aux_get() error on dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0; aborting...


I have searched all the forums and I can't seem to find a fix for this... can anyone possibly help out on this? Thanks in advance.


Hi,

Try,

Code:
# cd /root/portage/dev-perl/xmltv
# ebuild xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild digest
# emerge -p xmlttv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild


What are the results?

Regards,

--Kutsuya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ignignokt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I get when I try that:

Code:

# cd portage/dev-perl/xmltv/
# ebuild xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild digest


aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.

doebuild(): aux_get() error; aborting.


I'm sure there must be something simple here that's wrong, I'm just not sure what it is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should either give it the full path:
Code:
emerge -p /root/portage/dev-perl/xmltv/xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild
or the "portage-style path" (cate-gory/foobar)
Code:
emerge -p dev-perl/xmltv


On a sidenote: There is no such thing as a revision 0 level. The first ebuild by definition isn't revised yet, so it will simply be foo-bar-x.y (not foo-bar-x.y-rz !). In this case you will want to rename it to; xmltv-0.5.5 or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ignignokt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I renamed the r0 as per your advice first..

Then I tried both of your suggestions:

Code:

# emerge -p /root/portage/dev-perl/xmltv/xmltv-0.5.5.ebuild

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies \

aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.

emerge: create(): aux_get() error on dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5; aborting...


And then:

Code:

# emerge -p dev-perl/xmltv             

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies   

aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.


I'm about to give up here :) I don't know what's going on here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to have that problem when I was developing an ebuild, but I can't remember what I exactly did to make it go away. Just keep trying (put the ebuild in a different location etc.), it has to work somehow :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kutsuya
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ignignokt wrote:
This is what I get when I try that:

Code:

# cd portage/dev-perl/xmltv/
# ebuild xmltv-0.5.5-r0.ebuild digest


aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for dev-perl/xmltv-0.5.5-r0
               Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild.

doebuild(): aux_get() error; aborting.


I'm sure there must be something simple here that's wrong, I'm just not sure what it is.


Ok, so the next thing to check is if there is a 'syntax error" in the ebuild. You might want to start with a skeleton ebuild and see if that will work.

If that works then, you have more proof that there is a syntax error in your ebuild. Then you want to start commenting out functions in the nonfunctioning ebuild..and checking if the ebuild will work...if not, comment some more out...

In other words, try to reduce the problem to it's smallest component until it works. Then slowly start to add the functions back in until the ebuild doesn't work....then back up and look close. Comment out lines you think might be the cause of the trouble. And so on...

Let me know how it goes. The big thing is to just keep plugging away...it's how we gain experience. It can be a pain. ;)

Regards,

--Kutsuya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or you can post the ebuild here so we can have a look :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ignignokt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2003
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't ask me how, but I somehow got it working.

I downloaded a different version of the ebuild, then the newer, moved my local portage tree... all sorts of stuff (Yeah I know, changed too many factors at once :) ). I just wanted it to work.

Much thanks to everyone for all of their help! I'm going to read up on ebuilds, and use my gained knowledge from this to try and contribute ebuilds. Gentoo rocks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IamtheOne
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 158
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem too, it was illegal ^M characters at the end of each line, I deleted them, and presto it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iKiddo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 341
Location: Europe?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I haven't edited these ebuilds in a win environment so that doesn't apply to me, but thanks for the tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pinoccio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, I'm not sure, but...

I tried to emerge own tomcat-4.1.18.ebuild from /usr/portage.own
Also got a message about cache.

But when I made something like this
$ PORTDIR=/usr emerge /usr/portage.own/tomcat/tomcat-4.1.18.ebuild
everything was fine.

if simply "emerge /usr...", than emerge was looking for stuff in
/usr/portage/portage.own/tomcat/.... - this is completely wrong.

May be there is bug in emerge/ebuild related to usage of PORTDIR_OVERLAY?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum