Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.11-rc3-nitro0: Giant Flaming Pandas Of Doom
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please have a look at the amd64 reiser4 problems
http://www.mail-archive.com/reiserfs-list%40namesys.com/msg16936.html
can you do more 64bit optimizings? or is you kernel only for x86?
a pleasure is if you make a homepage with the current release (and outdated), the cangelog and stuff like this (like the love-page). it will be more eye-friendly and effective for lame users like me, who wants nice gentoo speed, but dont have the time to watch every week into this forum to be up2date. keep the good work on and dont do the hype.

oh, your red font is very big ..
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahorn wrote:
please have a look at the amd64 reiser4 problems
http://www.mail-archive.com/reiserfs-list%40namesys.com/msg16936.html
can you do more 64bit optimizings? or is you kernel only for x86?
a pleasure is if you make a homepage with the current release (and outdated), the cangelog and stuff like this (like the love-page). it will be more eye-friendly and effective for lame users like me, who wants nice gentoo speed, but dont have the time to watch every week into this forum to be up2date. keep the good work on and dont do the hype.

oh, your red font is very big ..


1. Its suposed to be, its our red insanity font
2. reiser4 is unrelieable, it screws up in numerus setttings for no reasons
3. none of the nitro devs can change www.nitro-sources.org, only sepi can.
4. We're not hyping :).
5. I'm predatorfreak, your 3rd insane nitro developer, i have so much free time that i am a developer for 2 patchsets.
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gnufsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 400
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do I boot into single user mode. I just tried and adding single to my kernel line in grub didn't seem to work. Did I miss something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:lol: Nice Work this kernel roxx again :lol:

with one exception:

teamspeak doesn't work, maybe a kernel configuration problem.
strace doesn't make a clue
Quote:
strace /opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin
execve("/opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin", ["/opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin"], [/* 60 vars */]) = 0
+++ killed by SIGKILL +++


does anybody get teamspeak running with this version of nitro?

best regards,
SiboV :wink:
_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnufsh wrote:
How do I boot into single user mode. I just tried and adding single to my kernel line in grub didn't seem to work. Did I miss something?


Hi Gnufish,

try to add this into your grub line:
Quote:
init=/bin/bash


:wink:
_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
edinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cannot compile it with CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m.
Quote:
CC [M] sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.o
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293:45: Makro »create_workqueue« erfordert 2 Argumente, aber nur 1 wurden angegeben
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c: In function `init_unsol_queue':
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: »create_workqueue« nicht deklariert (erste Benutzung in dieser Funktion)
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: (Jeder nicht deklarierte Bezeichner wird nur einmal aufgeführt
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: für jede Funktion in der er auftritt.)
make[3]: *** [sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.o] Fehler 1
make[2]: *** [sound/pci/hda] Fehler 2
make[1]: *** [sound/pci] Fehler 2
make: *** [sound] Fehler 2

Has anybody an idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gnufsh wrote:
How do I boot into single user mode. I just tried and adding single to my kernel line in grub didn't seem to work. Did I miss something?


Usually by adding "init 2" to your bootloader command line(or whatever runlevel u use for single-user).

cheers

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edinger wrote:
I cannot compile it with CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m.
Quote:
CC [M] sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.o
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293:45: Makro create_workqueue erfordert 2 Argumente, aber nur 1 wurden angegeben
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c: In function `init_unsol_queue':
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: create_workqueue nicht deklariert (erste Benutzung in dieser Funktion)
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: (Jeder nicht deklarierte Bezeichner wird nur einmal aufgefhrt
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:293: Fehler: fr jede Funktion in der er auftritt.)
make[3]: *** [sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.o] Fehler 1
make[2]: *** [sound/pci/hda] Fehler 2
make[1]: *** [sound/pci] Fehler 2
make: *** [sound] Fehler 2

Has anybody an idea.

It'S the swsusp patch that screws with create_workqueue makro.
The help is to go into the file sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c
line 293 and add a zero (a 0 that is) as the second argument of create_workqueue macro ( the second arg are the freezer-flags, no special treating for this workqueue, thats why we add zero....)

cheers,

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2099
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sibov wrote:
:lol: Nice Work this kernel roxx again :lol:

with one exception:

teamspeak doesn't work, maybe a kernel configuration problem.
strace doesn't make a clue
Quote:
strace /opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin
execve("/opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin", ["/opt/TeamSpeak2RC2/TeamSpeak.bin"], [/* 60 vars */]) = 0
+++ killed by SIGKILL +++


does anybody get teamspeak running with this version of nitro?

best regards,
SiboV :wink:


hmm my TS doesnt work either.

Code:

[/home/john5788 :: 05:04 PM :: 1]
[john5788@john5788.x5788.net] $ strace /opt/teamspeak2-client/TeamSpeak.bin
execve("/opt/teamspeak2-client/TeamSpeak.bin", ["/opt/teamspeak2-client/TeamSpeak.bin"], [/* 50 vars */]) = 0
+++ killed by SIGKILL +++

_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smithjd15
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 129
Location: Edmonton, AB, CA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
THE NITRO-DEV FILES


So what network can we stampede to read the log real-time? 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't and you never will. 8)
many projects coming in next release are kept closed to the public, that's why some logs have not been uploaded / updated.

cheers

T
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
you can't and you never will. 8)
many projects coming in next release are kept closed to the public, that's why some logs have not been uploaded / updated.

cheers

T


We be insane nitro-devs, we r keep secrets, we r demand all your insanity! :}
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ahorn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Ol' europe

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

next month you sale kernels?
_________________
Too many connections. Please try again later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Kernel compiles just fine, boots just fine, and is generally good. But the ATI fglrx module refuses to build, failing with a "DRM module not built" error. It's the same one I got when trying gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.10 (2.6.9 works fine). I've heard something about a portage overlay to fix this. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I like the features of nitro and really don't want to go back to a 2.6.9 kernel.
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahorn wrote:
next month you sale kernels?


No, next month we release kernels which panic when someone with your username logs in.....

U should go to jail for this statement.....

n00b-a**hole....
_________________
Retired gentoo user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sorcerer'sApprentice
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 121
Location: Jesus College, Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arainach wrote:
The Kernel compiles just fine, boots just fine, and is generally good. But the ATI fglrx module refuses to build, failing with a "DRM module not built" error. It's the same one I got when trying gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.10 (2.6.9 works fine). I've heard something about a portage overlay to fix this. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I like the features of nitro and really don't want to go back to a 2.6.9 kernel.


Try this. I've got the fglrx driver working fine now. Also make sure you emerge the latest version of opengl-update, as there has been an important bug removed very recently.
_________________
"One of the major problems encountered in time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother ... The major problem is quite simply one of grammar..."

Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, it's time to poll the userbase. Does anyone use these? If I don't get a reply saying that at least one person uses something, it's out until somebody requests it again.
Code:
inotify
cflags-selection #BESIDES Tiger683


Possibly more to come, but it just seems silly to put things into nitro that don't need to be there.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NiLuJe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 303
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cflags select here, but it shouldn't be hard to apply it myselft if need be ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermes_jr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 702
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cflags-selection... It makes me feel things go faster :lol:
_________________
registered linux user #347998, киботеизм во веки веков
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sklettke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Nov 2002
Posts: 352
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone able to use the latest nvidia-kernel at 1600x1200 resolution with this kernel? I'm having the problem discussed here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-293503.html. In fact, I can't get 1600x1200 resolution with any kernel after 2.6.9 (or more likely, it's the nvidia-kernel that is at fault...too bad the 5000 series is gone because that is all that worked for me).

Thanks for the help,
Scott
_________________
Jab.ID: scottk@jabber.org

Kernel: 2.6.11-rc3-nitro0
KDE 3.3.2 with Xorg
MythBox: 2.6.5-gentoo-dev-r2 (LVMed 360GB in XFS; Athlon 2500+)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fire-Reiher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please keep inotify.
thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 431
Location: Hove, Antwerp, Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't let out inotify, it's used by Gnome. Also, that neat Beagle search tool uses inotify I believe.
Btw, 2.6.11-rc4 is out!

Greetz ;)
_________________
nitro-sources, because between stable and experimental there exists only speed

Latest release I made: 2.6.13.2-nitro1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seppe wrote:
Don't let out inotify, it's used by Gnome. Also, that neat Beagle search tool uses inotify I believe.
Btw, 2.6.11-rc4 is out!

Greetz ;)


/me bows before the orginal nitro god
Yo seppe, I'd like to agree here, we should keep Inotify, I'd say cflags-select is more dropable because its more useless, where as Inotify can be put to practical use.

and once again
/me bows before seppe, the orginal god of nitro
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorcerer'sApprentice wrote:
Arainach wrote:
The Kernel compiles just fine, boots just fine, and is generally good. But the ATI fglrx module refuses to build, failing with a "DRM module not built" error. It's the same one I got when trying gentoo-dev-sources 2.6.10 (2.6.9 works fine). I've heard something about a portage overlay to fix this. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I like the features of nitro and really don't want to go back to a 2.6.9 kernel.


Try this. I've got the fglrx driver working fine now. Also make sure you emerge the latest version of opengl-update, as there has been an important bug removed very recently.
Using that, I get the following error:
(Note: I renamed the ebuild from -r3 to -r4 because there's a different -r3 in portage that I didn't want to conflict with. I get the same error with the portage -r3.)
Code:
emerge =ati-drivers-8.8.25-r4
Calculating dependencies
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=ati-drivers-8.8.25-r4" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request
- media-video/ati-drivers-8.8.25-r4 (masked by: -* keyword)
I'm currently asking around in the Portage forum trying to figure out how to bypass this - putting it in /etc/portage/package.unmask didn't work. Any tips? I'm currently running X just fine on the generic ATI driver. However, 3D Acceleration is a must for me. I love Nitro sources - they're fast, flexible, and this USB Mouse Polling patch is one of the greatest things I've seen yet (Makes my Intellimouse Explorer feel like an MX1000). But if I can't get 3D acceleration.... I guess I'll go back to gentoo-dev-sources. I'm more than willing to try any ideas; I'm just running out of them.

EDIT: OK, I removed my old ebuild, replaced it with the one you linked to (in case it was different), and now I'm getting the following error. This is typed by hand, so pardon any typos. When I restored my old one, I'm now getting teh same thing. The only thing I've done since that last error is emerge a few programs (all the ati-drivers dependencies, firefox, fluxbox). I also attempted to emerge the actual ati-drivers-8.8.25 ebuild, with the typical 2.6.10+ errors
Code:
Calculating dependencies
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 2969, in ?
    retval,favorites=mydepgraph.select_files(myfiles)
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1025, in select_files
    if os.path.realpath(portage.db["/"]["porttree"].dbapi.findname(mykey)) != x:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/posixpath.py", line 406, in realpath
    filename = abspath(filename)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/posixpath.py", line 395, in abspath
    if not isabs(path):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/posixpath.py", line 49, in isabs
    return s.startswith('/')
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'startswith'
Anyone have any idea what's going on?
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz


Last edited by Arainach on Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gserack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 73
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
Alright, it's time to poll the userbase. Does anyone use these? If I don't get a reply saying that at least one person uses something, it's out until somebody requests it again.
Code:
inotify
cflags-selection #BESIDES Tiger683


Possibly more to come, but it just seems silly to put things into nitro that don't need to be there.


+1 for INotify please :)

Thanks,
_________________
See lxnay's RR4 Reiser4 enabled LiveCD Home.
Garrett Serack's Weblog -- My Notes
Syntax-highlighting editor for .NET/Mono
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 4 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum